We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood ROCKED!...Desert flopped...”
Review of Mo's

Mo's
Ranked #33 of 110 Restaurants in Astoria
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 18
Description: Mo's Astoria is located in the recently renovated Englund Marine building overlooking the Columbia River. Our restaurant boasts traditional seafood favorites and of course our world-famous clam chowder. Astoria is home to our new state of the art chowder production facility that is open for public viewing. At Mo's, we believe in creating a tradition of family dining and hope to exceed the expectat
Restaurant details
Description: Mo's Astoria is located in the recently renovated Englund Marine building overlooking the Columbia River. Our restaurant boasts traditional seafood favorites and of course our world-famous clam chowder. Astoria is home to our new state of the art chowder production facility that is open for public viewing. At Mo's, we believe in creating a tradition of family dining and hope to exceed the expectat
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Found the place somewhat by accident...
Historical...a little eclectic...not only a restaurant but you walk through a delightful gift shop on your way into and out of the place.
Waiter was awesome...great personality without being overbearing.
My wife and I ended up ordering the Chowder... the grilled Halibut Sandwich and the Fish and chips. THEY. WERE. BOMB!! You guys will LOVE any one of these choices!
Only disappointment...the deserts! We ordered a slice of peach and berry cobbler to go. Got back to the hotel...took one bite...threw the rest out. Awful crust...thick...coarse...my wife got 3 peach slices in all...the berry filling tasted store bought. Horrible! Not worth 4.95 a slice...
Fill up on dinner...then get your dessert down the street at the Dairy Queen!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank TheWide-eyedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley B, Public Relations Manager at Mo's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

So sorry to see you were disappointed in the dessert. Please feel free to reach out to me at npc@moschowder.com and we can talk more.

Thanks!
RILEY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

So we didn’t do our homework and ended up at Mo’s. The bouillabaisse was a little odd. Normally, bouillabaisse does have cheese or mushrooms. That said the seafood and the seasoning/flavor of the sauce was good.

The Oregon oysters were huge. They were fresh and local, so good. I tend to prefer briny, more flavorful oysters typical of Massachusetts, Prince Edward Islands or New Brunswick...

The staff like every one in Oregon was very polite. You hear about Minnesota nice but Oregonians really are nice. The hostess was a wonder. She seated us, bused and cleaned the tables, and took our payment at the register. She’s a whirlwind of activity. Between the hostess and the seals in the water just outside the restaurant, there is plenty of entertainment.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank gregoryf482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley B, Public Relations Manager at Mo's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us some great feedback!! We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

We were told by another traveler to try Mo’s at the airport. While driving through Astoria we saw the sign and decided to stop and try it. Everything we had was amazing. Get the clam chowder and Mario berry cobbler.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 727JamieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley B, Public Relations Manager at Mo's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Awesome thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

Service was attentive, clam chowder was REALLY good, fish and chips had a distinct vinegar taste that ruined my meal. My friend had fish taco, poorly done and only had coleslaw as condiment. View was good even though it was raining. I am sorry I can't give them a higher rating as service was so attentive

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ginajamesmanagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley B, Public Relations Manager at Mo's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

I am so sorry to see this. Please feel free to reach out to me at npc@moschowder.com and we can talk more about your time at Mo's!


Thanks,
Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Service was good and attentive - a little uneducated on what was available, but quick and responsive. Food was generally good to great, but it is likely that the raw oysters were either too early in the season or in the cooler too long.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley B, Public Relations Manager at Mo's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

I am so sorry to hear this. Please feel free to reach out to me at npc@moschowder.com
and we can talk more about your time at Mo's!!


Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mo's also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mo's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing