We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballastone Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Savannah(Savannah)
US$ 231
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside(Savannah)(Great Value!)
US$ 95
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 220
US$ 202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 191
US$ 174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 178
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 190
US$ 173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savannah Marriott Riverfront(Savannah)
US$ 175
US$ 169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah I-95 South(Savannah)(Great Value!)
US$ 117
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 230
US$ 225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
731
76
33
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
731
76
33
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschina trademary musgrovevictoria suitehistoric districtfinger sandwichesmain levelsouthern hospitalitybed and breakfastcommon areaschef's specialswithin walking distancecocktail hourb bseach morningtrip to savannahstreet parkingthe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
632 - 637 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at The Ballastone June of 2011. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. We were unsure of how it would be. The mansion was beautiful and the courtyard was our favorite place at the inn. We stayed in a courtyard room "Low Country". The room was lovely, quaint and comfortable. The bathroom was just ok and nothing fancy. Amenities included an awesome southern breakfast. For breakfast you choose where you would like to be seated and they set up a private table for just you and yours so that was a nice touch. Parking was either behind the inn (they only have 6 spots available) or you can do as we did and park at street side parking which was convenient for us. Staff was polite and always smiling. We had never seen Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. We asked them for a copy of the movie so we could watch it. They ended up giving us a copy to take home since they had 2 of them. I thought that was especially thoughtful. The inn is walk-able from everything in the historic district. We went on a tour with All About Savannah Tours through this inn and it was the highlight of our stay. Kathy with All About Savannah Tours is excellent and well worth the cost of the tour. The only negative I could say about this Inn is it was a bit too quiet at night and we felt we had to tiptoe when we came in late. We would stay at this Inn again.

Room Tip: The Low Country is a courtyard level room and was quaint and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We made reservations for 10 days over Christmas and NYear in as far back as August and were so excited. Were put in the basement (first floor, downstairs). the rm was cramped, damp, we heard running water from pipes constantly, loud noises and strong smells from the kitchen, and 2beds made into one which was very uncomfortable left us exhausted the next day. The young hostess was lovely and offered us a room upstirs, but only for a few nights as the place was booked. We ended up in 3 different rooms and having to cut short our long awaited vacation by 5 days. No New Years in Savannah . We were so upset.
Let me say again, The staff were wonderful, but there was no wifi access except in the main room and only intermittently. The food was not as advertised, and definitely mediocre at best. Tea and hors d's really aren't at all. We had to wait for seating several times at breakfast, despite having to give our eating time the night before, and tea (tiny macaroons and minute tea sandwiches) ran out before people got them. That isn't tea.
Again, we loved the staff, but the owners should rethink food, rooms, and definitely prices.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruhu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeeSavannah, Owner at Ballastone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

We are sorry that these guests were not satisfied. Guests all know that rooms in the mansion are based on size and location and often how elegantly appointed which will determine the price With all bnbs and Inns this is true. There are less expensive rooms, always and likewise, suites and superior which guests pay premium for.

The guests booked the least expensive room and when they expressed their dissatisfaction were moved to rooms that were some of the most exquisite rooms in the mansion, and priced accordingly. but were graciously not charged. They expressed how happy they were that we accommodated them in this way. We offered them a $50 gift certificate for one of their night stays for dinner.

Breakfast hour......Often times here at the Inn, all guests will come down at the same time, since we have individual tables for two we all must sometimes wait. It is usually never a problem.

We did everything we could as our policy with all of our guests to make their stay a memorable one.

Jennifer Salandi
Ballastone Inn, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The decor and ambience were firat rate, But what made it special was the staff. They not only arranged for a rental car for us, but when it turned out the only available car that day was at the airport, without our asking they had a staff member drive us out to the airport to pick it up on our schedule and without charge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gakst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

After searching on the internet for a Honeymoon Destination in Savannah, I was anxious to find the memorable weekend for our celebration. The minute we were greeted at the front door was more than what we had hoped for. The Inn is perfection. Our suite was beautiful. The decor, the gas burning fireplace and the ambience of our suite was more than we expected. The staff met our needs and high tea was something that we looked forward to daily. The location was within walking distance to historical sites, incredible eateries, and shopping. The tour trolleys have a stop next door to the Inn. We didn't realize until, we took a tour, that the Inn was visited by many celebrities. It is understandable because we were treated as if we were the only ones there. We want to return again on our first anniversary! We recommend it HIGHLY!

Room Tip: They are all beautifully done.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

What a chore to select a B&B in Savannah. There are so many to compare they almost all begin to blur. What clinched it for us were a couple of things. Location is important since our goal was to park and not touch our car again until check-out. High tea is a big plus for us. We travel to England often and enjoy the afternoon nosh. Their presentation is splendid and satisfying, although both days there were not the essential scones and clotted cream to be found. The themed rooms as described looked fun and we chosen Rhett's Retreat. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. Rarely does a travel bed provide the relaxing sleep we are used to at home so that was a pleasing surprise. The pillows were dreamy as well. Breakfast was very well prepared and fulfilling. We also looked forward to the evening hors d'oeuvres and complimentary port. Ballastone possesses great attention to detail in all aspects. This is supported with a very amiable and dutiful staff. They were always accessible to help in any manner and were very obliging with assisting us with local reservations. Yes they are pricey, but all is top notch. Yes you’ll find other places to stay more inexpensive, but you will have to forgo some of the superb attributes we experienced at the Ballastone. We will return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms bordering the front (Oglethorpe) it is a pretty busy and noisy thoroughfare.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews