We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Artillery Ridge Camping Resort
Nearby Hotels
Baladerry Inn(Gettysburg)
US$ 159
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
James Gettys Hotel(Gettysburg)
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$ 240
US$ 222
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$ 117
US$ 112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 250
US$ 200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
51
57
19
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
57
19
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice campgroundhorseback ridepull thruriding stablespassport americafairly levelrv sitesolder parkoffice storepermanent sitespop up campershaded sitestrain museumhighly recommend this campgroundample spacetravel trailerfifth wheel
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

The Civil War is my wife's favorite time in history and we love exploring. What better time to visit this historic place then in early July, about the time of the actual battle. We have an RV but like to ride our bikes. In only a few short strides down a slightly busy road, we were at the entrance to the park and visitor center. We ride all day and have found new things each time we visit. Amazing to think of heavily uniformed men charging these wide open fields filled with smoke and blood and deafening sounds in the heat of July. After a long day riding (you can do so by horseback from this campground or go into town and rent scooters), it was back to a relaxing campfire and some barbeque. The store is very well stocked and the owners are so nice. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank smoothop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

On the recommendation of friends with an RV, we decided to take our pop-up camper to Artillery Ridge for a long weekend in Gettysburg. We stayed for three nights, beginning on a Thursday, and the cost was $165. The employees were friendly at check-in we had no trouble getting to our site (site 38). I was concerned about the conditions of the shower facilities because most campers had full hook-up sites, but the facilities, while dated, were impressively maintained and very close to our campsite.

This park’s best attribute is its location to all the historical sites. The visitor’s center is right down the road, with downtown Gettysburg just a little farther. We didn’t spend a great deal of time at our campsite because there is so much to do in Gettysburg, but I would recommend this campground to others.

We used our included free admission to the diorama and the Spirits of Gettysburg attractions and our kids enjoyed them both. I would especially recommend the diorama. We did not get a chance to use our tickets to the Lincoln Train Museum.

Pros:
-The location.
- The free admission to the downtown attractions.
- The campground was very quiet the entire weekend. There were no special events going on so the campground was not full. This may have lent to the quiet atmosphere. Also, because there are many seasonal and year-round campers, not many people near us were hanging out outside their campers.
- Nicely maintained restroom facilities.
- Being able to watch the horses travel in and out of the campground
- Despite a few good summer storms, there were no drainage issues at our campsite.
- Ours was a back-in site, but there were many pull-through sites.
- Contrary to what I read in many reviews, we never encountered manure in the road, despite walking the grounds more than once.

Cons:
-Lots of bugs. We kept bug-repellant bracelets on all the kids and used bug spray a great deal. It didn’t ruin our weekend. There’s not much that could be done about this by the campground. It is a ranch, after all.
- Our campsite was not in a crowded section, but there were some sections where the campers were right on top of each other. I would avoid booking one of those in the future.
- The playground equipment was a little rickety, but my kids enjoyed it.

We did not use the pool or take the horseback tour of the battlefield, but would like to do so if we visit again. This campground obviously caters to those who travel with their horses. We don’t have horses, but we enjoyed staying on the ranch anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bloommom315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Artillery Ridge in a 40 foot class A and it was very nice. Easy in and out for our big rig towing our CRV. Close go everything in Gettysburg. The office people are friendly and helpful. The park has horses to plan accordingly. The park is older and some things should be updated but otherwise great value.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Nice RV/Campground with easy access to Gettysburg National Historic Battleground, Cemetery, Museum and Visitor Center. We stayed 4 nights, taking one day to drive over to Hershey Park, three to tour Gettysburg. Good pull-thru spot that required very little side-to-side leveling. Our spot was exposed (no shade trees), so a good a/c unit is recommended. There are fully treed sites, but it looked like the long-term trailers we mostly packed in those. We lost water pressure one day due to a water leak in the park. We would stay should we return to Gettysburg.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank 5-fosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Wonderful staff, amazing amenities & facilities. We had a great pull-through full hookup, 50 amp site. Convenient to the battlefield and the town of Gettysburg. Great motorcycle riding, too! We will return, even though it's a bit pricey since we don't use the facilities other than parking.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank DB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews