We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, nice people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I recently stayed at HI Express while attending a trade show at Philly Convention Center. It was a short walk to Convention Hall - 4-5 blocks. Philly is easy to get around and the weather was nice so the daily walk was fine. The endless number of beggers and vagrants was a bit of a shock. There are panhandlers everywhere, so be forewarned, you'll need your tough skin to stay downtown at this location. There are many great restaurants near this hotel and the Terminal Market is a fun experience.
The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. I rarely tip the housekeepiing, but they were doing such an excellent job, I felt I needed to. The only negative was the belman, of all things.... sourpuss and rude.
The room was clean and I took one near the top, view was nice of the downtown area. I think our rate was $179 for a downtown hotel when everything was sold out, so this was an excellent deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cd b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear cdb,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns. We would like to address the issue about the people that you said were around the area. We wanted to stress that our hotel has the utmost security. Our guest safety is our number one priority. Thank you for telling us about the housekeeping staff. We will make sure that we will pass that on to them. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the bellman. We will look into that. We apologize if you felt he was being rude. Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    458
    142
    43
    17
See reviews for
269
220
66
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. Room was simple in a positive way: not very up to date furniture but well maintained and good Large room with good free WIFI. Bathroom a bit small but dueable. Good beds and pillows. Free breakfast with delicious pancakes and easy and quick check in/out. Very friendly staff.

Location is good: right in the middle of the historical sites on the east side (Independence Hall etc.) and the "Rocky" Museum on the west side. Everything within walking distance, we did not have to use the subway at all. A lot of restaurants in the very near neighbourhood.

This was my first stay at a Holiday Inn hotel and I really enjoyed it. It actually exceeded my expectations and was pleasantly suprised about the quality and service. Service seems better than a couple of (more expensive) 4 star hotels I've stayed at. Really enjoy the good location, good night sleep, low price, free breakfast and free WIFI.

One note and reason why I voted 4 instead of 3: big thumbs up for Catherine the lady from the breakfast room! She showed real, just and believable service and interest, a true hostess. Made small talk with everyone without being fake, was just truly interested and came with a lot of tips of things to do. Really cared for the concern of "her" guests. Without asking or mentioning it she offered us a bag to make a lunch pack for on the way (we were about to check out) and told us to ask for a free bottle of water at the reception. This is what being a hostess is all about and I complimented her on site as well, cause I don't think people will hear pletty of positive things, mostly only the bad. Good work Catherine!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mijora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Mijora K,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. We also would like to thank you for mentioning our employee Catherine. We are very honored to have such a great person working for us. We will pass these great comments on to her. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I came to Philadelphia to attend a conference but the location of this hotel was so perfect that I also got to enjoy the city. It is in the middle of everything, with lots to see and do all around – and almost everywhere I needed to go was within walking distance. The staff were very lovely but the hotel itself felt a bit dated. That said, my room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Basic accomodations overall. The dining was quite good at dinner and at the breakfast buffet. One of my colleagues has numerous food allergies and the staff really went way above and beyond to accommodate her. It was much appreciated by all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Barb S,

Thank you for telling us about your stay while you attended a conference. We appreciate all of your comments. We are so glad we could accommodate all of you. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Big convention in town but "Gwen" said "no Problem". We checked into a quiet room on an upper floor as requested and let the hotel and it's fine employees take care of us. This hotel is right in the center of everything in Philly. Want to take a tour? A shuttle picks you up at the hotel and takes you to a place where you board a doubledecker or streetcar or bus that takes you almost anywhere you could want to go in the city. And you can jump on and off at stops along the way, as often as you like. Great way to see the city. Lunch or dinner? You're in the right place. We ate our heart's out and only took a cab to a restrauerant once. Great restaurants are within walking distance, so why spend money to go elsewhere. But make no mistake, the real reason to stay here is the people who work at the hotel. They stay calm when all around them is crazy; treat you as friends; and do everything possible to make your stay comfortable. They even look out for you after you have left. We left a pair of glasses in our room, and did not miss them until we got home. We called, Paula in housekeeping answered, Lisa who took care of our room found them, and the glasses will be sent home on Monday. And all we can say is thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor. less noise, and good views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brotherdickdca1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Brotherdickdca1981,i

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We appreciate your comments. We are so happy that our staff treated you with great respect. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass all of you comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We thank you for staying with us, and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junction City, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Great Stay with an awesome great staff....from the front desk clerk to the housekeepers. My family and I were inPhiladelphia for graduation at Temple University. The hotel provided an EXCELLENT rate for visitiors attending the graduation ceremony. The HOT continental breakfast was great pancakes, eggs, biscuits & gravy, donuts, bagels, fruits and many more items to choose from. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends and family visiting the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Malinda J,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit during graduation. We hope that you enjoyed the graduation. We appreciate all of your comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. All of your comments will be passed on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a great job. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that if you come to the area again that you will stay with us.

Thank you again for your time. We hope to see you again in Philly.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Rodeway Inn Center City
#47 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,145 - ₹ 18,563
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing