We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burbridge Street B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$ 172
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 364
US$ 320
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 159
US$ 141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 197
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 164
US$ 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 217
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
38
23
6
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
23
6
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparlor roombreakfast tablefresh fruitallergic to catscobblestone streetother guestssepta stationstreet parkingstayed one nightbed was very comfortablegermantownbedroomfranklinkeytelevisionfurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2010

I made a last minute reservation the morning of my stay, hoping to find something quaint, affordable, and closer to the airport than my original accomodations 60 miles north of the city. It was a pre-paid reservation, using a well known online purchasing site. When I headed down, I checked my Googlemaps, and the address came up as the location of a "payday loan" operation. uh, what? so I searched on the name, and it found the address again. I know Google data can be incorrect, but it made me wonder if I might be on the wrong "Burbridge ST" as sometimes streets have the similar names in different places, and Googlemaps is sometimes looking at the wrong place. But this is all I had to go on to find it. The street view on Googlemaps was hard to make out, as there was a glare, so I could not see an indication of a B&B sign, but there were some large houses on a brick paved street, so I assumed it was correct. To try to confirm, I called the contact number. No answer. Machine voice says: "Hello. Leave a message after the beep." No name of the business? Now I am panicking, because this does not seem right. I called again later, and same thing. So I am driving in the dark. My phone battery dies, of course. The neighborhood surrounding it appeared quite run down, with lots of bars on the windows and people loitering on corners. (Note, I live in an inner city neighborhood and am not overly concerned about this usually, but this did make me uncomfortable, as I am a female travelling alone.) I arrive on the street, but am not sure which house it is. It is a one-way short side street. The first house on the corner, has multiple signs on the garage..."beware of dog!" "keep out!". This does not add to my comfort level of the safety of the neighborhood. I drive slowly, looking for a sign, or a house that might be the one on the Googlemap image. I didn't see anything. around the block again. no sign. One more time trying to scrutinize the house numbers, and didn't have anyluck. I coulud only make out a few. So now I was sure I was on the wrong street, and hopeless that I could get in touch with the "business" owner, I left and found other accomodations.
I contacted the reservation company I used, and discovered their 24 hour cancellation policy only applies to flights. They could not refund me unless the business agrees, and I had to be at the front desk. At 10 pm, I am not driving back down there, sorry. They called her, no luck. I call her. She is completely unsympathetic. She said the reason she didn't answer is that she was out and told the reservation company that she wouldn't be there till 9 pm and they were supposed to let me know. She said there was a note on the door, and I was supposed to let myself in. what? She said the reason that the answering machine did not state the business name is that "it is a business AND personal line." So? And the reason that there was no sign, "Signage is not allowed." Not even a small plaque by the door? Can you put a large house number and shine a light on it? (I am trying to confirm that she has zoning exceptions and licenses, as she appears to be trying hard to hide that this is a business.)
She refused to refund my money, because she had gone to all the trouble to prepare the room, clean the bathroom (!), and had someone watting for me on the 3rd floor. uh, ok. she blamed the confusion on the company for not telling me she was out, and on me for letting my cell phone die and for not walking up on the porch and ringing the bell. I don't wander around in strange neighborhoods in the dark ringing bells of strangers. sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
19  Thank alex_miller_1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

I have stayed at B&Bs and have always been pleasantly surprised, not this one. I read the reviews so I was under the impression that the Inn had been renovated. It is partially renovated, very old and run down. There is no sign when you get there, you are not sure you are in the right place, like another person stated I also drove around the block and almost left. This is a B&B that should rent for $50/night. Owner is very savy and can tell you all the good places to visit in the city. Rooms are clean and comfortable, its just the inn needs alot of work. Breakfast was continental breakfast: cold cereal and breads, self service, def. not
B&B style breakfast. On last night I was there, neighbor next door was having a huge huge family fight, and I could swear it was at our place, no noise barrier between homes. This went on till 1:00 am, Inn keeper just apologized, said there was nothing she could do. I was hoping she call the cops, did not get to sleep till 2:00 am.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sunseeker21_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

This was my 4th stay at Burbridge in 3 years. Now there is a new porch (with a swing), new steps & railing and a new roof on the 103 year old house. I stayed 18 days & was able to enjoy the sweet smell of the honeysuckle as I came up the steps after a hard day at work. Luxurious bed linens & fluffy towels added to the comfort of the accommodations. This is a cozy & safe place for a woman traveling alone. It is close to public transportation, but if you are driving there is always easy parking. Marney, the Innkeeper, is very well read & well traveled. She brings a pleasant & lively conversation to the breakfast table. This a a very good value for the money. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foofonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2007

This was my first time in a B & B. It was a unique experience. The inn keeper Marney is a very nice lady and an excellent conversationalist. She was very helpful and offered many tips for traveling around the city.

About the house.... Well, the house is a work in progress. It is about 100 years old and going through a renovation. The room I stayed in was large and comfortable. My room had satellite tv and air conditioning. The bathroom was decent. It had a litter box that is used by 2 different cats and by the 2nd day it needed to be cleaned. It was not. At one point it began to rain and the upstairs room/kitchen began to leak from the roof. Not a big deal, didn't bother me. I felt as if I was staying with a family member and it was just something that happened.

The steps are rotting and I was afraid to sprain my bad ankle again on the loose steps. Garden? The "Garden" will be beautiful when it is manicured. When I was there, there were beautiful flowers, bushes, etc, but was in need of some TLC.

Breakfast is great. Fresh fruits, juice, cereals. There was a large selection of breads, but they were in sticky bags. Ewww...
But, despite the sticky bags they were good.

There are alot of antiques around the house, so if you are clumsy, be careful.

The inn keeper will not bother you. She is not nosey or pushy. I will go back. I am eager to see how the renovation is going, and I had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jechll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2007

After being on the road for 2 weeks and staying in various generic motels, Burbridge St. was a wonderful treat. The neighborhood is lovely - nice residential location and an easy trip into the city. The house itself is a work in progress but not lacking for charm or beauty in its current state. My room was clean, bright, and comfortable, it was an absolute pleasure to go to sleep at night with my 3 windows open and wake up in the morning with the sunlight streaming in. There are 2 cats on premises and though I know the cats would be a concern for some, due to allergies or personal preference, I was delighted to have them about. There was no issue of fur on furniture or carpets, or litterbox odors. I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent with Marney over breakfasts - she was exceedingly helpful in providing information on Philadelphia and how to navigate it - and overall a great host. It's clear that she loves what she it doing and is meeting the challenges of renovating a beautiful old home in the only way one can: with flexibility, patience, and good humor. I will, without doubt, be staying here again on my next trip to Philly.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews