We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
257
3
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
257
3
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car service no tipping policy relais chateaux lemon souffle pancakes afternoon high tea moment you arrive heated floors deep soaking tub mansion bar high tea service complimentary mini bar thoughtful touches included in the room rate public rooms included amenities spa treatments hotels around the world
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just returned from an incredible weekend stay at the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in! I've never been much of a boutique hotel type, but The Ivy Hotel has opened my eyes. First of all, the place is gorgeous and so comfortable. The reception area (completer with champagne), the various parlors and, of course, the rooms are impeccably decorated. The entire staff knows your name when you arrive! You're greeted personally throughout your stay, by the best trained staff that's also obviously proud to work at this fine property. Shout out to Achmed, Anthony and Simon and the others (whose names I cannot recall), all of whom saw to every detail and made us feel welcome and valued. This place also has a hotel car that's actually available for use because there's only 16 other guests. (Do you know how many times I've been told about the "hotel car" at other places only to discover it's never available for me??) Breakfast (included, like everything else it seems) was sumptuous and a delicious gastronomic event. A memorable experience all-around and the perfect choice for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RichGman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyHotelBaltimore, General Manager at The Ivy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Greetings RichGman!
Thank you for your review and wonderful comments about The Ivy. I am delighted that it was such an enjoyable weekend. Being "the nicest hotel you have ever stayed in" is absolutely our goal! I must agree that there's something very special about staying in a boutique hotel. Doing things on a smaller but grander scale than many other properties allows us to fully customize the experience. Guests like you make it a true pleasure. We can't wait to welcome you back next time.
Rob Arthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

We popped up to the Ivy Hotel for a quick overnight from DC - and discovered a treasure! Every detail of this recently renovated mansion is gorgeous. We loved lingering in the great rooms, enjoying afternoon tea and playing pool. Our room was lovely - quite romantic, actually. Part of the fun was choosing our room from the menu of options on the website (each room has a unique character). A particular shout-out to the spa staff - we can report that the massages and facials are fabulous. We loved the breakfast, but were a bit sad that the restaurant was closed on the Monday evening we visited... then again, it gives us a reason to go back and visit again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MBMMDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyHotelBaltimore, General Manager at The Ivy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear MBMMDC,
I am thrilled to read your fabulous review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. A "Jewel Box" is such a lovely way to describe The Ivy. Our aesthetic is luxurious and unique, with many special spaces to explore. Baltimore is such a quick and easy getaway from DC and yet you feel like you're a world away. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Rob Arthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

From the moment that we checked-in at The Ivy, service was flawless. Maurice welcomed us at our car, and we were whisked up the elevator and greeted by Simon with a glass of champagne. After a quick check-in and tour, we went upstairs to our beautiful room. Feather topped bed, uniquely stocked mini bar, and wine and cheese awaited our arrival.

The staff greets you by name and treats you like family. The endless complimentary treats, beautifully appointed public spaces, the serve yourself bar (or have Grace mix up an amazing cosmo), and the no-tipping policy make for a totally relaxing stay.

Be sure to enjoy the breakfast in Magdalena's. Fresh squeezed juice, lemon soufflé pancakes and smoked salmon plate, it was all delicious and included. On our last morning we were even sent off with a bag of homemade pastries to enjoy on our trip home.

Afternoon tea in the conservatory, rejuvenating spa treatments, and the most amazing meal in Magdalena. The Ivy is perfection, and we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyHotelBaltimore, General Manager at The Ivy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Wheldon,
Thank you for a wonderful review! I am so glad to hear that you felt pampered by the property and our exceptional staff. We love including so many special amenities in our room rates - it's part of what makes the "Ivy Experience" so unforgettable. I must agree that the Lemon Soufflé Pancakes and House Smoked Salmon are not to be missed at breakfast! We will look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Baltimore.
All the best,
Rob Arthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

This place has seemingly thought of everything with the customer's comfort and happiness in mind, from the friendliness of all who work there, down to the free drinks and snacks in the minibar. Afternoon high tea is a great experience, and their restaurant Magdalena has delicious food, including the can't miss complementary breakfast in the morning. Each room is slightly different, so you can get a slightly different experience when you come back. The bed/bedding, and the rain shower and deep tub make it hard to leave the room. Best place we've stayed in Baltimore, by far.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank andyscott31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyHotelBaltimore, General Manager at The Ivy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear andyscott31,
Thank you for a marvelous review! There is no better compliment to receive than "perfect", and I am delighted to hear that your stay at The Ivy was exceptional. The culture of service and hospitality is something we take very seriously and we love to "wow" our guests with all the special little touches. We aim to be the very best and are so glad that you agree. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Rob Arthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

You will be pampered and be treated like royalty from the moment that you pull up to the curb- the staff anticipates what you need - and they are executing before you can even ask. Don't be scared away with the price tag - worth every single penny for this incredible experience - and so much is included that you will find it money well spent. Car service and amazing breakfast included. Maurice on staff is fantastic - a native Baltimorian - was able to lead us 'moms' to the right venues and neighborhoods - Fells Point, Inner Harbor, the Peabody Museum, Mount Vernon Market Place, Farmer's Market, Yoga Works, etc. So much to see and do, but our best times were spent in the hotel. Tea in the conservatory, massages in the Ivy Spa and and an unforgettable dinner at Magdalena located on the lower level of the hotel. After dinner, saunter up to the bar for a drink (Grace makes a great cosmo)- and enjoy the rest of your night in the Music Room at the billiard table. It is no coincidence that many guests are greeted with hugs and warm 'welcome backs' by the staff - once you experience the magic of The Ivy - you too will want to come back when its time to rejuvenate and relax. Maybe it's time for you to be treated like royalty too.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandi41798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyHotelBaltimore, General Manager at The Ivy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear sandi41798,
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We try to emulate the idea that perfect service is the type that never draws attention, so a special thank you for your accolades to our fantastic staff. I'm so pleased you had a chance to explore Baltimore's many charms. The Ivy is perfectly situated for easy access to the hustle and bustle of city life, but tucked away in a beautiful, historic neighborhood. Returning to the comfort of the hotel for tea and cocktails by the fire followed by a leisurely dinner at Magdalena is always a welcome respite after a day spent on the town. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Rob Arthur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews