We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting our daughter”
Review of Hotel Brexton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Brexton
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2017

It was the perfect location for us. The room was spacious and clean. It was very quiet and peaceful for staying in the city. The gentleman had the desk was very helpful. The only thing I would change would be the breakfast. I wish there was a better selection.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Susan,

I thank you for your wonderful review of Hotel Brexton. We strive to allow each of our guests to experience the art of individuality and I'm so glad you enjoyed us and our close proximity to your daughter.

Your positive feedback boosts our morale and drive and keeps us focused on moving forward, day by day. I also appreciate your comments regarding breakfast, hoping that if and when you return to us, you will find a more hearty selection.

Thank you again. We hope to accommodate you as 2018 continues.

Respectfully Yours,

John O. Hollis
Asst. General Manager
Historic Hotel Brexton
Baltimore, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2017

A fine experience, with very friendly front desk staff. Beautiful room with tall wide windows. Quiet, peaceful, in excellent location. I was not disappointed. It's a different experience than staying in a cookie cutter style hotel. Nice view of adjacent street. Small hotel, but my room was spacious. Lots of comforts.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kathy,

Thank you for your marvelous review of Hotel Brexton! While you were not disappointed with us, we were most certainly not disappointed with this wonderful review!

Providing comfort and quality are a few of our goals and I'm so glad these goals were met during your stay. Our individualistic identity definitely sets us apart and I'm so thankful you were able to experience that and so much more.

We've been around since 1881, and we're not going anywhere, so we hope that should you come back to Baltimore, you stay with us again. Thank you. Thank you!

Respectfully Yours,

John O. Hollis
Asst. General Manager
Historic Hotel Brexton
Baltimore, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Theaters and restaurants all within walking distance. The Brexton was lovely and in a very convenient location. Our room was very nice, comfortable and quiet. The staff at Brexton were very friendly and helpful in directing us about town. We would definitely consider the Brexton again, a great spot to stay in Baltimore.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brendalc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Brendalc,

Thank you for your terrific review of Hotel Brexton! Convenience, comfort and class is what we attempt to provide on a daily basis, among many other traits and I'm so glad to hear you were able to experience that with us!

Our staff enjoy providing individualized service and your positive feedback regarding them is a welcome comment. Their knowledge of the area and characteristics help make us who we are. Your consideration of us during future visits is much appreciated.

Thank you again!

Respectfully Yours,

John O. Hollis
Asst. General Manager
Historic Hotel Brexton
Baltimore, MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at Hotel Brexton. Our room was good size for an older hotel and very quiet for the city. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to park out front for free and that was helpful. We were only walking minutes to several of our favorite restaurants, Owl Bar, City Cafe and Baby’s On Fire coffee shop. We did enjoy the continental breakfast at the hotel. We would stay here again as we love the historic significance of Hotel Brexton.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sapringle322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony N, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to positively contribute to the experience of your overall trip. We hope to see you again next time that you are in the area! Please feel free to email me at Anthony@hotelbrexton.com and I will personally make sure that your next trip with us is even more special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

This was my second visit to Hotel Brexton. It is indeed different from the usual fare but I love it that way. I stayed 3 nights over the weekend and it was just as nice as my first visit. It is a Historic Hotel and so the exterior has that historic red brick look with its distinctive towers. The interior is smart and clean with hardwood floors and décor that is comfortable yet doesn't take away from the interesting room outlines. The complimentary breakfast can be as quick or as long as one wishes, from cereal and bagels to oatmeal, fruit, and juice. Make a flavored coffee or have a nice hot cup of tea. Ask the staff for recommendations on eating, shopping, or transportation. I took the light rail from BWI to the Cultural Center stop and walked 5-7 minutes to the hotel. Symphony Hall, Walters Art Museum, Peabody Library are nearby as well as several universities: University of Baltimore, MICA Maryland Institute College of Art, John Hopkins University, University of Maryland, and more. Hotel Brexton is in the Mt. Vernon district and there's a lot to discover. I'm so glad I stayed at Hotel Brexton, a member of the Historic Hotels of America. I look forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Linda S,

Thank you so very much for your amazingly awesome review!

We pride ourselves on being a comfortable and cozy home away from home for our regular and repeat guests and I am so thankful you find us to be everything you could ever need or want while visiting.

We've been around since 1881 and we're not going anywhere, so feel free to come back! We look forward to having you again.

John O. Hollis
Front Office Manager
Guest Experience Coordinator
Historic Hotel Brexton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#14 of 67 in Baltimore
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Address: 868 Park Ave, Baltimore, MD 21201-4863
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range: ₹ 7,578 - ₹ 11,334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome you to the Hotel Brexton in Mount Vernon, a designated National Landmark Historic District and a Baltimore Cultural District. Hotel Brexton is a 29-room Queen Anne style boutique hotel, originally constructed in 1881 and beautifully restored in 2010. It is certainly one of Baltimore's most unique historic hotels and situated a short walk from Baltimore's finest museums, art institutes, restaurants, night life, antique shops, colleges, symphony, theatres, galleries, and public transportation (train, light rail, and free City bus!). Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in this boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore, just North of the Harbor. Our charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. Come reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing