We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Family trip with dogs

We enjoyed our time there,mostly walking around,checking out the old plantation,very enjoyable... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Kristin J
via mobile
The Plantation Life in North Florida

This place is a real North Florida cotton pantation. Very educational about the farming, slavery... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
cliffhill
,
Jacksonville, Florida
Read all 618 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Jacksonville
from US$ 30.00
More Info
from US$ 30.00
More Info
from US$ 35.00
More Info
from US$ 29.96
More Info
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
311
214
50
13
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
214
50
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slave quarters the main house audio tour dirt road big house sugar cane oyster shells beautiful drive american history park ranger sea island semi circle grounds are well maintained ribault club step back in time park service visitor center
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We enjoyed our time there,mostly walking around,checking out the old plantation,very enjoyable, also very close to the Ferry and Mayport.

Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is a real North Florida cotton pantation. Very educational about the farming, slavery and society of the area. The history of the place changing governments is interesting.

Thank cliffhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Because I was with unruly children, I did not see the slave quarters, but had reserved a tour of the plantation house, which I found fascinating. The ranger did a great job and I found the loom from the time period in question to be especially interesting. When I have the opportunity I will return to see the rest of this historic site. No fees were charged.

Thank 2Starbirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have visited this site more then once. It is worth the drive. It is Free and offers some good insight into the past living experiences of those who lived & worked the Plantation. When Exploring the property you may run into some wild life too!

1  Thank hoss4twa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Breatifully maintained old Florida Plantation. The main house is beautiful. Many of the slave quarters are in good condition. The ones that aren't were cut up by a previous plantation owner to build a cottage for his daughter. The staff is helpful, and friendly.

Thank badge2283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The ride up the gravel road was rough and dusty, but worth the ride......as you come up the road, you take the left fork to the visitor venter. This plantation is a national park.....the plantation house is under preservation.....the house is only open an weekends, and a tour is available at 11 am and 3 pm with reservations only.
We walked the property an was impress with the grounds....well kept and lots of places to sit and watch the boat traffic.
The history about the owners of the plantation was very interesting. This is certainly a worthwhile trip.

1  Thank Winnebago2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Every citizen of the United States should educate themselves about the horrors of slavery. This plantation has a rich history with tours guides are extremely knowledgable. The grounds are well maintained and the exhibits are enlightening.

1  Thank JoshK2089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We had 2 sets of guests in fall 2017, pre and post hurricane and took out of town/out of country visitors. One of the days was a re enactment so even more history and interest. The water views are beautiful, the marshes, trees etc are beautiful. The history needs to be told and the viewer can hold the facts and hopefully be changed for good by the experience. Revisited when looking at the nearby property for a wedding venue.

1  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

A bit of history in Jax, nice place for a function, rustic with maybe a few too many bugs.
Fabulous location and phot op.

Thank adriancooper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful day for a stroll at Kingsley Plantation. The two mile dirt road to get there is the best way to put you back in time to the plantation days. Enjoy the journey. The plantation is beautiful and the audio tour really helps to put things into prospective. We always think of slave owners as being white. But Anna Kingsley was black. And yes she bought and sold slaves just as the white man did. We all know today that slavery is wrong. But in the 1800 it was a way of life for many on both sides. It’s a nice place to enjoy nature and learn some history. It’s hard to imagine this place as cleared farmland with today’s lush vegetation. Enjoy

Thank noweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews