We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Play Space for Kids”

Port Discovery Children's Museum
Ranked #37 of 252 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Port Discovery Children’s Museum is ranked among the top 5 children’s museums in the United States! (Child Magazine)Port Discovery offers three floors of interactive, educational exhibits and ever-changing programs for children ages birth through 10. Toddle and crawl through Tot Trails. Get healthy and fit in Kick It Up!. Splish splash in Wonders of Water. Shop and pump gas at the Royal Farms Convenience Store and Fill’er Up Station. Cook and serve food in Tiny’s Diner or climb and slide through KidWorks, a 3-story urban treehouse.Port Discovery Children's Museum hosts educational programs, special events, and special exhibits, including the upcoming Nickelodeon's Dora & Diego - Let's Explore! exhibit, coming to the Museum September 16thm 2017 through February 19, 2018.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We took our three grandkids to Port Discovery and each was extremely entertained for a long time. The first thing to catch their attention was the Royal Farm convenience store and gas station. Very clever. There was something for everyone including a large climbing feature in the center of the museum (our kids are too young), hands-on educational displays, and a wonderful diner. We surely didn't see it all but our group of monkeys had ball. It's quite expensive for a family so it's a special place to visit now and then which is unfortunate

Thank sheilal921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Social Media & Community Engagement Specialist at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting! We are glad to know your grandchildren had a great time with us! Our admission price helps to make the Museum accessible for families and children that may not otherwise be able to have access to us, as well as school groups. We understand that this can be expensive, so we offer plenty of days where families can save regularly so that you won't have to limit your visits. Please feel free to check out our website for more information! Another great investment would be one of our family memberships that provide unlimited access to the museum for a year once purchased. They are equivalent to one family visit, so they pretty much pay for themselves on your first visit! Hopefully this provides you with some great options, so that you and your family can enjoy our establishment on a regular basis. We would love to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"water room"
in 33 reviews
"climbing structure"
in 30 reviews
"jungle gym"
in 17 reviews
"water works"
in 11 reviews
"all ages"
in 34 reviews
"older kids"
in 18 reviews
"water play"
in 8 reviews
"change of clothes"
in 7 reviews
"art room"
in 5 reviews
"parking validation"
in 4 reviews
"bring extra clothes"
in 4 reviews
"play soccer"
in 4 reviews
"toddler area"
in 4 reviews
"three story"
in 8 reviews
"great place for kids"
in 11 reviews
"year olds"
in 14 reviews
"different areas"
in 10 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2018

We meet with a group up of friends to get the kids tired and us all hang out. This place changes some of the exhibits which makes it good to visit periodically. They have a snack room with some vending machines, but places are close by for food. Bring extra clothes for the water area, it is fun! Birthday parties can be held here too. They are improving the place and I look forward to seeing it change. There is a small gift shop at the entrance/exit. They are closed on Mondays!!

1  Thank JoeS755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Social Media & Community Engagement Specialist at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you so much for paying us a visit and for you kind words! We are happy to hear that you and your family had a great time and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We enjoyed our time at the Port Discovery Children's Museum, but we did expect it to be a bit nicer given the fact that it was rated as one of the Top 5 Children's Museum's in the US - it doesn't hold a candle to the Please Touch museum in Philadelphia.

We really liked that all of the exhibits were clearly labeled with the appropriate ages - there seemed to be a good mix of exhibits to cover a variety of ages. Our daughter was almost 3 when we went, so we did not use the play structure in the middle of the museum at all, but she really enjoyed the diner area, the grocery store area, and the toddler area with the sandbox. We went on a Sunday afternoon and it wasn't overly crowded, but the exhibits were absolutely decimated - there didn't seem to be many staff members around to straighten up, there were almost no food items left in the grocery store area to play with, and the water area was an absolutely. We felt like we've been to other Children's Museums with similar exhibits that are maintained better.

There is a parking deck nearby, and the security desk will validate your parking ticket for you. We were very impressed with the security and that wristbands are checked when you leave to make sure that the kid's wristband and parent's wristband match.

Thank wandermom321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for visiting, and for your feedback to help us improve! Port Discovery has certainly been well loved since opening in 1998, and although we try to keep our exhibits in the best working condition possible, we have heard our visitors loud and clear and are working on ideas to reimagine our Museum and bring new exhibits and experiences to our visitors. We are excited to share those plans with you soon! We are saddened to learn that you found some exhibits to not be straightened up or have sufficient items to play with – those are issues our visitors should not encounter, and that we do our very best to address immediately when we learn about them. We will be sure to share this feedback so that we can do better in the future.Please stay tuned on future plans for the Museum – we’d love to have you back to experience the Museum again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

This was listed as one of the top 5 children’s museums in the US - so maybe my expectations where set too high. I wasn’t that impressed. Seemed kinda old and dated. We had a one and just 3 year old. First the main attractions is a glorified McDonald’s style play structure for age 5 and up. This takes up about 2/3 of the museum- so that in itself to me is not at all a museum - it a play place. They have a play diner and play store - both packed wall to wall - so a tentative 3 year didn’t get to really play. She would have enjoyed this but there was just so many people. Can’t imagine what this place is like in the summer. The toddler area was nice and not crowded. They loved the sand. The water room was enjoyed but was wet - the body dryer didn’t really dry - great idea but only cool air coming out - so you have to just dry as you go or come prepared with a change of clothing. The bubble maker was really cool - expected more things like that. The Dora exhibit was pretty dull and unimpressive. Expected more since it was a special exhibit. Overall I’ve been to better children’s museums - Please Touch, Pittsburgh Children’s etc... we spent 3 hours and we where done. If you have a 5 year to 10 year old they would probably enjoy this place. This place has no snacks or drinks to purchase / vending machines would be a plus. No lockers or coat check so when you come in the winter you have to carry all your belongings with you, people who know this carry full back packs which you get smacked with as you move around - once again poor planning - should be able to do better for a more enjoyable environment for everyone. They advertised they validate for parking but beware - we parked at a garage that said parking for port discovery but it was not the “correct one” so we paid $27 to park for 3 hours.

1  Thank momoffiveinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for visiting and for sharing your feedback. We appreciate it as it certainly helps us improve! Port Discovery is absolutely a place to play. However, each of our exhibits – including our climber, diner, and store– have been intentionally designed to encourage learning as well. We’re sorry to hear that you perhaps weren’t pointed in the direction of our lockers, coat racks, and vending machines – we do have these amenities and areas to eat food that visitors bring or purchase from nearby restaurants. We thank you for your feedback on the exhibits you liked and didn’t like – that is helpful for us to know. We are in the midst of planning new exhibits and experiences at the Museum - we can't wait to share information on those soon - and we’d love to have you back to experience those. We encourage any guest to check out our Visitor Tips page on our website - we truly want you to have the best experience possible when you visit the Museum and have tried to provide tips about things like bringing extra clothes, where to park, lockers, coat checks, etc. on this page so that you can have a more enjoyable visit. Visitor feedback certainly helps us improve the tips and information we offer, improve our communication and guest experiences. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Yes, as other reviewers note, this is basically an indoor playground/touch-everything museum. But it is a children's museum, so...of course! Be prepared to be watching your kid(s) like a hawk on busy weekends or during the mad rush of school field trip groups. The center climbing structure can be a little stress-inducing if you have an adventurer, so be ready to get in there as needed. As far as children's museums go, it's a decent size, with a huge range of activities, exhibits and events. Enough to keep busy, though it doesn't rival other big-city children's museums. Most things seem best for the younger set, including a soft play area just for babies and toddlers. Some things are entertaining to those probably up to about 10ish, but even an 8-year-old might get bored on a second trip unless there's a new exhibit. If you're a family planning to go at least twice in a year, the family membership is likely worth it, though it doesn't offer too many extra perks. There are lockers and coat storage areas on the ground floor, plus a place to eat a packed lunch. It's also fairly close to good places to eat, and parking is validated to a subsidized $15, except on certain holidays.

Thank RunwiththisMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for visiting Port Discovery and for sharing your feedback. As with other Children’s Museums, we’ve intentionally designed Port Discovery to be both playful and educational – but also a place for family engagement, so we absolutely encourage families to get in on the excitement in each of the exhibit areas. We do understand that KidWorks, our climber, can be somewhat stress inducing and can assure you we are taking that feedback into consideration as we plan future exhibits and experiences at Port Discovery. We’d love to hear about the exhibits, experiences and membership perks that you’d like to see at the Museum – this is feedback that can absolutely help us as we plan the future of the Museum and so that we can better serve our visitors. Thanks again for your feedback – it is what helps us improve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Discovery Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Port Discovery Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing