We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Yes this Bed and Breakfast caters to your needs and gives attention to detail. It boasts a beautiful entrance and be sure to look up at the entrance hall ceiling!! The food is displayed elegantly for afternoon tea and cocktail time. It is quiet and sophisticated. We stayed in the Savannah Room which was sufficient. Just a bit stuffy- I couldn't open the windows and would have liked more air circulation ( I did leave feedback for the owner), also our room was not ready at 3pm and we waited in the courtyard- a beautiful garden and fountain in such a narrow space. We were offered complimentary drinks because of our wait. A very Lovely Bed and Breakfast indeed!!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
Thank montemarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 567 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

This B&B rates at the top of the list for great experiences. The staff are courteous, helpful, and most accomodating. The rooms are comfortable, with all the little extras - turn down service with chocolates, luscious bedding, and a great afternoon tea. There was even lovely classical music playing in the bar. The breakfast was delicious. This is the true Charleston experience. We rented bikes from Perry Rubber around the corner and rode to every gorgeous square - incredible. We ate dinner at the Olde Pink House, again only a short walk away, and it was wonderful. We had only one night in Savannah, but I know we will come back one day.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face Oglethorpe Street are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeaniemcrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A truly wonderful experience! Jennifer and her staff were gracious, accommodating ,and helpful. The Inn is beautiful and the rooms are large. They provided everything to make your visit special. We could not have chosen a better location. It is easy to walk to most of the sites and fine dining is close also. From the breakfast, to tea, to hor'deourves- it was all first class!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I'm not someone that likes to give 5 stars, but the Ballastone Inn absolutely deserves every one of them.
My partner and I just spent three nights in the Gazebo Suite. We arrived after a very stressful work week and a flight that was delayed over two hours. The warm, friendly greeting we received immediately cheered us up.
We found the same warm, efficient, and charming personalities in literally every staff member we encountered. Everyone was so personable that it truly feels like you are staying with friends.

The inn itself is perfectly located at Oglethorpe and Bull and is very warm and inviting. The common rooms and garden are cozy and beautiful and we really enoyed our delicious breakfasts as well as tea and hors d'oeuvres in them.

The Gazebo Suite was large and nicely furnished. The bed was fantastic. We did get a chance to see other rooms and we really liked the Mulberry Suite and the Victorian Suite.

I honestly can't think of any negative criticism. The inn, like Savannah, made us northerners feel warm and welcome and very happy!
We absolutely plan to visit Savannah again and will consider no other place than the Ballastone Inn!

Room Tip: All of the rooms that we saw were nice. The Gazebo and Mulberry Suites were our favorites and are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you do, this is the place to do it!

First of all, this inn is located on Oglethorpe Street, so you will get THE best location of Savannah....a wonderful historic part of the city, but yet all the sites you might want to see all within a short walk.

Secondly, you will never find an inn that is run like this. ANY tip that is given to ANY member of the staff is put into a central fund to be split with ALL the members of the staff.......that is how tightly-knit these staff members are! Kudos to them!

Now we are getting to the meat of the things! Trust me, you will have to look VERY far to find an inn that treats its guests any better than Ballastone. They offer a breakfast that you will remember for a very long time (that Cinnamon French Toast was to die for!!!!). Then they present their daily 4 PM tea for you......a wonderful assortment of both teas and goodies. Think you are done??? No, not yet.......they also offer daily hors d'oeuvres at 6 PM too.

If the goodies still don't entice you, the staff and the amenities of the inn will do that. Melissa is THE best for greeting you and making you feel like you are part of the family. The courtyard at Ballastone will remove all the stresses of your life......it is so wonderful! The rooms are so varied in size and ambiance, so you need to go to their website to pick your room, but I am sure that there is no room that will not please you. A surprising feature of the Ballastone Inn is that they leave the doors of all vacant rooms open for your perusal......a great way to plan your next visit there!

The best part of the inn is that they actually have parking for 7 vehicles.............a feat in this city of limited parking! So you can park your car when you arrive and leave it there until you leave as most of historic Savannah is well within walking distance.

Our first time here, but definitely not our last!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,341 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,130 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: ₹ 18,503 - ₹ 27,819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing