We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"average"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"average"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I visited the Brickhouse Inn in Gettysburg as a last minute, quickie, "need to get out of town" trip. I would rate it as average. The room was quaint and nice; the bed was VERY comfortable. The innkeepers were not overly friendly. The girl who greeted us was friendly and helpful, but the innkeepers kind of kept to themselves. We met a couple at breakfast and sat talking for a bit after we were done eating. The innkeeper made us leave the dining room, because they had another influx of guests coming to eat breakfast after us. That was kind of offputting, but I guess that's how they do it. The area was nice, especially if you love history, like my husband. A few good restaurants in the area, as well. All in all, we were on the fence in terms of liking the B&B. Just kind of..average. Not bad, but didn't feel welcoming or take my breath away, like a lot of B&Bs do...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wsprague610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We regret that these guests found it 'off-putting' to to have to move from the breakfast table. To accommodate all our guests we currently have breakfast sittings at 8.30 and 9.30 a.m. Guests have about twenty minutes after the meal, but we then have to clean and re-set the tables. We ask lingering guests to continue their conversation with coffee in the parlors. This has never been a problem before, as guests realize that our B&B is a home with limited seating, not a restaurant.

We're sorry they did not find the innkeepers friendly. We do our best, as many previous reviews testify.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,439
    129
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
205
1,085
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Let me start off by saying WOW, what a clean place to stay. I don't think I've stayed at a hotel, motel, or inn that was as clean as our room. The furnishings were beautiful, the bathroom spotless, and the whole room just felt good. We stayed in the Illinois room and if you are sensitive to street noise, that would be the only drawback for you. We didn't mind hearing cars, and we were grateful for the great location. The walk was quick to Lincoln Square, and the inn was very close to the new Gettysburg Visitors Center. The breakfast was good (and hardy), the innkeepers and hostess were kind and informative, and the house was situated on a beautifully landscaped piece of property. We happily would have stayed more than 1 night. I highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moes2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonsboro, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Thank you Brian, Tessa, and Lee for an absolutely enchanting weekend. Our stay in the Delaware Room of the Welty House was delightful. The period furnishings and spotless accomodations were superb.
Breakfast was elegant as is the dining areas. It was the mostly relaxing atmosphere my wife and I have experienced in a long time.
I would encourage guests to take advantage of the numerous B&B association events promoted by the Brickhouse as well. Our stay on St. Patricks Day weekend began with a guided tour of the Wheatfield tracing the steps of the famous Irish Brigade followed by a grand Irish lunch at Dobbin House Tavern which included a wonderful musical performance by a period musician. These festivities were organized and promoted through the Brickhouse Inn providing a wonderful service to their clients. Thanks Again Brian & Tessa!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Brickhouse Inn. Brian and Tessa were excellent hosts. We enjoyed talking with them and getting to know them a bit. Breakfasts were ample and tasty. It's likely that we would stay here again. The inn is located near what we were interested in doing.

Room Tip: Select a room on the back side of the building away from the street if there is a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copiague, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We came to The Brickhouse Inn, for a quite getaway (honeymoon). We honestly didn't know what to expect, but we were completely thrilled! Brian and Tessa, are amazing Inn Keepers, we honestly felt as if we were part of their family. Everything we needed was taken care of. We decided on a package which made our stay stress free, enjoyable and memorable. Our room, The Georgia room, was just beautiful, it had a porch that overlooked the gardens, beautiful bedroom set and a gorgeous bathroom. The location was amazing, walking distance to just about everthing, shopping and eating, with a short drive to the visitor center. I would (and have) recomended The Brickhouse Inn to friends and we plan on comming back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Welty house, the older of the two, and we absolutly loved it. Private porch, clawfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.7 km away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#5 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.8 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
3.8 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
3.2 km away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 25 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 452 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,387 - ₹ 8,960
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing