We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place I would never go again . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Summit Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place I would never go again . . .”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Suggested to my cousin and his wife come in from mid-Ohio to celebrate their 38th wedding anniversary at the resort. On 08/11/2012 met them there with six other family members to have dinner. This was a bad decision! The choice of menu selection was very limited. Now I understand that most all resorts serve meals a la carte, but for heaven's sake, no baked potatoes! What should have been a very enjoyable experience turned out to be a true disappointment and overall bad experience. After a lengthy wait, dinner was served. To all our dismay, eight meals were came to the table and nearly all were tepid temperature at best. So, now it's time to call the manager who after some delay comes to the table and asks what was the problem. Once informed of the situation, she says, "Don't worry, I'll take care of it and bring out new meals. I'll take care of it." So, after nearly a forty minute wait, the meals were once again served. Sadly, the attempt at another serving was not much better the second time. Her amends for our having the problem and having to wait once again was to serve our dinner party dessert at no charge. Unbelievably, the dessert was almost as bad as the meal. One such example: strawberry shortcake should be moist and flavorful. What was served was stale and tough to cut with a fork. All things considered, having to endure this poor food quality and the manager's meager attempt to remedy a problem left our family's party mood totally deflated. Needless to say, there won't be a next time for this place! P.S. Our waitress was excellent and did everything she could to help.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fiatmistura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    143
    72
    49
    25
See reviews for
83
219
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mineral, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Summit Inn in June for two nights. It was a great experience in a wonderful old hotel with great views. We had some difficulty finding it because of the steep road (Rt 40), but we did find it and our room was just as promised. We ate diner both nights at the restaurant in the hotel and the food was great. We had made reservations for Wednesday and Thursday evenings but didn't need them. We visited Falling Water on Thursday and enjoyed it very much, but I hadn't read the warning in the brochure about lots of walking, and I almost regretted it. All in all it was a great time and we would like to go back some time.

Room Tip: No elevator. Choose a room on the main floor. If stairs are not an issue a room on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyCity020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Summit Inn was awful, the room smelled significantly like mold, and the pool was the filthiest I have seen in a establishment that was presently open. No exaggeration the untreated pool at Fallingwater looked alot better.
The staff was polite, but the woman at the desk acted surprised when I commented about the room smell and the pool conditions, but as I read on this site these are regular complaints. Fallingwater was awesome, and this hotel might have been when Harding was President but it is the opposite of awesome now.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farmington hotels

ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

A little pricy and if you want a modern refined hotel this isnt it. Room was old and historic. Hallways are old and creaky but common space was nice (and historic). I enjoyed the super huge outdoor pool which was clean. I enjoyed the outdoor space and the large porch sitting area. The only ice machine was at the front desk which was far.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbkspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

A colleague and I stayed here last week in route to falling water after a conference in Pittsburgh. Another colleague had suggested it based on seeing it from outside. It is a turn of the century hotel on a mountaintop with spectacular views down the valley from the wrap around porch. We had dinner here and the sunset was spectacular and the service grat but the food was mediocre. We had drinks in the small bar which charged very high prices for a small establishment. The hotel has some period pieces and a nice lobby. The rugs throughout made the place smell old and musty. Tere must be great floors underneath if they renovated the place. I traveled up old decrepit stairs to find a room that was reminiscint of the 50s motor lodge. Old wall paper with stains, old comforter, hard bed, old ac, etc. the rooms were clean though, just in need of a makeover. The price we paid we expected a lot more! The best part of the stay was not food, lodging or price but the Olympic size pool and jacuzzi outdoors. It's old but a terrific facility. If I had to do it over again, I would stop here for drinks and a sunset view and then drive a bit further to hartzell house for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaKanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
24.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
10.5 km away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
37.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#4 of 9 in Uniontown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
10.3 km away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
37.4 km away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Summit Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Summit Inn

Property: Historic Summit Inn
Address: 101 Skyline Dr, Farmington, PA 15437-1140
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,563 - ₹ 13,251
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Summit Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1907, the Historic Summit Inn is one of the last remaining grand porch hotels. Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places and with Stunning mountain views. Offers both indoor and outdoor dining and a full service bar and lounge. Whether you are on a romantic vacation for two or attending an event here you will find plenty to enjoy. Enjoy an afternoon at our indoor or outdoor pool or at our nine hole golf course where guests golf for free. Located near Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Moments from Lady Luck Casino and Ohiopyle River Rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Historic Summit Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Summit Hotel Farmington
Historic Summit Resort
Summit Farmington
Farmington Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing