We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Great Location”
Review of Colton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colton Motel
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Clean and Great Location”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here in April while visiting Gettsburg National Battlefield. Can't beat the location. You can walk to many gift shops and restaurants and the the Quartermaster shop (don't miss this place). If you go out the back end of the parking lot and cross the street you are at the Gettysburg Cemetary. Lots of history here, ie. Abe Lincoln and the Gettysburg Address. The place is not a fancy four star hotel. It was probably built in the 50s or 60s but it has held up well. They keep in clean, the rooms are plenty big if you needed to store bicycles you would have more than enough room. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank EdSaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    78
    45
    33
    43
See reviews for
88
90
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

On Wednesday, June 27, 2012, I made a reservation for a one-night stay at the Colton Motel for Saturday, June 30, 2012. On Friday, June 28, the area where I live, Northern Virginia, was struck by a rare and powerful storm system known as a "Derecho," according to NOAA "a widespread, long-lived wind storm that is associated with a band of rapidly moving showers or thunderstorms. Although a derecho can produce destruction similar to that of tornadoes, the damage typically is directed in one direction along a relatively straight swath. As a result, the term 'straight-line wind damage' sometimes is used to describe derecho damage. By definition, if the wind damage swath extends more than 240 miles (about 400 kilometers) and includes wind gusts of at least 58 mph (93 km/h) or greater along most of its length, then the event may be classified as a derecho."
Our particular area experienced winds of 85 miles per hour-plus. Our power was knocked out, as was that of more than 800,000 other residents of our area. Our power wasn't restored until the following Tuesday. We are fortunate enough to own a generator. I didn't make my trip to Gettysburg so I could stay home and operate the generator and keep my family in a reasonable level of comfort despite the effects of this storm.
Unfortunately, the folks at the Colton Motel, despite this act of God, have not seen fit to refund mBe the $97 I pre-paid for my one-night stay. I made several phone calls to management, at one point speaking with a woman who identified herself as an owner of the establishment. Despite the fact that she took my phone number and promised a call-back, I have yet to hear from her again. This is my final word on the matter.
I appreciate the fact that my reservation came with certain restrictions. I am a law school graduate and certainly understand "the letter of the contract." I'm also a reasonable human being who appreciates common human decency in the face of unusual circumstances. At this point and at no point is or was it about the $97; it's simply about how to treat one another properly, contract or no
Please draw whatever conclusions you will. But if your interest is location and value, stay at the similarly situated although slightly higher-priced 1863 Inn of Gettysburg. If it's pure value, try the Americas Best Value Inn.
By their lack of simple human decency the Colton Motel is $97 the richer but has clearly demonstrated that it does not merit your business.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Stow, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The staff here were all fantastic & did anything they could to help. The motel itself is showing its age & is in need of updating. Our room had a funny smell that never went away & the beds were only a little better than sleeping on a sidewalk. Overall, its a basic motel with basic accomodations. If all you need is a bed & a shower for a couple days, its awesome for the price. And the location is perfect... its walking distance to most of the attractions in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Staff very accomodating and bent over backwards to make the stay comfortable. Everything worked fine. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn Heights, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

my girlfriend and i stayed at the Colton motel on June 13th and 14th 2012...we had nowhere to stay in Gettysburg so i stopped at the Colton to check it out. the gentleman at the front desk i believe to be the owner was very pleasant and courteous. He let me see the room before i even decided to stay the night. it was a older place but it was very clean and had a homey feel to it..for the price you cant beat it. its right behind the soldiers national cemetery and walking distance to some of the battle field and the downtown area...the owner and his wife were very nice and helpful they let me pay in cash and check in was easy and smooth..my girlfriend and i will definitely stay there every time we visit Gettysburg. Two thumbs up

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brennen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.9 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#23 of 27 in Gettysburg
112 reviews
1.8 km away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#22 of 27 in Gettysburg
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#18 of 27 in Gettysburg
38 reviews
6.3 km away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#25 of 27 in Gettysburg
53 reviews
0.3 km away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Motel

Property: Colton Motel
Address: 232 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2814
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,259 - ₹ 6,323
Hotel Class:2 star — Colton Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Colton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Motel Gettysburg
Colton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing