We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice visit”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice visit”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were well taken care of. From the afternoon tea to the after-dinner chocolates and port (all complimentary) to the delicious breakfast, the food was wonderful. We stayed in the spacious China Room Suite. The staff was helpful for every need, both in and out of the B&B. The location is right in the middle of the Historic District, so many shops and restaurants were within a short walk.

Room Tip: Not a room tip, but arrive early as off-street parking is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    71
    30
    23
    21
See reviews for
72
513
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

There's not much new that can be written, but here goes. Firstly, the staff at this place was outstanding. They were friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating. Breakfasts were always delicious and had a variety daily. We had a room on the top floor and were pleasantly surprised that they had an elevator so we didn't have to haul our bags up flights of stairs. The only downside is that the parking is limited. It was never a big problem for us, but certainly something to note. Savannah is a very, very walkable city and we used the car infrequently. This is what you expect from a B&B, quiet (except for the street noise), comfortable, welcoming, and good food - and the location is PERFECT for all historical district.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was, by far, the most wonderfully managed inn I've ever experienced. Both Melissa and Amy are caring, warm, lovely women who truly take care to see that their guests are pampered beyond belief. My eyes feasted on the beauty in each and every room -- I also feasted on the delicious breakfasts, iced tea and other goodies offered each day. I loved every minute of what became the highlight of my trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remarkstaffing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Yes this Bed and Breakfast caters to your needs and gives attention to detail. It boasts a beautiful entrance and be sure to look up at the entrance hall ceiling!! The food is displayed elegantly for afternoon tea and cocktail time. It is quiet and sophisticated. We stayed in the Savannah Room which was sufficient. Just a bit stuffy- I couldn't open the windows and would have liked more air circulation ( I did leave feedback for the owner), also our room was not ready at 3pm and we waited in the courtyard- a beautiful garden and fountain in such a narrow space. We were offered complimentary drinks because of our wait. A very Lovely Bed and Breakfast indeed!!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank montemarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This B&B rates at the top of the list for great experiences. The staff are courteous, helpful, and most accomodating. The rooms are comfortable, with all the little extras - turn down service with chocolates, luscious bedding, and a great afternoon tea. There was even lovely classical music playing in the bar. The breakfast was delicious. This is the true Charleston experience. We rented bikes from Perry Rubber around the corner and rode to every gorgeous square - incredible. We ate dinner at the Olde Pink House, again only a short walk away, and it was wonderful. We had only one night in Savannah, but I know we will come back one day.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face Oglethorpe Street are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeaniemcrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,699 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,279 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,656 - ₹ 23,645
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing