We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; perfect for extended stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AKA Rittenhouse Square
Ranked #57 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The aka Rittenhouse Square is ideally located with all the tony shops of Walnut Street - and of course the Square - on the doorstep. The rooms (all suites, some apartments) are spacious, chic, well furnished and have a fully equipped compact kitchen. The free wi-fi is very robust. It is a perfect location for an extended stay too. Service is once-a-week, or more often for a charge, though we did notice they snuck in and emptied the bin every day. If you want somewhere more like being comfortably at home, the aka Rittenhouse Square can be highly recommended as a base. The reception staff are wonderfully help and the attached restaurant, Kitchen, is understandably always packed - but you can reserve through reception; breakfast is served there too if you want.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights right after Christmas. We had taken the red-eye from San Diego and arrived at the hotel at 7:00am. The warm lobby smelled WONDERFUL and we were welcomed as weary travellers. The two bedroom suite was great although I had thought it came with a fireplace. Apparently none of the two bedroom suites have fireplaces. Oh well, no big deal. Our room was fantastic; extra large, comfy, & high end.

I can't say enough about the location. This hotel is in the IDEAL spot; much better than where the Four Seasons, Marriott, Wyndam, or other high price hotels are. There is a great Italian gourmet market within a short walk, coffee houses, high end resturants and all my favorite shops (Anthropoligie, Athleta, Coach, Lagos, Ann Taylor, H&M, etc etc).

Everything was fantastic EXCEPT the housekeeping. The place is spotless but they only have housekeeping every 5 days. They come to pick up trash from the room daily (except Sunday) but the kitchen got messy quick and towels became a problem. For $25 a day they will clean your room more, but I think it should be done at no charge every other day.....I'm just sayin.

We will stay here again. It was my husband and I, our two kids and my sister-in-law and there was plenty of room. The sheets were high quality and the water pressure great. High ratings for this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed one night at this beautiful apartment complex right near Rittenhouse Square, in the historic heart of Philadelphia. Normally they require a longer stay, but we were put up for a short rental, after staying a week at AKA Apartments in Washington DC, so as to be closer to JFK Airport for our departure back to Australia.

Apartments are big, comfortable, and the beds a dream. Decor is muted, but sophisticated. Bathrooms were compact, but well-equipped, with a deep bath in the en-suite. Kitchen is well-equipped and staff can direct you to a small supermarket nearby.

There was some street noise from the restaurant underneath the building, which made us want to join in (alas, with kids, we couldn't do this late at night.] This was the only negative. While the price is not cheap, this accommodation was really impressive: roomy, comfy and classy, with all you need to self-cater in Philly. Would stay here again in a flash, but for a longer time!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartments tend to be corner ones, facing the street. While they have a great outlook onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The staff was very nice (even stayed with our car while we brought our stuff up to the room) and the rooms and location were great. Because it's extended stay, they don't provide some basics like coffee filters, coffee, salt and pepper etc which would have been helpful for us. Overall we had a nice time but don't feel the *need* to return if we stay in Philly again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plonialmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My family and I stayed at the AKA for over 10 months as our house was being repaired. Everything about the AKA is excellent. The staff is extremely helpful and accomodating. The rooms are spacious and modern. The hotel is perfectly located in a great part of Center City. We highly recommend for a short or long term stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philadelphia60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,320 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Rittenhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Rittenhouse Square

Address: 135 S 18th St, Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#42 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: ₹ 13,104 - ₹ 32,760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Rittenhouse Square 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your AKA Rittenhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Rittenhouse Square Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing