We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveller rating
501
299
126
36
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
299
126
36
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloyalty programjennie wade housegreat locationwithin walking distancefree breakfastbreakfast sandwichroom was cleansausage gravyplace to stayin townwafflestop floorstreet noiselate checkparking lotbike weekcemetery hill
Filter
Updating list...
815 - 820 of 975 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Another great weekend in Gettysburg at the 1863 Inn. There are so many reasons why we love this place so much...the friendly staff from front desk to housekeeping, the rooms and grounds are immaculate and the location is perfect. We always feel so comfortable at the 1863. The staff is so accommodating and helpful. When we travel with our dog, there is always a dog treat left in the room for him and everyone remembers his name, very sweet! We love the location, during the busy months you can park your car and walk to many attractions and restaurants without having to search for a parking space as its walking distance to East Cemetary Hill, restaurants, shops, ghost tours and the Jennie Wade House is right there...so much fun. The rooms are so clean (I mean really clean!) and the new refrigerators are a nice touch. The beds are sooo comfy. We have been staying here for years and always notice how the 1863 Inn is always upgrading the rooms. We would never stay anywhere else, its our home away from home. Highly recommended for the rooms, staff, location and the rate which is always very reasonable. Thanks Again for your Hospitality..Rudy & Kathleen

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LITraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you so very much for the wonderful comments! We are so happy that you enjoy your visits with us. We realize that there are many lodging options available in Gettysburg. We also realize that there are many visitors that may be hesitant to stay at a hotel that is not part of a franchise-chain. We know how important it is to "keep up" with the bigger name brand properties therefore we are always upgrading and adding extra "goodies" to our rooms. We take pride in this hotel and we think that our visitors notice .We appreciate the review! It helps us in many ways-from letting other folks know that we are doing a good job to letting us know where we have to improve. Again-thank you so much for taking time to post the review. We look forward to your next visit! Please tell your puppy that we will have the treats ready! Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Sincerely and with much appreciation,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

i stayed here over night , nice hotel , had a king room with fridge in it , room and bathroom were clean , coffee in room plus coffee , tea and cocoa in the lobby . staff was friendly , breakfast was good for being free for guests , this place is in a great location , next to the jenny wade house , close to east cemetary hill of battlefield and cemetary . steinwher ave is there too alot of small shops and resturants ! joined the loyalty club for $2 and got $5 off my room stay and 30% off future visits. i will be back to stay here again !

Room Tip: Great Location to walk to places !
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank limoman0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit! We have a wonderful staff. They take pride in this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location can't be beat! We have had very good comments about the Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast. Our guests love it! We were very happy to hear that you signed up for our "Loyalty" Program! It it a great way to save money on every stay with us! We look forward to your next visit! Happy Holidays and thank you again for the review!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Great location near Cemetery Ridge & the National Military Park & Visitor Center.

Plenty of free parking. Rooms are entered from outside like a motel. Seems like it was built in the 1960s or 70s, but it is in good condition & the rooms are modern & clean. While a good continental breakfast was included, I would have preferred a refrigerator & microwave in the room. I don't like to eat out 2-3 times a day while traveling.

It is a good place to stay, but next time I would try to find a place with a more civil war period look & feel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us.You are correct-the hotel is a bit older then some but it is well maintained. Every year in our off season we do renovations. This winter we will re-do 25 rooms. We are very excited about this project! And part of that project is to put refrigerators in the rest of our rooms. There are rooms with microwaves in now-they are our King Feature rooms. We also have a microwave in our lobby area for guests use along with free coffee and tea 24 hours a day. We are glad to see that your room was clean and comfortable. That is our goal here. Our staff works very hard to make sure that each guest enjoys their visit. We hope you will stop to see us agin if you are back in the area. It would be our pleasure. Have a wondeful Holiday Season.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Spent Veteran's Day weekend at this hotel. The previous reviews of this hotel led me to it. Location can't be beat. It's in the center of everything. An easy walk to downtown Gettysburg. It is also close to many good restaurants so one can park their car in the hotel parking lot and walk to where you want to go.The Battlefield is just a half mile down the street.The hotel is immaculate, very well kept, and the morning breakfast features many choices.The lobby features a nice sitting area with a gas fireplace.
We will certainly visit this hotel again.Also for travelers that travel with a pet as we do, they are welcomed also for a nominal fee. it's a pleasure to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: People complained of street noise if staying in a front room. We faced the rear of the building and it was very quite.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeabreezeNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

We certainly appreciate your review! Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your visit. You are correct-the location of the hotel is great for those that do not want to fight the traffic and pay the meters! Most of the major attractions are within walking distance. The National Visitors Center is a short drive from the hotel. The downtown area is just 5 blocks away-a nice walk. We are very proud of this hotel and our staff. We all work very hard to make sure that each guest has wonderful stay. Our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is a great way to start your day offering a good selection of hot and cold items. It really does seem to be a big hit with our guests. We hope that you will visit us again. On your next stay you may want to ask about our "Loyalty" program for repeat guests! Great savings! Thank you again for your review! Have a wonderful Holiday Season and we will see you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location, I would stay there again. Clean Friendly and free parking in the main part of two awesome

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

Thank you for the review on your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed that stay. The location of our hotel is great! So easy to park the car and walk to many of the attractions. There are also many dining options within walking distance to the hotel. We offer our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast which has a wonderful selection of both hot and cold items. Our goal at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg is to provide a clean, comfortable room to all our visitors. It is always nice to hear that we have met that goal. We hope that you will visit us in the future. There are many events being planned for the 150th celebration in 2013! It will be a very exciting time here in our beautiful little town! Hope you can make it!! Have a wonderful Holiday Season.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews