We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncle al (bike weekend)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

1 stay each year (2009,10,&11). Only disapointment was to find the lounge was discontinued shortly after our "09" stay. Very close to other bars, but not just downstairs. Otherwise top notch in my book. CLEAN,LOCATION,POOL,FREE BREAKFAST (not just any continental),PARKING, INTERNET& EXCELLENT STAFF . In the heart of it all,walk to anything you want or need. Maybe not the cheapest in town, but a very good value. Considered checking other lodging. But we, 3 other couples, my wife & I will be back in 2012. A SURE GOODTIME IS NOT WORTH THE RISK

Room Tip: I like front streetside rooms.(you do hear traffic) The rear parking side is much quieter, south end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit! We are sorry that you were disappointed to find that we had closed our lounge. With so many other bars in the area we were not that busy. We decided to close the lounge and turn that area into our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast area. It seems to be a big hit. The staff at our hotel is very helpful and take pride in their jobs and this property. They love to hear that they helped make a guests stay an enjoyable one! Your comments will be shared with all staff members. We appreciate the kind words! We look forward to your next visit! When you come back please ask about our "Loyalty" Program for repeat guests! Great savings! We will see you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 748 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

Another great weekend in Gettysburg at the 1863 Inn. There are so many reasons why we love this place so much...the friendly staff from front desk to housekeeping, the rooms and grounds are immaculate and the location is perfect. We always feel so comfortable at the 1863. The staff is so accommodating and helpful. When we travel with our dog, there is always a dog treat left in the room for him and everyone remembers his name, very sweet! We love the location, during the busy months you can park your car and walk to many attractions and restaurants without having to search for a parking space as its walking distance to East Cemetary Hill, restaurants, shops, ghost tours and the Jennie Wade House is right there...so much fun. The rooms are so clean (I mean really clean!) and the new refrigerators are a nice touch. The beds are sooo comfy. We have been staying here for years and always notice how the 1863 Inn is always upgrading the rooms. We would never stay anywhere else, its our home away from home. Highly recommended for the rooms, staff, location and the rate which is always very reasonable. Thanks Again for your Hospitality..Rudy & Kathleen

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LITraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you so very much for the wonderful comments! We are so happy that you enjoy your visits with us. We realize that there are many lodging options available in Gettysburg. We also realize that there are many visitors that may be hesitant to stay at a hotel that is not part of a franchise-chain. We know how important it is to "keep up" with the bigger name brand properties therefore we are always upgrading and adding extra "goodies" to our rooms. We take pride in this hotel and we think that our visitors notice .We appreciate the review! It helps us in many ways-from letting other folks know that we are doing a good job to letting us know where we have to improve. Again-thank you so much for taking time to post the review. We look forward to your next visit! Please tell your puppy that we will have the treats ready! Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Sincerely and with much appreciation,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

i stayed here over night , nice hotel , had a king room with fridge in it , room and bathroom were clean , coffee in room plus coffee , tea and cocoa in the lobby . staff was friendly , breakfast was good for being free for guests , this place is in a great location , next to the jenny wade house , close to east cemetary hill of battlefield and cemetary . steinwher ave is there too alot of small shops and resturants ! joined the loyalty club for $2 and got $5 off my room stay and 30% off future visits. i will be back to stay here again !

Room Tip: Great Location to walk to places !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank limoman0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit! We have a wonderful staff. They take pride in this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location can't be beat! We have had very good comments about the Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast. Our guests love it! We were very happy to hear that you signed up for our "Loyalty" Program! It it a great way to save money on every stay with us! We look forward to your next visit! Happy Holidays and thank you again for the review!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Great location near Cemetery Ridge & the National Military Park & Visitor Center.

Plenty of free parking. Rooms are entered from outside like a motel. Seems like it was built in the 1960s or 70s, but it is in good condition & the rooms are modern & clean. While a good continental breakfast was included, I would have preferred a refrigerator & microwave in the room. I don't like to eat out 2-3 times a day while traveling.

It is a good place to stay, but next time I would try to find a place with a more civil war period look & feel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us.You are correct-the hotel is a bit older then some but it is well maintained. Every year in our off season we do renovations. This winter we will re-do 25 rooms. We are very excited about this project! And part of that project is to put refrigerators in the rest of our rooms. There are rooms with microwaves in now-they are our King Feature rooms. We also have a microwave in our lobby area for guests use along with free coffee and tea 24 hours a day. We are glad to see that your room was clean and comfortable. That is our goal here. Our staff works very hard to make sure that each guest enjoys their visit. We hope you will stop to see us agin if you are back in the area. It would be our pleasure. Have a wondeful Holiday Season.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Spent Veteran's Day weekend at this hotel. The previous reviews of this hotel led me to it. Location can't be beat. It's in the center of everything. An easy walk to downtown Gettysburg. It is also close to many good restaurants so one can park their car in the hotel parking lot and walk to where you want to go.The Battlefield is just a half mile down the street.The hotel is immaculate, very well kept, and the morning breakfast features many choices.The lobby features a nice sitting area with a gas fireplace.
We will certainly visit this hotel again.Also for travelers that travel with a pet as we do, they are welcomed also for a nominal fee. it's a pleasure to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: People complained of street noise if staying in a front room. We faced the rear of the building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeabreezeNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

We certainly appreciate your review! Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your visit. You are correct-the location of the hotel is great for those that do not want to fight the traffic and pay the meters! Most of the major attractions are within walking distance. The National Visitors Center is a short drive from the hotel. The downtown area is just 5 blocks away-a nice walk. We are very proud of this hotel and our staff. We all work very hard to make sure that each guest has wonderful stay. Our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is a great way to start your day offering a good selection of hot and cold items. It really does seem to be a big hit with our guests. We hope that you will visit us again. On your next stay you may want to ask about our "Loyalty" program for repeat guests! Great savings! Thank you again for your review! Have a wonderful Holiday Season and we will see you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.8 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,114 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.9 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
296 reviews
4.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: ₹ 5,260 - ₹ 10,586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing