We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Nearby Hotels
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 130
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 254
US$ 247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Value Lodge(Alpine)
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Alpine)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
US$ 80
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
189
40
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
40
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiescarriage housewest texasmcdonald observatorysitting roomlovely antiquesother guestsbrownietake homepet pigcoffee cakeft davisbreakfast each morninghigh ceilingsdelicious breakfastbig bendrelaxing place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Veranda. We booked Room #4 in the main part of the B&B. What was nice about this room (besides the lovely antique furniture and two-room space) is that in had two entrances -- one to the main hallway and the other to the outside, where we parked our car in the little alley. The owner was very courteous and helpful with information about the area. The breakfasts were delicious. Fort Davis itself is a nice break from big cities and close to other West Texas destinations, such as Marfa, which is only 20 minutes away. We spent most of our time hiking the trail at nearby Fort Davis National Historic Site and the McDonald Observatory. I highly recommend the Veranda.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We booked the cottage which is separate from the main lodging facilities. The cottage was very cozy and had a private bathroom. The B&B location was wonderful and next to most of the wonderful places in town. The room had a great view of the Davis Mountains and the backyard of the hotel. We arrived late in the hotel but the wonderful owner had made all the arrangements so that our room was ready. The breakfast was also great and homemade, especially the toffee bars that they had were really great. The hotel and Fort Davis is a great jumping point area if you are going to Marathon, Alpine, Study-Butte, Presidio or Marfa area. The McDonald observatory is also nearby. Just be aware, the Fort Davis area observes dark skies so take a flashlight, it will come in handy. I will definitely go back to Fort Davis and especially the Veranda.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in the cottage, which separate from the main lodging building to enjoy a more tranquil experience.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Our stay was Nov 23, 24, 2011. One of the better B&B's we have lodged in over the years. Owner/host was great. He cooks a great gourmet breakfast and was thoughtful to have snacks for lodgers on Thanksgiving evening. Not too far from Marfa, Alpine, McDonald Observatory or even Balmorhea. And of course, Fort Davis State Park and Fort Davis Nat Hist Park are nearby. Spacious rooms, clean facility, great host... all good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverNissan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We made the Veranda our home base for a week of hiking and sightseeing in West Texas. It's a charming, tranquil place to return to after a day trip to Big Bend, or a hike in Davis Mtns. State Park. The innkeeper and staff are lovely people and provided helpful tips for excursions in the area. The breakfasts and afternoon baked treats are exquisite, and the coffee is in the top 3 of the best hotel coffees we have ever had (it's good. And I could go for a couple of those gingersnaps right now...) We enjoyed sitting in the back garden area, reading and just enjoying the view of Sleeping Lion Mtn. We loved the fact that most of the streets in Ft. Davis are unpaved, and you might even look out your window and see people going by on horseback. From the Veranda you can walk to the historic fort, the delightful public library, and the highest-altitude Protestant church in Texas, Fort Davis Presbyterian. We loved the peaceful atmosphere there. We're definitely going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Lots of care and attention to detail in this well maintained property. The innkeeper is cordial and helpful and our room exactly as shown on the website -- comfortable bed with beautiful linens, large bathroom, mini-fridge, everything spotlessly clean. Cozy common living room for socializing, a delightful veranda and peaceful courtyards. Especially fun to sit outside at night and gaze at the incredible starry skies. I'm a city girl and have never seen anything like it! I agree with other reviewers that a highlight of the inn is the scrumptious breakfasts and gourmet coffee. A perfect start to the day. Would love to go back!

Room Tip: Excellent website provides pictures and detailed descriptions of rooms so you can pick what suits you best
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soxgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews