We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are right there!”
Review of The Doubleday Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Doubleday Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You are right there!”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Although the house itself is not the most historic B&B in Gettyburg, everything else about it more than makes up for that. You are located RIGHT ON the battlefield with marvelous scenery. The food was great and accommodations, cavernous. The owners were an INVALUABLE fountain of knowledge about the area, the history, restaurants, touring, visitor center, etc!! And Molly is the sweetest dog ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FourCornersOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    21
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
114
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This was our second stay. The reason we came back was - our first stay. Christine and Todd are wonderful hosts. Breakfasts were delicious and met our low-carb requirements to perfection. They were able to recommend great restaurants and gave us tips on what to order. Todd was able to provide us with a great deal of information on the battle of Gettysburg.
The location is so peaceful, right on the Oak Ridge battlefield. It was very relaxing to sit outside with a hot cup of coffee and reflect on the beauty of it all. When I awoke in the morning, with my head still on the pillow, I could see the batllefield. You just can't do that downtown.
Molly, the resident golden retriever, happily accepts all of the love you can pour onto her. She is a doll.
Our tour of the battefield was greatly enhanced by the loan of the CD and field guide. Be sure to ask when you come.
As soon as we got home, we made another booking. We just can't stay away. We are truly hooked.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are named after Conderate officers, while those on the north side are named...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We greatly enjoyed our return visit to the Doubleday. Todd and Christine are excellent hosts, with an assist from Molly. Each room in the inn is unique and we have stayed in four different rooms thus far. The Doubleday experience includes an awesome location on Oak Ridge(part of the first day's battlefield), excellent rooms and breakfasts, friendly and helpful hosts, and the opportunity play with Molly(golden retriever).

Room Tip: Several good choices, research the view, room size, and tub/shower options on the Doubleday's we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTBrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Henrietta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Who doesn't want to wake up on the flower laden majestic battlefield of Gettysburg? Within sight of the Eternal Flame memorial, this cozy home is beautiful, clean and welcoming. The breakfast is wonderful and the owners are very accommodating. The shelves are filled with books to red, there is a public laptop & printer, the battlefield driving tour CD and map is available for free. There is a refrigerator, water, tea, coffee, and cookies available during the day. Several of the rooms have "football field" size bathrooms. The view is amazing and a morning or evening walk is just so delightful. I've stayed here twice and plan to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedzingerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have been staying annually at the Doubleday Inn for at least 3 years now. The owners (Christine and Todd) are wonderfully helpful (they do just about everything, from making restaurant reservations, loaning guests camp stools to use on battlefield walks, to arranging specialty battlefield tours). I love their breakfasts and those yummy, freshly baked cookies in the evenings. The Doubleday is wonderfully quiet and away from all of the noise and parking problems in the main part of town. No, the Doubleday Inn does not have TVs and radios in each room, but has the much more attractive advantage of allowing you to converse with your fellow guests about Gettysburg and various aspects of Gettysburg (not only about the battle/Civil War, but some very interesting hobbies, including ghosthunting, architecture, geology, and strange restaurant experiences [fellow guests told us about eating a combination lunch of pizza and Chinese food]). I honestly can't see staying anywhere else when in Pennsylvania, let alone on a visit to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRI-Sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.4 km away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
369 reviews
2.5 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.2 km away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,507 reviews
2.1 km away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
5.3 km away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doubleday Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doubleday Inn

Property: The Doubleday Inn
Address: 104 Doubleday Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8519
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,664
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Gettysburg Bed and Breakfast located directly on the National Battlefield! You are literally "up above it all" here on Oak Ridge, overlooking both the Battlefield and the town of Gettysburg. With just 9 rooms and onsite owner/innkeepers, we offer a TRUE B&B experience with exceptional service and personalized attention. Offering gracious accommodations to discerning travelers for over 20 years, we invite you to come see for yourself what all the buzz is about! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Doubleday Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing