We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
ga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here March 22-25 on the 6th floor with a beautiful riverview.The room was clean and well appointed. There were 2 queen beds and 4 people with plenty of room.Use the valet parking,it is well worth it.We could walk to River Street, City Walk and several restaurants easily from the hotel. The rooftop pool and hottub were great with view.
I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! I have shared your comments with our team and we hope you will stay with us again soon

Renee Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,497
    693
    127
    36
    24
See reviews for
578
1,129
71
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I was highly impressed with this clean modern, hotel, wifi In a great location right next to the river front and in the historic district, within walking distant of most attractions . Rooms were clean, modern. have rooftop pool and jacuzzi which was a really nice touch. valet parking for $15 a day, in and out as much as you want. For the price ($150) this hotel amazing. Breakfast is included which is "hot buffet" with eggs, bacon, ceral, bagels, ect which was just ok. My only c/o was that Valet can take a bit to get your call so call down in advanced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank garcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you so much for your stay with us! We are delighted to hear your great experiences, from our convenient location to our hot breakfast.

We hope to have you back with us soon!


Renee Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The hotel was located in a nice spot, near plenty of restaurants and close to the historic district. The front desk was very pleasant the valet parking was a nice touch and my wife and I really enjoyed the pool.
Of special note were the rooms - which were clean and modern looking. We only stayed for one night so I did not make use of many of the services provided. But we left very pleased with the fine staff and the overall experience. Definitly a step up from typical Holiday Express and we would definitly stay again if visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhck1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on East Bay Street, Savannah, at the end of March 2012. We travel quite a bit and we found this hotel to be one of the best that we have ever stayed at. The hotel staff were very helpful, the rooms superb and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is situated right in the middle of the historic tourist area. Everything we wanted to see and experience was only a short walk from our hotel. This was our first trip to Savannah and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

Room Tip: I believe any room would be a good room in this hotel. Of course, you always try to get a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 09_Brian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
807 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,320 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here several years ago and were very impressed with it. I even wrote a very glowing review of it here on Trip Advisor. We stayed here for three days recently and I dont know what happened but the hotel's standards have slipped. There were three main issues that concerned me.

One was that the wifi was spotty at best. We had an ipad and and iphone with us. Half the time the wifi was not working. We checked with another couple who were with us and were staying nearby and they experienced the same issues.

Two was that our room was not cleaned the first day that we were there. We left at 10 am and saw a maid in the room next door. We got back at about 4 and a maid said that she forgot to give us towels. She gave us the towels, but when we got into the room, the bed was not made, nor was the room cleaned.

Finally was the attitude of one of the valet parking attendants. We dropped off our car yesterday afternoon and when we got to our room, we realized that we had left something in our car. My wife called front desk. They transferred and she explained the problem to them. They said that they would bring the car around again so we could retrieve the item. I went down expecting the car to be there. When I got there it wasnt and the valet had such an attitude that I would up getting the keys from him, and going to where the car was parked in the adjacent garage and then getting the item myself. If you are going to charge me for valet parking, dont give me an attitude when something like this happens.

We would have brought these issues to the managers attention, however we had a long drive home today and checked out at 5 am. We did not feel like bringing it the issues up then.

Overall this stay was a disappointment. There are a lot of other hotels in the same price range as this one in Savannah. We will be staying at one of them the next time that we are in town.

Room Tip: Dont bother with the valet parking. All the valets will do is park your car in the garage next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your stay with us and we apologize for any shortcomings you experienced with our wireless internet, we have passed these comments to our ISP and appreciated you bringing this to our attention.

We do hope that you will visit us again

Renee Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,640 - ₹ 20,241
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing