We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Checks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Checks all the boxes”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Location - check. Price - check. Hospitality - check. Absolutely some of the friendliest and most helpful staff I've ever encountered. Location was perfect. Walking distance to river, historic sites, market...everything! Oh, and the rooftop pool is pretty nice as well! Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We chose the "room with a view" option so that we would be on a higher floor and have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,463
    684
    124
    36
    24
See reviews for
567
1,106
70
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a very nice hotel in a great location if you want to walk around historic downtown Savannah, Ga. The rooms were nice and amenities were all very good for a $250 a night Holiday Inn Express room. The breakfast that went from approx 6am to 10am hit the spot. The rooftop pool was great and offered great views of the Savannah River (pool was not heated but the hot tub was and seemed very clean). As for parking, the hotel does offer valet service but it is pricey unless you plan on useing your car instead of walking around while in town. We used the covered parking garage immediatly next door to the hotel for a total of 8 dollars for around 20hrs of parking. Also a tip for Delta Skymiles members looking to have the Holiday Inn Express stay be added to your account, don't bother. Out of the four folks at the reception desk I spoke with and tried to have add the stay to my account said that it doesn't work and I should just join their rewards club. Bottom line is that it is a nice hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrockL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I arrived before check in and they took our name and cell number as we could not check in early. When we did check in I was not too happy to hear that we did not have a king size bed. The clerk asked another man behind the counter as I am a Priority Club member and he said "Are you staying more than one night?" . I replied no but I had just left an HI Express and we were going to stay at another this week which he replied - we do not have any rooms with a king size bed. We stayed in a small room (queen size) and it was okay. Smaller than usual for a room but maybe that is what is expected in Savannah. I am happy to say that we love Savannah and the location, but may stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanEBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahLodging, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for feedback, we apologize for the lack of availibity of room type and do hope that you would visit us again.

Renee Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

After having a horrible experience at a local B&B where we were treated as as annoyance. We left abrupty and had to find accomodations quickly. We chose this Holiday Inn Express.
WOW< I cannot say enough about the ridiculously awesome service received at this INN>

Beginning with the Valet whom are warm and welcoming. To the desk clerks and the breakfast.
After settling Inn we decided to go walk around and look for a place to eat.
We were greeted by the valet by NAME!!
What are ya'll hungry for and I can tell what is a really good to choice for tonight.
Came back much later.
Well, where did ya'll have dinner by name again and was it good as they also made great suggestions for activities and places for us to eat the next day.
I have stayed at Holiday Inn express many times before, but this was above and beyond anything I had ever experienced.,
I just want to thank them for making our experience visiting Savanah so wonderful.
I would call this a luxurious B&B and no need to go to any other so called B&B in the area.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have a view that have a small balcony. That was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Parking is a bit complicated - city parking garage next door - but just park the car and use the Savannah Pedicab service to get around.

Friendly staff.

Updated but some rickety issues that are unavoidable with restored buildings exist: electrical outlet unsecured, old central heating/cooling rather than individual units in rooms.

Fair to middling view from top of roof where there is a small pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,497 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,197 reviews
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,338 - ₹ 22,157
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing