We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farnsworth House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farnsworth House Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great food, great ambiance, and excellent service. I will defiantly be coming back to the Farnsworth to eat. There was plenty to look at and our food came fast. I would recommend any of the sandwiches. The food was priced just right for an older couple traveling.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAllens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    85
    47
    42
    66
See reviews for
63
157
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I spent one night in the Eisenhower room in the main part of the Farnsworth House. The room was very nice and I didn't think it was dirty at all. There was a 13 inch flat screen TV in the room that only got a couple of channels, but that was fine for us. That evening we went on the 90 minute combination ghost tour that started at 8 PM on Saturday night. The tour started in the basement, then moved to the attic, then we walked across the street to a section of the battlefield where orbs and other apparitions have been spotted. While we were in the basement, a woman towards the back of the room suddenly leapt out of her chair in the middle of the guide's stories with a panicked expression on her face. The guide paused his story briefly to ask her what was wrong. She said that someone had pulled her hair. The guide said that Jeremy, the little ghost boy who haunts the inn, was known for pulling on womens' hair. The tour was very interesting but I felt like the guide got a little long-winded at times. After it was over, we had a few drinks in the Sweeney Tavern and then called it a night.

During the night I heard creaks all up and down the back staircase right outside our room that sounded like footsteps, even though there was no one out there. Whether it was the wind, the house settling, or something paranormal I don't know, but it did creep me out a bit. I got up around 2:30 in the morning to use the bathroom and I noticed that the toy cradle on the floor of our bathroom with the baby doll in it was rocking by itself. This scared me quite a bit, I nearly came out of my skin. The last creepy thing that happened was shortly before dawn. I has sleeping on my side with my back to my husband when I heard footsteps right next to his side of the bed. Thinking he had gotten up I rolled over to talk to him, only to find him sleeping soundly in the bed next to me. Needless to say, when we finally got up for breakfast around 9 AM, I was exhausted.

Breakfast was very good, we both had eggs with home fries, toast, and bacon. Our waitress was very good as well.

One of my complaints is that the shower in our room didn't work. Literally nothing happened when you turned on the faucet. So we didn't get to take showers in the morning before we checked out. Also, since the inn is so old, the walls are PAPER THIN which means the room was very chilly during the night and we could very clearly hear the guests in other rooms. This was fine, except for the drunken couple in the room across the hallway who laughed and talked loudly until well after midnight. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle_p630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

stayed at farns worth in jennie wade room food was good everyone was friendly room was clean some of these negative reviews almost diswaided me not to go but i am very glad that i went anyways if you go i highly recommended the ghost tour it gives you historical info and the spooky ghost stuff too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ftc3495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south jersey, nj
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We rented out all 5 bedrooms in main house for the weekend for my neices 16 birthday. Had a great time, since we were all together, and the staff we saw were very nice. The horror; however comes from the incredibly cluttered rooms filled with an overload of (some very rediculous) decorations. They are all incredibly dusty and dirty. My allergies were terrible all weekend. Also, the heat was not working at all. Ice cold radiators all weekend. Staff were informed and reproted they would tell the owner, but nothing ever done about it. I suspect that the owner knows this already since there are small plug in heaters about the size of a shoe box in every room. They made it somewhat bearable, but I didn't feel warm until i got home. Pretty claw foot tubs in every room, but the shower curtains are way too long so you are standing on them (disgusting and unsanitary) in several of the rooms. Heard some interesting sounds, and again, had fun all together scaring each other, but would never recomend this Inn until they clean up and get heat!!

Room Tip: McFarlane room has the most activity and sounds, as well as the sarah Black room. The Eisenhower roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bamcalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrickville Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

My wife and I have been here many times over the past several years, staying in every room up stairs. The Farnsworth was our first experience with " haunted hotels " and we now seek them out when ever we travel. When imposible things happen repeatedly it really gets your attention! Jeremy, the little boy ghost is responsable for most of the pranks, and has interacted with us many times. We will always return to our friends ,both living and " dead ", as the Farnsworth House as they welcome us warmly.

Room Tip: Most haunted room is the Schoultz Room in our opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingthroughlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.6 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.6 km away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.2 km away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.1 km away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnsworth House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnsworth House Inn

Property: Farnsworth House Inn
Address: 401 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2623
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,567 - ₹ 11,510
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farnsworth House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Farnsworth House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnsworth House Hotel Gettysburg
Farnsworth Hotel Gettysburg
Farnsworth Inn
Farnsworth House Inn Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing