We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Tasty Indian Fare”

Himani Indian Cuisine
Ranked #24 of 109 Restaurants in Astoria
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Opened about 4 months ago
Restaurant details
Description: Opened about 4 months ago
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We enjoyed their curries a lot. For starters, the samosas were some of the best. We also had the Navarathan Koorma, Fish Tikka Masala (Tilapia) and Aloo Saag…very tasty. The service was cordial, but only marginally responsive. The prices were reasonable. Despite the iffy & well-intended service, the food & costs were well worth it. We will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kailua711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Sometimes family run restaurants bask in the glory of the quality food they serve and let everything else that makes a good restaurant superb go by the wayside. This is my first visit here so hopefully what we experienced is just an anomoly. I will venture again but well prepared for the 70 minute wait for vegetarian food in a restaurant that was only 25% occupied.

They pride in the fact that their food is made from scratch. I realized what scratch meant to them after a visit. Food is great, but then anything after a 70 or so minute wait better taste good. Service and demeanor of serving owner left much to be desired.
They have a great place in a prime location and likely a good chef, but my regret is I did not leave the place happy with the experience. We had garlic and plain naans, palak paneer and bhindi masala. Rice and the vegetables were served after 70 minutes, naans came 10 minutes later and pooris another 10 minutes after that. Mind you, there were only 4 couples and a family that were dining at that time. So much potential, so little effort.

2  Thank Sashi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We love Indian food and we're quite "picky" about finding real AUTHENTIC Indian food. We moved to the Oregon coast about 2 years ago and after spotting these folks at the Sunday Market (in the food booth area) in downtown Astoria, we decided to go to their restaurant for lunch. The first word that comes to mind is UNBELIEVABLE! Everything was delicious and very authentic to the culture (not Americanized). We've been coming back about 4-6 times a month ever since, as I find myself craving naan, chicken tika and the curry chicken! Try the lunch buffet ~ it's a real treat and you can sample so many dishes by doing that instead of just one item off the menu. But I'll warn you, you'll quickly choose a favorite and crave it regularly ~ we did! This is a DON'T MISS place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MommaVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Stopped in to try the lunch buffet. It had a nice variety. At least a half a dozen items I have never seen before... even on a menu. They had these crispy onion and vegetable crisps that I had a hard time to stop eating... Great chai ice tea too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ECaldeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

The lunch buffet was very good and some of the buffet choices were unique. The price was reasonable, but the setting is a little old.

Thank baliArlington_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himani Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Himani Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing