We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great location!”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our room was gorgeous, and the location was perfect! The Inn was so close to everything we wanted to do and had a close and convenient pickup for tours as well. The price was very reasonable, too. The only downside was that the walls were a little thin so we could hear other guests at times and some road noise, but we would definitely stay at the East Bay Inn again on our next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernLady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,072 - 1,076 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

Right across from River Street, this hotel was great. Our room was apparently a smaller room but it more than suited our needs. The tall ceilings were lovely and the room was nicely appointed. All of the staff were more than pleasant. The wine and cheese in the evening was nice, breakfast was ...OK. I would definately reccommend this property.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side of the hotel and we were awakened at around 4am with folks outside on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WNCHappyGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Read previous reviews and was looking forward to a 2 night break. Promised turndown service didnt happen and when I went to get into bed at 11.45pm realized that the sheets were not clean, crease marks where previous occupants had slept! Very nice girl on night desk apologized that no empty rooms to move us to but would try to find us clean sheets. I met her at the linen closet and she handed me 2 rolled up off white sheets and assured me they were clean! Next morning Mr Jones listened to my complaint and that we hadn't slept a wink thinking that we were sleeping on dirty sheets and the bed sounded like it would collapse every time we moved. He informed me they didn't iron their sheets as they were an Historic Inn not a Bed and Breakfast! With no apology he instructed the lovely receptionist to refund our money and walked away. For $212 a night I would like my sheets to look clean and have at least been folded and the bed made neatly and a bit of respect from the Manager, Historic Inn or not!

Stayed: April 2012
4  Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The people here are fantastic. Sheila at the front desk is a gem in particular. But I was not so taken with my room here. The bathroom was not as clean as I would have liked. The shower curtain was grundgy and the exhaust fan in the bathroom ceiling was a horror. Our room was located on the ground floor directly above the restaurant, which was rented out for private parties both Saturday and Sunday afternoon, and was it loud. After walking Savannah for several hours Sunday morning and afternoon, my husband and I thought we'd be decadent and take a late afternoon nap but there was no way -- just too much noise from the wedding reception below.

The afternoon wine and cheese was very nice. It's a good opportunity to meet other vacationers and the beverages and snacks were lovely. The continental breakfast buffet is nothing special. Food is average or perhaps not quite. But again, the staff working breakfast were terrific.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask not to have a room directly above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spingal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

A most incredible experience!

While the facilities are wonderful and the location is most convenient, the innkeeper and his staff make the difference. They are competent; professional; caring; friendly; attentive; helpful; and guiding. We stayed three days for our 25th. Wedding Anniversary and our stay at the East Bay Inn made this special occassion most memorable. We could not have asked for a better celebration!!!

Our thanks to Ronnie, Sheila, Julie, Steven, Melvin, and Gracie!!!!!

All of historic downtown Savannah is within walking distance. The area restaurants are superb.

We were most pleased with the continental breakfast.

We will definately return in the future and recommend East Bay Inn to our friends.

Room Tip: The brick construction of this former warehouse is aesthetically appealing but affords a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCLowcountrySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#23 of 114 in Savannah
1,343 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 114 in Savannah
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,128 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: ₹ 10,055 - ₹ 21,927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing