We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like taking a trip to Europe without leaving the country!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burbridge Street B&B
Ranked #13 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like taking a trip to Europe without leaving the country!”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by our experience at the Burbridge Street Bed & Breakfast. Though some say it is hard to locate, my daughter and I had no problem finding the charming, old home on foot. It's only a ten minute walk from the Tulpehocken Station. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Marney, the innkeeper. After getting us settled into our spacious, but cozy room, it was dinner time, so she directed us to several local restaurants in the area that were within our budget. In the morning, we awoke to a fresh, delicious and beautifully displayed breakfast including several types of tea, coffee, cereals, fruits, fresh baked local breads, local honey and even your choice of soy, almond or regular milk! We had an appointment to visit a nearby college, but we weren't sure of the best way to get there. Marney took time out of her busy schedule to map us out a route using the local transit system. Our room was wonderfully comfortable and also had an array of teas and coffee at our disposal. The bathroom is conveniently located next to our room and was clean and well lit. Our favorite part of the experience was the friendly, cuddly kitties! Both of them were at ease with us made us feel at home. Marney is so incredibly hospitable and such a giving, caring person, that I felt as though I met a long lost friend. She opened her home and kitchen to us. Staying at the Burbridge Street B & B was like staying in a European pension, with a built in historian tour guide! She knows so much about Philly and not only saved us a bunch of money, but she made our stay in Philadelphia a pleasurable one we will not forget. When I return to Philly, it's Burbridge for me! I highly recommend it unless you are super fussy and don't like cats.. If that's the case, then it's the Holiday Inn for you...

Room Tip: The Parlor room is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coconutee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    22
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
26
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

I made a last minute reservation the morning of my stay, hoping to find something quaint, affordable, and closer to the airport than my original accomodations 60 miles north of the city. It was a pre-paid reservation, using a well known online purchasing site. When I headed down, I checked my Googlemaps, and the address came up as the location of a "payday loan" operation. uh, what? so I searched on the name, and it found the address again. I know Google data can be incorrect, but it made me wonder if I might be on the wrong "Burbridge ST" as sometimes streets have the similar names in different places, and Googlemaps is sometimes looking at the wrong place. But this is all I had to go on to find it. The street view on Googlemaps was hard to make out, as there was a glare, so I could not see an indication of a B&B sign, but there were some large houses on a brick paved street, so I assumed it was correct. To try to confirm, I called the contact number. No answer. Machine voice says: "Hello. Leave a message after the beep." No name of the business? Now I am panicking, because this does not seem right. I called again later, and same thing. So I am driving in the dark. My phone battery dies, of course. The neighborhood surrounding it appeared quite run down, with lots of bars on the windows and people loitering on corners. (Note, I live in an inner city neighborhood and am not overly concerned about this usually, but this did make me uncomfortable, as I am a female travelling alone.) I arrive on the street, but am not sure which house it is. It is a one-way short side street. The first house on the corner, has multiple signs on the garage..."beware of dog!" "keep out!". This does not add to my comfort level of the safety of the neighborhood. I drive slowly, looking for a sign, or a house that might be the one on the Googlemap image. I didn't see anything. around the block again. no sign. One more time trying to scrutinize the house numbers, and didn't have anyluck. I coulud only make out a few. So now I was sure I was on the wrong street, and hopeless that I could get in touch with the "business" owner, I left and found other accomodations.
I contacted the reservation company I used, and discovered their 24 hour cancellation policy only applies to flights. They could not refund me unless the business agrees, and I had to be at the front desk. At 10 pm, I am not driving back down there, sorry. They called her, no luck. I call her. She is completely unsympathetic. She said the reason she didn't answer is that she was out and told the reservation company that she wouldn't be there till 9 pm and they were supposed to let me know. She said there was a note on the door, and I was supposed to let myself in. what? She said the reason that the answering machine did not state the business name is that "it is a business AND personal line." So? And the reason that there was no sign, "Signage is not allowed." Not even a small plaque by the door? Can you put a large house number and shine a light on it? (I am trying to confirm that she has zoning exceptions and licenses, as she appears to be trying hard to hide that this is a business.)
She refused to refund my money, because she had gone to all the trouble to prepare the room, clean the bathroom (!), and had someone watting for me on the 3rd floor. uh, ok. she blamed the confusion on the company for not telling me she was out, and on me for letting my cell phone die and for not walking up on the porch and ringing the bell. I don't wander around in strange neighborhoods in the dark ringing bells of strangers. sorry.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank alex_miller_1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville, fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

I have stayed at B&Bs and have always been pleasantly surprised, not this one. I read the reviews so I was under the impression that the Inn had been renovated. It is partially renovated, very old and run down. There is no sign when you get there, you are not sure you are in the right place, like another person stated I also drove around the block and almost left. This is a B&B that should rent for $50/night. Owner is very savy and can tell you all the good places to visit in the city. Rooms are clean and comfortable, its just the inn needs alot of work. Breakfast was continental breakfast: cold cereal and breads, self service, def. not
B&B style breakfast. On last night I was there, neighbor next door was having a huge huge family fight, and I could swear it was at our place, no noise barrier between homes. This went on till 1:00 am, Inn keeper just apologized, said there was nothing she could do. I was hoping she call the cops, did not get to sleep till 2:00 am.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunseeker21_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

This was my 4th stay at Burbridge in 3 years. Now there is a new porch (with a swing), new steps & railing and a new roof on the 103 year old house. I stayed 18 days & was able to enjoy the sweet smell of the honeysuckle as I came up the steps after a hard day at work. Luxurious bed linens & fluffy towels added to the comfort of the accommodations. This is a cozy & safe place for a woman traveling alone. It is close to public transportation, but if you are driving there is always easy parking. Marney, the Innkeeper, is very well read & well traveled. She brings a pleasant & lively conversation to the breakfast table. This a a very good value for the money. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foofonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2007

This was my first time in a B & B. It was a unique experience. The inn keeper Marney is a very nice lady and an excellent conversationalist. She was very helpful and offered many tips for traveling around the city.

About the house.... Well, the house is a work in progress. It is about 100 years old and going through a renovation. The room I stayed in was large and comfortable. My room had satellite tv and air conditioning. The bathroom was decent. It had a litter box that is used by 2 different cats and by the 2nd day it needed to be cleaned. It was not. At one point it began to rain and the upstairs room/kitchen began to leak from the roof. Not a big deal, didn't bother me. I felt as if I was staying with a family member and it was just something that happened.

The steps are rotting and I was afraid to sprain my bad ankle again on the loose steps. Garden? The "Garden" will be beautiful when it is manicured. When I was there, there were beautiful flowers, bushes, etc, but was in need of some TLC.

Breakfast is great. Fresh fruits, juice, cereals. There was a large selection of breads, but they were in sticky bags. Ewww...
But, despite the sticky bags they were good.

There are alot of antiques around the house, so if you are clumsy, be careful.

The inn keeper will not bother you. She is not nosey or pushy. I will go back. I am eager to see how the renovation is going, and I had a lovely time.

  • Liked — Great value. $100.00 = Clean room/great breakfast/great host
  • Disliked — The front steps. First impressions are very important.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jechll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Chestnut Hill Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Manayunk
Manayunk Chambers Guest House
Manayunk Chambers Guest House
#5 of 25 in Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burbridge Street B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burbridge Street B&B

Property: Burbridge Street B&B
Address: 6324 Burbridge St, Philadelphia, PA 19144, Philadelphia, PA 19144-2506
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Germantown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,271 - ₹ 8,727
Hotel Class:2 star — Burbridge Street B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Burbridge Street B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing