We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveller rating
501
300
126
36
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
300
126
36
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloyalty programjennie wade housegreat locationwithin walking distancefree breakfastbreakfast sandwichroom was cleansausage gravyplace to stayin townwafflestop floorstreet noiselate checkparking lotbike weekcemetery hill
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 976 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

This is a well run, organized hotel.
Although it may not have offered us opulent 5 star extras, we got everything we hoped for during our weekend Gettysburg getaway.
The off season rates are quite reasonable.The wonderfully convenient location allowed us to leave the car in their lot and walk to a number of points of interest. We were kindly given permission to leave our car there even after checkout
.Our quiet,spacious and clean room faced the parking lot so we were oblivious to any street noise that other reviewers have mentioned.
Breakfast was tasty and the offerings plentiful and varied.
The front desk staff was helpful and accommodating. In fact, my 8 AM wake up call was actually made by a friendly human voice rather than a machine.
My only gripe is that the water in our room never became hot. Warm baths do the job too but in January, a hot bath feels so much nicer.
Nevertheless, we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

We are glad that you were pleased with your room and the staff at the hotel. It sounds as if everything was to your liking with the exception of the hot water. In checking our records we found no mention of the problem. I do apologize for the issue. Please don't hesitate to bring any such problem to our attention. We would have been happy to do what we could to solve it for you. We hope that you will come back to see us again. It would be our pleasure!

Sincerely,
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

The decor in the common areas is fantastic. The room was clean and comfortable. The service was excellent and the breakfast was good. The only thing we didn't like was the noise from the street. Our room was in the front of the hotel near the intersection. The noise was kind of loud on Saturday night. I'm sure the back of the hotel, or a room near the other end (away from the intersection) would have been quieter. Definitely not a deal breaker. The location is near all of the major sites and shops in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back side of the hotel to avoid noise from the street if you are bothered by this. The view is better from the front.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your visit. We are glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful and your room clean and comfortable. We do apologize for the noise from the street. Unfortunately we cannot control the noise or the traffic. When you return please make sure that you request a room in the back of the hotel. It is much more peaceful in the back-not as good of a view but quiet. We hope to see you soon. Thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

When in Gettysburg, I prefer to stay at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg and have never been disappointed, including my stay from 12/29/17 - 1/2/18. The staff is knowledgeable and very friendly and will do their best to make your stay comfortable. I visit Gettysburg multiple times per year for have for the past 10 years or so and have chosen to make this “my hotel.” If you are a frequent visitor, join the loyalty program as it is wonderful. The rooms have been updated and are clean and very comfortable. The hotel is located within walking distance to the center of town and the businesses on Steinwher Avenue. The local “trolly” also stops outside of the hotel. The free breakfast has many, many choices and is very filling. Again, another great stay!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank gbglvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

We are so glad to hear that you enjoy your visits with us! We have a wonderful crew and they work so hard to make sure that everyone has a wonderful time when they come to see us. We thank you for your loyalty and hope to see you soon. Happy New Year and we appreciate the wonderful review!

Sincerely,
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Easy walking access to historic downtown of Gettysburg and to several bars and restaurants and a short drive to the battlefield and the main museums. Classic motel style but with several floors and very clean.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AndyW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

Although I have been to Gettysburg a few times; this is the first time that I stayed here, and I think that I will stick with it on all my future visits. It is a wonderful and clean place, which is centrally located between the battlefields and the shops in town. The rates are very reasonable, and there is even a discount rewards program available. The free breakfast is the best ever, and they even have recycling bins. It is quaint, and spacious; and the bathrooms are beautiful! Tracy, Maria, Sara, and the rest of the staff were friendly and professional. My pet rabbit, Narvik; enjoyed his stay here too. I will definitely be back, and you should stay here too! Two rabbit ears up!!
(\ (\
( -.-)
o_(")(")

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

We are glad to hear that you were happy with your visit and found everything to your liking. We have a wonderful staff here and they work very hard to make sure that each guest receives a clean, comfortable room with a smile to go with it! Please come back and see us again and make sure your bring your furry friend with you! We do love our fur babies!! Thank you for the great review. We appreciate it!

Thank you!
Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews