We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed”

Historic Ships in Baltimore
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 88.98*
and up
Spirit of Baltimore Dinner Cruise with Buffet
Ranked #10 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic Ships in Baltimore is home port to USS Constellation, the last all-sail warship built by the US Navy, the submarine USS Torsk which sank the last two enemy combatants of WWII, USGC Cutter Taney, the last surviving vessel to witness the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, 7 December 1941, Lightship 116 Chesapeake, which marked the entrance to the Chesapeake Bay and the Seven Foot Knoll Lighthouse. The museum is open daily from 10:00am to 4:30pm. Tickets may be purchased on-line or at our ticket locations on Pier 1, Pier 3 or on board the USCGC Taney.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“enjoyed”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I enjoyed the ships. Some of the ships were smaller than others and therefore didn't require much time. Was impressed by the submarine.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmandaM89_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    412
    68
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
260 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Old ships -- that is what you get”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I only had time to visit two ships. The nice clerk at the ticket booth (by Constellation) advised that I visit the Constellation (the best attraction) and the submarine.

I have visited maritime museums in several locations in the US and Europe. For sheer history, nothing beats the Constitution up in Boston. For variety, I like the San Diego Maritime Museum.

This set of ships seems like a pretty good value.

Please be advised that the submarine is cramped and a physical challenge to get through. I imagine it can be pretty hot in the summer.

I took the audio guide on the Constellation and it added to the experience. Watch your head down below if you are tall!! Wear a hat to protect your head if you are over 5' 8".

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MadisonGrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
175 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Spend a half day seeing all 4 ships”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

An enjoyable half day seeing the 4 historic ships. We also had the coupon from the water taxi which dropped the price from $18 to$11 for an adult. By far the Uss Constellation a sail ship built in 1854 was the most interesting. There was an audio tour included. Also interpreters in period costumes who were very informative. There are 4 levels to tour which require you to CLIMB LADDERS.
Moving on to the other boats there were no tours or even audio tours. Areas were labelled such as engine room or mess hall. On the Torsk WW II submarine there were a few videos playing. On the Coast Guard ship Taney there were some audio recordings from men who served during WWII describing kamikaze attacks the crew survived.
If you like maritime history you will love it.

Helpful?
Thank Gwenbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic, if you like this kind of thing!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I've gotta be honest... it is my sons who rank this attraction as 5-star. It's not really my cup of tea, but it is MAJOR thrills for them, ages 14 and 10. So! We went to the 4 ships, using the discount coupon we had gotten on the Water Taxi the night before (thanks to a previous TripAdvisor review for pointing that out!). So 4 ships for the price of 1 with the coupon.

No guided tour, but you get a little pamphlet with information, and the displays inside the ships are good. The sub is pretty fascinating, and the old Constellation ship is great too. If you really want to read all the displays and take your time, you could easily spend most of a day on these 4 ships, with a little break for lunch.

Go when the weather is decent -- not howling winds or pouring rain. You will be outside a fair amount.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelmama15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Constellation and Tursk, very good”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Very interesting, very good exhibits, but would have been better if there were guided tours, rather than just wandering on your own. A little pricey, but better if you sign up for more than one ship on the same day. If you like history, these ships are very interesting and worth seeing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elkiedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Ships in Baltimore also viewed

 

Been to Historic Ships in Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing