We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a beautiful great place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a beautiful great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was my wife's and I first B&B and it was a great experience. The building itself was beautiful,and the courtyard was wonderful. Our room was facing the courtyard and what a great view, We had the liberty room, it was a very cozy room. The breakfast was really good. I enjoyed the salsa egg casserole and hash browns. The wine and cheese was a nice treat the dessert was ok not a lot of things we would have but still a nice presentation. I have to say the best experience about this hotel was the staff ,everyone was very nice and helped us with anything we needed. I dont remember all the names but each one was very helpfull. I do, however, remember Kevin. He was such a great person, willing to help you with anything and very down to eath to talk to. Make sure you keep him forever. I do have to comment on a review that gave you a four star. Eliza Thompson House is definitely a five and the breakfast was really good. I wasn't expecting a 5 star beakfast and there was two towels in the room but if you needed more you just ask just like we did and it was fine. Keep doing what you guys are doing! I definitely will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cprimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    180
    52
    26
    11
See reviews for
134
670
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights. Everything was first rate, with the exception of the breakfasts. There was nothing wrong with them, but the egg dishes were only average. Compared to the quality of everything else associated with our stay, this was the only minor disappointment. I would recommend the Eliza Thompson House to anyone looking for a B&B in the historic district of Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eoscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I so wanted to be able to give the Eliza Thompson House a 5 star review. While our stay was overall very good, there is room for improvement. But I'll get to that later. I do not understand why several reviewers have "dinged" the ETH for the parking situation. The home was built in the mid-1800's and is very similar to a brownstone (with attached homes on either side in a row). They cannot do anything about the street parking, its availability (or lack thereof). But the entire staff, especially Kevin, do everything in their power to help find close parking and make sure the guests are aware of where to park. We were greeted with big smiles, welcoming us to the ETH, by Kevin. We parked on the street right in front of the home and didn't have a couple of quarters to put in the meter, so Kevin ran out and put a couple in for us. That was SO kind! He helped us with our luggage to our room, made sure the air conditioning was set to a comfortable level, and asked us if there was anything else we needed. There was an iron, but no ironing board, so Kevin got one for us right away. We were put in the Carter Room, which is a parlor level "luxury" main house room. I say "put", because you can't request exactly which room you want when making your reservation. It was a nice enough room, but I wouldn't have chosen a parlor level room. I did ask Kevin about this, and he told me even though you can't pick the specific room at the time of reservation, you can call the Inn and let them know which room you want. So if you have a specific room in mind, DO call them after making your reservation to make sure you get it. Also....you do not want the Carter Room if you are a light sleeper or like sleeping past 7:00. This room is right next to the prep kitchen and ice machine, so you hear banging as the staff prepare for breakfast. Also, this room is just above the courtyard where early risers are already eating breakfast. Conversations can be easily heard. My husband and I are not early risers and are also light sleepers, so this was a problem. Next this brings me to breakfast. I keep seeing rave reviews for the breakfast and I just don't get it. In fact, the breakfast they serve nearly had me give this lovely Inn 3 stars instead of 4. Our first morning they served an egg casserole that was ok at best. They scrambled the eggs and added some tomato based sauce (a salsa type sauce) and cheese to the eggs. Now I can't stand any tomato taste to my eggs, so maybe that was the problem. The sausage was dry and tasted like the frozen, pre-sliced kind. The biscuits weren't bad and the grits were so-so (creamy but no flavor). My husband doesn't like eggs, so he had the muffins and cereal. The muffins were store bought and tasted like it. The cereal gets left out day after day in the containers (that are outside), so it was a bit stale. For over $200 a night, breakfast should be phenomenal, not barely edible. This is an easy fix for the ETH and they really, really need to fix it. It was truly the worst breakfast of any B & B we've stayed at. And my husband and I have stayed at well over 30 B & B's in our 18 year marriage. I'm thinking some of the reviews that call it a "great southern breakfast" have never truly had a great southern breakfast. Being from the south myself, I know one when I get one. We had to eat out the last day we were there. We couldn't take it any more. Ok...enough about breakfast. You get the point. The desserts in the evening are good, but also store bought and not cooked on site. Homemade desserts would also be a nice touch, or at least ordered from a real bakery. Now all of that being said, the housekeeping staff did a great job of keeping the room clean every day. However....only 2 towels for me and my husband is ridiculous. Even cheap chain hotels give you 4 towels. To their credit, had I complained to them while we were there I do believe they would have given us 2 more towels. But a guest shouldn't have to request 4 towels. It should be standard. Our bed was quite comfortable and the linens clean. The air conditioning is loud, but it does work very well. The staff is far and away the best feature of the Eliza Thompson House. I honestly believe it's what keeps the place getting rave reviews. All of them are so helpful and kind it almost makes me overlook the other stuff....almost.
In a nutshell:
Pros: Incredible staff, excellent location, beautiful old home, gorgeous courtyard, comfy bed.
Cons: Parlor level rooms are noisy, breakfast is just ok at best, only 1 towel per person, you can't choose your room (at least for the luxury main house rooms) at the time of reservation.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Do not get the Carter Room. It is noisy due to being right at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaJ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Would highly recommend this charming B+B. It was beautifully decorated and made you feel like a part of this amazing city rich in History. The staff was friendly and knowledgable about easy access to all the area activities. Great breakfast in their beautiful courtyard, afternoon wine and hors doeuvres in the parlor late afternoon and coffee and desserts later in the evening where you could meet and share Savannah experiences with other guests. Had a memorable 40 th anniversary vacation. We would definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Eliza Thompson web site is great to see the rooms to make your choice and easy to navigate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Spring
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

As first-time visitors to Savannah, we could not have chosen a more welcoming, hospitable bed and breakfast. The staff was unfailingly helpful with information and reservations. The breakfasts were Southern right down to the grits! A most pleasant place to stay; we will return.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the corner room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texnan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,725 - ₹ 27,423
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing