We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the one of the best places I have ever stayec.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Ranked #2 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson,Tx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is the one of the best places I have ever stayec.”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed in. the Garden cottage. It was adorable. I was able to be alone & yet near people. It was very clean & comfortable. The owners were very gracious and the food was delicious. The Inn itself is beautiful. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catatopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    36
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
134
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have stayed at the Veranda twice in the last 7 months! I was going to make it a third time, but unsurprisingly it is booked! I fell in love with the charming cottage I stayed in last time I was there. I absolutely recommend staying at this bed and breakfast! David is so hospitable and the entire staff is very kind and caring. You won't be disappointed especially after experiencing the yummy fresh brewed coffee and amazing breakfast meals.

Room Tip: The separate cottage is perfect if you want to have a nice and quiet place all to yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We spent four nights with David at the Veranda Inn and we had a wonderful time. This very old hotel has been spruced up but the character remains. The ceilings must be 12 feet or more, the walls solid and very thick, and thus the privacy is great. The rooms are large and comfortable with lots of furniture. The beds are very nice, David was very helpful and knowledgeable about the attractions of the area. Breakfasts were extraordinary, and the "goodies" left out each day were outstanding. The brownies were my downfall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Veranda two nights and had a very comfortable and enjoyable experience. Owners, David and Ana Schreiber, provided an excelent B&B environment with great food and accomodations. We booked Room #2 with a fireplace which made our stay very cozy and comfortable. The Veranda was clean and well maintained. The location just off the main road near downtown was very convenient for all our acttivities. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room #2 has a fireplace and it's very near the common Living Room (lounge) and the Dining Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Needed a week to break away from the busy Austin routine and decided to stay in Fort Davis for a couple days with my wife. Chose to stay at the historic Veranda and could not have chosen a better B&B! The breakfast was delicious as was the coffee, cookies and other goodies. We stayed in the small cottage which was great! The room was cozy but perfectly comfortable for 2, included a mini fridge and a very relaxing shower. The backyard area was also a really nice place to hang out and drink hot tea and cocoa, especially after some surprising snowy weather, we just hung out on the back patio in the rocking chairs under the canopy and enjoyed the great views and the fresh air!

David was a fantastic host, very nice and knowledgable about the area, especially on the history and natural features of the Davis Mountains. Gave us several tips on some places to visit in the area which really made the entire trip a fantastic and memorable experience, even with the inclement weather. I really look forward to another visit, perhaps with some friends or family!

Room Tip: The Cottage was very comfortable! Highly Recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
34.7 km away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
402 reviews
33.3 km away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
238 reviews
34.2 km away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 km away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
540 reviews
33.0 km away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
61 reviews
35.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VERANDA HISTORIC INN? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VERANDA HISTORIC INN

Property: VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Address: 210 Court Ave., Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,852 - ₹ 10,271
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mile-high Fort Davis, the Veranda Inn offers accommodations in a unique historic setting. Built in 1883, the Veranda is the oldest hotel in West Texas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing