We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (998)
Filter reviews
998 results
Traveller rating
516
303
128
36
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
303
128
36
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loyalty program jennie wade house great location within walking distance free breakfast breakfast sandwich room was clean sausage gravy in town place to stay waffles top floor street noise parking lot bike week late check cemetery hill
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 998 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Again we chose the 1863 Inn ... and again we were 100% satisfied!
My Mom, sister, niece and I snuck away for a girls weekend and it was so wonderful. We shopped and dined all within walking distance...super convenient.
The front desk was super friendly and professional. (Check in and out was a breeze) Room was very clean and comfy.
Breakfast was delicious...oh the waffles!
We have stayed here for many years and will continue to...they respect customer loyalty and we appreciate that!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gettysburg_Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

First we want to thank you for your loyalty. We appreciate it! And we want to thank you for the wonderful review. We work very hard to make sure that our guests are well taken care of and we love knowing that you and you were happy! We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for allowing us to be your "Gettysburg Address"!

Sincerely,
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The hotel has great location we stayed in the king bed room at back of hotel overlooking parking lot only street noise was a motorcycle that would not start but there is a large gap when door is shut and locked. We were glad the had a good lock. Room was big bathroom also very large. The hotel is dated but very clean. Room had small fridge and desk with 2 chairs and plenty of plugs for charging things. The free breakfast was delicious and had several nice areas to sit and eat. The coffee in the lobby was also great.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angel o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We are glad to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable. Our staff does a great job at keeping the property clean and everything in good working order. We are glad that you noticed their hard work. Thank you for the review. Please come back to see us again.

Sincerely,
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and our two kids and I stayed here. The staff are really polite. We are members of there loyalty program and we love it here. Clean and comfortable. The breakfast is great. This is the only hotel we will ever stay in when coming to Gettysburg.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Alyssa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your visits with us! Our staff is great and they work very hard to make sure that each guest is happy from check in to check out. Thank you for the wonderful review and for your loyalty! We hope tp see you soon. It would be our pleasure,

Sincerely,
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

The location of this hotel is very convenient to sights in Gettysburg. Easy to walk to shops and restaurants. As far as friendly staff-not so much. We had to wait at the front counter for someone to show up to check us in (10 pm arrival). After checking in we went to our room in the Anex and settled in. The room was your basic older motel accommodation. Bed had very thin blanket and spare in closet. Not very comfortable, nor warm. Walls in the Anex are paper thin, we could hear neighbors full broadcast of CNN nightly news, both evenings we stayed. Complained to front desk and complaints were greeted second night very rudely by John the night desk clerk. Do not stay here if you want a good night's sleep. I felt like I was being chastised for someone else's rudeness at playing their tv loudly. I have traveled extensively and understand muffled noise through a hotel room wall; however we could hear every detail of tv shows and guests next to us conversation until 1:30 in the morning.

Room tip: Perhaps rooms in main building are better than Anex-do not stay there.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 279gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

In reviewing the security video we did see that you did have to wait until our night auditor came back from checking the lobby level doors to make sure they were secure. You actually were in the lobby for approximately 3 minutes which is not an unacceptable time to wait. Our night auditor called the room next to your room and there was no answer. He went and stood outside of the room and heard nothing. When you approached him he advised you that he would be calling the next room on the guests cell phone to see if they would answer, which they did. The guest in the next room said that he was sorry and turned the TV down even though it could not be heard from the hallway. Our night auditor also offered to move you which you declined. The guest in the next room really could not understand what the problem was and why you were banging on the wall after he had turned his TV down as he said he would. Our night auditor did everything he could to address your concerns but was a bit confused because he really had no idea what you were hearing. He was not rude and in no way did he make light of the situation. He would have been happy to move you to another room but you did not want to move. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay and we do everything we can to make sure that our guests are taken care of.

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Hotel is vey conveniently located and close to many activities from skiing and snow tubing, to touring battle fields. Staff is great very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The offer a great breakfast every morning too.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and found everything to your liking. We have a wonderful staff here and they do their best to make sure that every guest has a great visit.

Please come back and see us again. It would be our pleasure.

Sincerely,
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews