We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel staff ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best hotel staff ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Avia Hotel is ideally located in one of the loveliest cities in the U.S....in the historic district just a few minutes from the River Walk, a block from the City Market, and a short stroll from a number of Savannah's squares.
The interior of the hotel itself would appear to have been recently rennovated...the lobby, bar and restaurant on the main floor are spacious and beautifully appointed.
We arrived tired and cranky from a long flight that began at 4:00 a.m. and were advised that they had but one room available which I gathered was one not usually rented to guests, but which had the advantage of being on the side of the hotel away from the construction on the underground parking lot . We were too exhausted to care about anything but a bed. The
room was more than adequate for a queen size bed, a small chaise lounge and a dresser..the bathroom was immaculate and, again, newly rennovated. We had an excellent sleep each night as the room was very quiet.
Every employee in the hotel had a friendly smile (even after very long shifts) and seemed pleased to be able to help us with directions, recommendations for restaurants and information about the city. We had some trouble with our telephone, and when we needed a wake up call for our early flight one of the night staff came up at 4:30 a.m. to make sure we were awake.
The hotel pool is outdoors on the second floor, and there is an outdoor fire pit there as well.
The restaurant has an incredible buffet breakfast, which is quite expensive, but well worth it if
you enjoy a big morning meal. However, the price is adjusted if you prefer some fruit and coffee. The snacks at the bar were excellent.
Across the square there is a wonderful little bakery.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro P, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Greetings from the AVIA Savannah. Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and for taking your time to leave a review. I echo your sentiments with regard to our exceptional service team. We are sincerely grateful that you selected AVIA savannah, and look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future.

One again thank you for your feedback and on behalf of all our associates.

Regards
Pedro Perez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,041
    644
    167
    53
    16
See reviews for
540
1,543
89
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Avia for a close friends 70th birthday party. It is one of the most well run hotels i have stayed at. Everyone on staff were friendly and professional. A special thanks to the manager, Taisha and Clinton who made the best egg white omlettes I have ever had. It is a spotlessly clean hotel, and every detail is thought out. I work in customer service, so this was a easy place to relax. It is also located in the center of Savanah which makes it easy to walk to everything.We had king deluxe and there is plenty of room, the bed was really comfortable.

Room Tip: get a room facing the fountain park, 3rd floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FAUST4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro P, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We would like to thank you for staying at the AVIA to celebrate your friends 70th Birthday. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass along your great comments about our friendly staff. We hope that you will all come back to see us soon.

Regards
Pedro Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just got back from a 2 day quick trip to Savannah. My husband and I had never been and I was a bit nervous. I searched on Priceline and found this hotel. It was his birthday and our anniversary so I wanted it to be special. We were just blown away from the beginning. The door man was very nice and accomodating. Justin first checked us in and helped us with a reservation to Paula Deen's that night (they are the only hotel that can make reservations for you I was told) we were so pleased because I had heard how hard it was to get in. Dot finished checking us in because our room was not ready and she was wonderful in taking time to give us plenty of ideas to do that night and our stay. We stayed in a mini suite which had a kitchen which was also nice. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. I loved the decor. Everything appeared to be clean and smelled fresh. The breakfast buffet was glorious, Clinton went out of his way to make me an omelet with arugula since he was out of spinach. He was so nice just like everyone else we met in that place. You could not beat the location right in the middle of the shopping and restaurants. The only complaint I would have is because you are in the heart of the city there is city noise from the "numbnuts" who would hang outside the hotel or the alley way behind. I dont know how you control people talking so loud when they walk to their rooms. But everything else was so nice I could look past it. I would definitely go back and stay here and I will tell everyone I know. What a great find!

Room Tip: I loved our view which looked out over the fire pit and cool buildings but the alley was there and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro P, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have shared about Dot and Clinton. We consider ourselves to be very fortunate to have such warm and caring associates on our team. We are delighted, (but not surprised!), to know that they were able to exceed your expectations during your stay. On behalf of our entire team, we hope you can return again soon.

Best Regards
Pedro Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The best I can say about the Avia Savannah is that it is really in a great location. Beyond that, the rooms are small and a bit pretentiously decorated, which makes them feel even smaller. The walk-in shower is nice, except its just a shower. No bathtub.
Bath towels are what I would expect to find at a much lower priced hotel. Not very good quality and definitely not enough of them.
The in-room snack bar includes a very expensive bottle of water, and very very expensive (and overpriced) small bottles of vodka and whiskey.
My view was of an alleyway and a new building under construction. Evidently the construction continued through the night because I was frequently woken by unusually loud noises coming from the alley. Kind of surprising because I thought the noise from the air conditioning would drown out any other noises.
I was also located at the end of a hallway. More or less a city block from the elevator and no access to the stairs.
The room was pretty clean. Only a little mold growing in the shower.
The bar and small restaurant were pleasant enough, except for the much too loud muzak playing constantly. Same thing with the outdoor pool and lounge area. Nice, but too loud.
If location is the only important thing, probably a decent hotel to stay at. If you expect a little more for your money: a decent sized room, a bath, enough towels for more than one person and a little quiet at night, this is probably not the best choice.
Certainly not for me.

Well, at least the bed was pretty comfortable.

Room Tip: If you must stay at the Avia, insist on a room that faces Ellis Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducvw2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just returned from Savannah...our second trip and stay at Avia,....located within walking distance of so many things....right across from Ellis Square, City Market...etc. The staff is awesome! Special kudos to Willie (doorman....pleasant, helpful, always smiling), Rico (pool bar...kept us entertained for hours), Zach (lobby bar...remembered us from the year before...so professional), Dee (concierge... great recommendations) . The entire staff is so nice....not just polite but good ole' southern friendly! They did a great job handling the business functions for our visit as well. Love the comfortable beds too! Renovation coming to the lobby area we were told so I can't wait til our next trip to see how they make it even better!! Lynn, Mooresville NC

Room Tip: on pool/north side last time and Square/south side this time....higher floors probably have better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro P, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
We have received the wonderful comments you entered on TripAdvisor and want to thank you personally for sharing your positive experience with us. It is very gratifying to receive such positive feedback about our wonderful employees. I will make sure to share your comments with each of the employees that you mentioned. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Regards
Pedro Perez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,007 - ₹ 29,151
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing