We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!”
other travellers have booked this property
Enter through garden filled with flowers spring through fall.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter through garden filled with flowers spring through fall.
View from a meadow below the Round House Fire pit - wood is provided
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Enter through garden filled with flowers spring through fall.
View from a meadow below the Round House
Fire pit - wood is provided
Barn timbers (some hand hewn chestnut), walnut and oak flooring and trim.
Creek stone foundation, antique wood wainscot, Walnut counter top
Living room with cozy fireplace, video screen on wall
Cabinets from recycled bead board
Walnut bar & kitchen counter
Fully stocked kitchen.
Oak & Walnut hand-made flooring
Lots of windows - View to meadow, woods and stream
Foyer with view into Living Room
Bedroom with queen-sized bed - compliments house style
Handmade walnut & chestnut bed
Bathroom includes stacked washer-dryer (see in mirror)
Round House is tucked into a south facing slope - very energy efficient
Flowers throughout the spring, summer and fall
Sunken patio right out of front door
Patio with view to meadow - early spring
Table & BBQ grill for outside dining in the 'Shegebo'
Cozy fire pit next to Cottage & 'Shegebo'
We call the fire pit 'Woodhenge'
Entrance to Fiddlers Green - our 100 acre farm on which the Little Round House is located
One of two creeks on Fiddlers Green -accessible by trails from the Round House
Big Pipe Creek - short hike from the Round House
Wheat field on Fiddlers Green
A Hobbit heading out
Rarely does it look like this - Blizzard Jonas 1/25/16
Snow does happen - February 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chiro631
Westbury, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Absolutely beautiful & relaxing. So peaceful. The cabin is absolutely gorgeous & clean. Definitely going back! Chris & Michelle are a delight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarryGinS...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and Comfortable Rental was Perfect Base for Exploring Area”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My wife and I were looking for a quiet location to celebrate our 25th anniversary that was also situated near enough to Gettysburg to allow us to take in some history. The Little Round House perfectly fit the bill while making excellent use of the small space to provide comfortable lodging and a quiet retreat. We loved the quality linens and comfortable bed, the Dish network TV access, the kitchen facilities, and the fire pit. My wife is quite the bird watcher and she was in birders' heaven with all the variety of woodpeckers, cardinals, and jays, etc. that visited the backyard feeder. The farm setting was charming and Chris, Melissa, and Mary could not have been more hospitable.

Our daughter and granddaughter visited for one night and Chris provided extra linens for use with the pull-out couch. Chris also made sure we had plenty of firewood for use in the fire pit. The provided MiFi Internet connection is adequate for email and web browsing, but we decided to take a break from our usual video streaming since the MiFi is data capped. Talk to Chris if you really need streaming or heavy bandwidth use and he can probably work something out with you to permit more data usage. Our AT&T LTE cell phone coverage was a little spotty around the property, but we never lost 4G coverage.

The location is about a 20 to 25 minute drive to Gettysburg and about 5 to 10 minutes to Westminster. Taneytown has a Food Lion and a few eateries within 5 minutes. Baugher's Farm Market is also just a few miles down MD Route 140.

We loved our stay and will gladly stay again when the opportunity arises!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil setting
Liked least: MiFi Internet was adequate; a high-speed uncapped connection would be ideal.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The Little Round House Met or Exceeded all Expectations”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Chris and Melissa have created the perfect quiet retreat at The Little Round House. Located in a secluded section of their 100-acre farm, this little house is spotlessly clean, welcoming, cozy, private, beautifully appointed, and offers the perfect environment to relax. The only sounds we heard at night were the crickets and sitting around the campfire at night with a glass of wine added to the relaxed atmosphere. Chris gave us a tour of the farm's beautiful barn and gardens and encouraged us to hike the many trails on the property. The close proximity to Gettysburg via quiet country roads was a huge plus. We will be happy to return to The Little Round House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance of wood beams, fireplace, quiet location, close to Gettysburg
Liked least: Taneytown doesn't offer much for good restaurants. Best to eat in Gettysburg.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joseph h
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly peaceful!”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Little Round House Is a quaint beautiful place to relax. Chris and Melissa are wonderful host. We walked into the house to find fresh flowers on the table. They were very generous and shared fresh vegetables from their garden. We would recommend their vacation rentals to anyone who has a block of time to fully enjoy the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 235
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing