We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood on the intercostal”

Singleton's Seafood Shack
Ranked #53 of 2,306 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Rustic restaurant right on the water. Great seafood and cold beer! Great view of the intercostal and the ferry. Nice place to kick back and relax!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Saw this on DDD.......fully expected a great treat!!. It is a shack, not always bad but expected food to be way above the ordinary. Very disappointed in clam chowder, Very salty no real taste, did have clams. Shrimp burger was one of worse I have ever eaten. Husbands deviled crab were burnt beyond recognition and way to much filler, ie bread. Glad we tried it but won't be back. Guy F. On DDD WAS WRONG.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The food was edible and ok but not great. The place is dirty and stinky inside. Do not use the bathroom unless you have a hazmat suit with you. The other seafood restaurant and market nearby is much better!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BeachLover2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Tasty seafood and friendly staff who were happy to accommodate dietary restrictions and special requests. Don’t skip this place.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank momof2inga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Visited Singleton's again on our yearly trip to Jacksonville, doesn't seem like much has changed, still an oyster bar type place, all paper utensils and plates, good amount of food although it is pricey, but we had no complaints with the portions/pricing. We sat out on the deck by the water which we really enjoyed!!! Our complaints were with the actual taste of the food, which was best described as bland, with no taste. We have eaten here numerous times and this is the first time that it appeared as though the food was not seasoned at all, which was very noticeable. In addition, the place did look dirtier than normal, and the Men's bathroom looked like a toxic waste site. Sad, because our entire family really loved this place, but it appears to be going downhill. There are other seafood options in this area which are highly rated, and we will be visiting them next time.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank BAFinnerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Singleton's Seafood Shack also viewed

 

Been to Singleton's Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing