We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Souther Comfort”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
“Souther Comfort”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We had two stay at the Ballastone in January this year. Friendly staff, great service and comfortable place to stay. Centrally located in the Historic District. Parking in back of Inn

Room Tip: Second or Third floor in back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtg2145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    71
    30
    23
    20
See reviews for
68
508
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at The Ballastone June of 2011. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. We were unsure of how it would be. The mansion was beautiful and the courtyard was our favorite place at the inn. We stayed in a courtyard room "Low Country". The room was lovely, quaint and comfortable. The bathroom was just ok and nothing fancy. Amenities included an awesome southern breakfast. For breakfast you choose where you would like to be seated and they set up a private table for just you and yours so that was a nice touch. Parking was either behind the inn (they only have 6 spots available) or you can do as we did and park at street side parking which was convenient for us. Staff was polite and always smiling. We had never seen Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. We asked them for a copy of the movie so we could watch it. They ended up giving us a copy to take home since they had 2 of them. I thought that was especially thoughtful. The inn is walk-able from everything in the historic district. We went on a tour with All About Savannah Tours through this inn and it was the highlight of our stay. Kathy with All About Savannah Tours is excellent and well worth the cost of the tour. The only negative I could say about this Inn is it was a bit too quiet at night and we felt we had to tiptoe when we came in late. We would stay at this Inn again.

Room Tip: The Low Country is a courtyard level room and was quaint and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
458 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We made reservations for 10 days over Christmas and NYear in as far back as August and were so excited. Were put in the basement (first floor, downstairs). the rm was cramped, damp, we heard running water from pipes constantly, loud noises and strong smells from the kitchen, and 2beds made into one which was very uncomfortable left us exhausted the next day. The young hostess was lovely and offered us a room upstirs, but only for a few nights as the place was booked. We ended up in 3 different rooms and having to cut short our long awaited vacation by 5 days. No New Years in Savannah . We were so upset.
Let me say again, The staff were wonderful, but there was no wifi access except in the main room and only intermittently. The food was not as advertised, and definitely mediocre at best. Tea and hors d's really aren't at all. We had to wait for seating several times at breakfast, despite having to give our eating time the night before, and tea (tiny macaroons and minute tea sandwiches) ran out before people got them. That isn't tea.
Again, we loved the staff, but the owners should rethink food, rooms, and definitely prices.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruhu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeeSavannah, Owner at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
We are sorry that these guests were not satisfied. Guests all know that rooms in the mansion are based on size and location and often how elegantly appointed which will determine the price With all bnbs and Inns this is true. There are less expensive rooms, always and likewise, suites and superior which guests pay premium for.

The guests booked the least expensive room and when they expressed their dissatisfaction were moved to rooms that were some of the most exquisite rooms in the mansion, and priced accordingly. but were graciously not charged. They expressed how happy they were that we accommodated them in this way. We offered them a $50 gift certificate for one of their night stays for dinner.

Breakfast hour......Often times here at the Inn, all guests will come down at the same time, since we have individual tables for two we all must sometimes wait. It is usually never a problem.

We did everything we could as our policy with all of our guests to make their stay a memorable one.

Jennifer Salandi
Ballastone Inn, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The decor and ambience were firat rate, But what made it special was the staff. They not only arranged for a rental car for us, but when it turned out the only available car that day was at the airport, without our asking they had a staff member drive us out to the airport to pick it up on our schedule and without charge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gakst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

After searching on the internet for a Honeymoon Destination in Savannah, I was anxious to find the memorable weekend for our celebration. The minute we were greeted at the front door was more than what we had hoped for. The Inn is perfection. Our suite was beautiful. The decor, the gas burning fireplace and the ambience of our suite was more than we expected. The staff met our needs and high tea was something that we looked forward to daily. The location was within walking distance to historical sites, incredible eateries, and shopping. The tour trolleys have a stop next door to the Inn. We didn't realize until, we took a tour, that the Inn was visited by many celebrities. It is understandable because we were treated as if we were the only ones there. We want to return again on our first anniversary! We recommend it HIGHLY!

Room Tip: They are all beautifully done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,631 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,259 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,925 - ₹ 25,323
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing