We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great change from the old Holiday Inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Hotel is in the heart of Gettysburg, with all the stores and resturants within walking distance. Had a nice room on the 2nd Flr -Front. Check in was a breeze with the friendly staff. The room was very clean with plenty of room. Bathroom is very spacious. Plenty of on site parking. Nice pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room; stay away from the ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guardrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. When we dropped the Holiday Inn franchise we realized that there may be some folks that would be a bit hesitant to stay at a "no name" property. We still offer all the extras that we did when we were a Holiday Inn plus more. We now provide our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast and we have a program for repeat customers that saves a bundle! Our guests are happy and that makes the staff happy! We hope that you will continue to visit with us. Next year there will be many exciting events planned for Gettysburg's 150th Anniversary celebration. Hope to see you then!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

710 - 714 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed in one of the king feature rooms on June 9 and chose this hotel for the price and location (our upgraded room in this hotel cost less than most of the standard rooms in other hotels). PROS: The staff was friendly and accommodated our early check-in and late check-out without any issues. We enjoyed the hotel pool and spent a few hours there each day we stayed; it was very well maintained with plenty of chairs. The location is the best part of the hotel, we walked to the Dobbin House Tavern, the bars and shops in the center of town, and did a ghost tour of the Jennie Wade house (next door to this hotel). The king feature room was very large, with a shower and whirlpool tub. Although we saw one bug on the bed, the room was very clean. The complimentary breakfast was more than sufficient. CONS: We did notice a slight smell but got used to it; it would have been nice to have a few complimentary bottles of water; the toiletries were sparse (shampoo, no conditioner); walls were thin and we were awakened by a TV at 6am. Also, the ice machine in the annex building was broken so it was a little inconvenient to keep walking to the other building for ice or vending machines. None of these were big issues, and I would consider staying here again if we returned to Gettysburg.

The worse part of our trip occurred as we were leaving and was no fault of the hotel. As we sat at the pool prior to checking out, we heard a dog barking from what sounded like the parking lot, but we couldn't find it. Over an hour later (in 90+ degree heat), we checked out and loaded up our car, then heard a dog whining in a nearby car... as it began to bark at us, we realized it was the one we heard earlier. One window was cracked less than an inch and the dog was frothing at the mouth (sign of heat stroke). I immediately went back in and informed the girl at the desk, who said she would look into it. About 10 minutes later the owner of the dog came out, blew us off when we tried to tell him we were concerned about the dog, opened the car door and waited for us to leave. It seemed likely he was just going to wait till we left and leave the dog again. I assume the hotel called him and that's the only reason he came back out. So, I am glad that the hotel staff did contact him about it; however, the whole situation put a big damper on our trip. Other than this experience, our stay was very pleasant and the hotel met my expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FNB354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your visit with us. We were glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for issues you encountered. I have no idea what the smell may have been. Our housekeepers do an excellent job cleaning so I am not sure what that odor could have been? Unfortunately we had some problems with water bugs. We have them under control now but when we had a very rainy spell they seemed to love us! The shampoo that we put in the rooms has conditioner in it. It's one less plastic bottle for the land fills. I certainly hope that your room had all the other goodies that we put in each room-body lotion-make up remover-shoe shine wipes. I am so sorry about the ice machine. We had to order a part and it is fixed now. I am very upset about the dog! We love our furry friends and do not allow people to leave them in the car! There is a notice in each pet friendly room advising our guests of this. Some people have no common sense. We have called the police in the past for such incidents. I am truly sorry that it put a damper on your visit. I do hope that you will stop to see us if you are back this way. It would be our pleasure. Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

this hotel is right in the shopping and restaurant area. You can walk to almost everything from here. Room were great. A little noisey in the front rooms, so request a room in the back by the pool. Breakfast is included and was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit. The 1863 inn has one of the best locations in town. Driving can be a bit frustrating so it's always a plus to be able to just park the car and walk. We provide our guests with a clean comfortable room at a resonable rate. Our Free "Rise and Shine" breakfast seems to be a big hit. We offer a very nice selection of hot and cold items. The town is getting ready for the big 150th Anniversary of the battle next year. There will be many exciting events. We hope you will be able to join us. Thank you again for the review. Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I have been planning a trip to Gettysburg for the past year or so. When deciding on a place to stay, I was very selective in what I wanted. It had to be close to attractions, reasonably priced and accepted pets. I must say this hotel more than met our needs. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were nice and clean and quite comfortable. Even the towels were soft. Location is great and truly is within walking distance to most attractions. My only small complaint is that we were on the 5th floor with 2 dogs and that made getting downstairs a little difficult at times but all in all, it was a wonderful trip and I do recommend this hotel as a great place to stay. We plan on coming back next year for the 150th anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. The location of the hotel is great-just park and walk. And we love our "furry" friends! I do apologize for the location of the rooms. For future reference it may be helpful to call us and request a room on a lower floor if you are bringing puppies with you. We will try our best to assign a room that is as close to the ground level as possible. Thank you again for the kind words. I will let the staff know that you were pleased. They love to hear that they are making our guests happy! We hope to see you next year! Have a wonderful Summer.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed two nights at the inn. The hotel was in a good location and was clean, but very old. Rooms were fairly small and beds were horrible. Only have doubles. I didn't really understand the star ratings as this hotel is supposed to be a 3 star and the comfort suites, a much newer up to date building is rated a 2 star. If you don't mind old outdated buildings then this hotel is for you!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Ernie_Bert1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you for your review on your recent visit with us. I am not sure how you may have made your reservation. We certainly do have rooms with king size beds. Perhaps we were sold out of those rooms when you booked. In fact, we have 2 very large rooms with a king size bed and a huge bathroom that has a whirlpool tub and a floor to ceiling tiled shower. Our rooms with 2 double beds are actually a bit on the large size compared to most. You are correct when you say the building is not new. However, our rooms are clean and well appointed. We offer all the goodies of the bigger, newer hotels. The rating on a hotel is not based on the age, It is based on the cleanliness and what the hotel offers it's guests. You can stay at a brand new property and have a miserable experience. We provide a clean, comfortable room at a resonable rate with the best location in town. Our staff does a wonderful job. I do apologize if you were unhappy with the beds in your room. I am not sure if you mean the mattress or the fact that you had a room with 2 beds. It is very difficult to please everyone when it comes to mattress preference. We would have been happy to move to you to a room with a new mattress-just replaced this past April- but we were unaware of an issue. Our goal is to make sure that every guest has a wonderful experience. I do hope that you will consider us for any future visits to Gettysburg. Thank you again for the review. We use this information to improve our service. Have a great Summer!!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.8 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,161 reviews
3.9 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,637 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
392 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
348 reviews
0.1 km away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#18 of 28 in Gettysburg
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: ₹ 4,534 - ₹ 11,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing