We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Ranked #2 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We spent four nights with David at the Veranda Inn and we had a wonderful time. This very old hotel has been spruced up but the character remains. The ceilings must be 12 feet or more, the walls solid and very thick, and thus the privacy is great. The rooms are large and comfortable with lots of furniture. The beds are very nice, David was very helpful and knowledgeable about the attractions of the area. Breakfasts were extraordinary, and the "goodies" left out each day were outstanding. The brownies were my downfall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for VERANDA HISTORIC INN
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Veranda two nights and had a very comfortable and enjoyable experience. Owners, David and Ana Schreiber, provided an excelent B&B environment with great food and accomodations. We booked Room #2 with a fireplace which made our stay very cozy and comfortable. The Veranda was clean and well maintained. The location just off the main road near downtown was very convenient for all our acttivities. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room #2 has a fireplace and it's very near the common Living Room (lounge) and the Dining Room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Needed a week to break away from the busy Austin routine and decided to stay in Fort Davis for a couple days with my wife. Chose to stay at the historic Veranda and could not have chosen a better B&B! The breakfast was delicious as was the coffee, cookies and other goodies. We stayed in the small cottage which was great! The room was cozy but perfectly comfortable for 2, included a mini fridge and a very relaxing shower. The backyard area was also a really nice place to hang out and drink hot tea and cocoa, especially after some surprising snowy weather, we just hung out on the back patio in the rocking chairs under the canopy and enjoyed the great views and the fresh air!

David was a fantastic host, very nice and knowledgable about the area, especially on the history and natural features of the Davis Mountains. Gave us several tips on some places to visit in the area which really made the entire trip a fantastic and memorable experience, even with the inclement weather. I really look forward to another visit, perhaps with some friends or family!

Room Tip: The Cottage was very comfortable! Highly Recommended!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Veranda. We booked Room #4 in the main part of the B&B. What was nice about this room (besides the lovely antique furniture and two-room space) is that in had two entrances -- one to the main hallway and the other to the outside, where we parked our car in the little alley. The owner was very courteous and helpful with information about the area. The breakfasts were delicious. Fort Davis itself is a nice break from big cities and close to other West Texas destinations, such as Marfa, which is only 20 minutes away. We spent most of our time hiking the trail at nearby Fort Davis National Historic Site and the McDonald Observatory. I highly recommend the Veranda.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We booked the cottage which is separate from the main lodging facilities. The cottage was very cozy and had a private bathroom. The B&B location was wonderful and next to most of the wonderful places in town. The room had a great view of the Davis Mountains and the backyard of the hotel. We arrived late in the hotel but the wonderful owner had made all the arrangements so that our room was ready. The breakfast was also great and homemade, especially the toffee bars that they had were really great. The hotel and Fort Davis is a great jumping point area if you are going to Marathon, Alpine, Study-Butte, Presidio or Marfa area. The McDonald observatory is also nearby. Just be aware, the Fort Davis area observes dark skies so take a flashlight, it will come in handy. I will definitely go back to Fort Davis and especially the Veranda.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in the cottage, which separate from the main lodging building to enjoy a more tranq...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
34.7 km away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
409 reviews
33.3 km away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
251 reviews
33.0 km away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
493 reviews
33.1 km away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
550 reviews
35.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VERANDA HISTORIC INN? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VERANDA HISTORIC INN

Address: 210 Court Ave., Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range: ₹ 3,894 - ₹ 10,385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mile-high Fort Davis, the Veranda Inn offers accommodations in a unique historic setting. Built in 1883, the Veranda is the oldest hotel in West Texas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing