We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting Gettysburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lightner Farmhouse
Ranked #8 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our way to a wedding in New York. We brought his parents with us and we all had a great time and stay. The breakfast was wonderful and the grounds are just beautiful! We got a late start and the owners called to give us information about checking in. The owners were terrific and a pleasure! We would highly recommend staying at this wonderful B&B!

Room Tip: When staying here I would recommend J's in the village. Great food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lv2trvl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here to see fall foliage and experience the history of Gettysburg. We also experienced the October 2011 snow! This place is wonderful! The hosts are great. They think of everything. The breakfasts are good. It is perfect! I want to go back in the summer! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidicrnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

After a tiring road trip my husband and I were thrilled to find the Lightner Farmhouse in an easy-to-find, quiet, location. Each morning soft music, candles and superb home cooked breakfast (Blueberry pancakes to die for) awaited us. The owner's friendly knowledgeable advice regarding tours and restaurants (J's at the Village is best) made all the difference in our day. Add spacious, quiet rooms, comfortable beds and two adorable Pugs and we really think we found a home away from home at the Lightner Farmhouse.

Room Tip: The Oak Room had two windows with great light and great view of farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azwanderer_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My friends and I wanted to take a quick trip to Gettysburg, so I booked this B&B. It was such a warm inviting place ! The owners were beyond grascious to us, directing us through town when we got lost, and providing a map of where we wanted to go. Can't wait to go back, and the cottage in the back allows children, so I can take my daughter next time.

Room Tip: we had the attic room because it slept 4, loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eryan109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We had the suite in the attic, which consists of two rooms. It was wonderful, so quite like we had the house to ourselves. The house is beautiful. The owners were so helpful with information on seeing the battlefield. We booked a battlefield guide for 3 hours on our second day before leaving home on their recommendation and can't imagine seeing the battlefield any other way!!! A BIG THANK YOU for helping to make our trip more than we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnf00ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.7 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,114 reviews
5.1 km away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
902 reviews
10.6 km away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
387 reviews
5.1 km away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.3 km away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7016
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: ₹ 8,832 - ₹ 11,495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing