We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Colton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colton Motel
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Colton. My room was very clean and staff ( Christal and Trey) were outstanding. They were very concerned that my stay was a wonderful, and relaxing experience. Christal was very knowledgable about the activities and resturants in Gettysburg area. I can not wait to return to Gettysburg Ith my family and I will surely stay at the Colton.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyefever22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    78
    45
    33
    42
See reviews for
87
90
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I can't say enough about how unpleasant this establishment is. This motel is awful. I would never want to represent, work, or even been seen at this place again. This place is a total dump. I don't understand how places like these still exist. I'm here on business and the company got a real good deal on the roach motel. That doesn't say much about the company I work for. I got stuck with the drunk construction guys next door and some visiting tourist from England. Lets just say there were some interesting conversations.From what I watched and gathered. This motel allows extended stays. I'm not talking four or five days. I'm talking about four or five months! So, if your looking for a cheap stay look no further. The Colton has it all. Cheap beds, t'.v. with no remote. No iron, no ironing board, Carpet that looks like it hasn't been scrubbed in ages. Walls and a shower tub I wouldn't even begin to think about touching or using. If your looking to get more bang for your depreciating dollar this is your place. Enjoy your stay they say as you walk out of their office and they are laughing because they got you!

Room Tip: spend the extra money for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Outdoorphotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

St. Marys, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Stayed here Remembrance Day weekend for $149. per night. Only reason to pay this much is because of the location. Much better choices for less money around the town. In fact the manager tried to raise the price while I was settling the bill, apparently it is going to be higher next year. Old, old rooms need severe upgrading, didn't see any bugs but we did check for them.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

This is a great hotel within walking distance of many sights in Gettysburg. It was very clean and affordable. It is not as modern or updated as a chain hotel but for the price we have no complaints. The staff, especially Cheryl, were very polite and helpful. We would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PALakeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Do not confuse the Colton with Three Crown Budget. These rooms are clean, modest, bug free with the friendly staff you could ever want. I traveled alone with an electric scooter. The staff was right there to help me unload and re-load the scooter, made sure I could charge it and placed me in an easy access room. In 3 days, NOT ONE BUG. The staff treat you as family, talk with you, answer questions and go the extra mile to make you feel at home.I already booked for next year and will be back again and again.

The owner of the 3 Crowns and the Colton should consider reinvesting a few bucks to up date the Colton a little. It would be a real gem.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ditroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.3 km away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
6.3 km away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#24 of 27 in Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.4 km away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
2.9 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 27 in Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Motel

Property: Colton Motel
Address: 232 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2814
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,875 - ₹ 7,686
Hotel Class:2 star — Colton Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Colton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Motel Gettysburg
Colton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing