We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whole Family loved the Duck Tour”

Ride The Ducks of Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ride The Ducks tours take you on Philadelphia’s ONLY land and water tour! See more than 100 of the city’s important sites and landmarks on our tour route, as comical Tour Guides share fun stories and trivia, along more than 14 miles of smiles and laughter. Philadelphia’s favorite tour travels from the Historic District to the Museum District – and numerous neighborhoods between – before splashing into the Delaware River for a 20- minute water cruise. Adults and seniors will have just as much fun as kids! Your Tour Guide will en-tour-tain you with stories of past and present. Learn about Philadelphia history, the Delaware River, the cities famous personalities and area’s impact on the state and nation. Find out about Philly’s role in film, song, and sports!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Whole Family loved the Duck Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We bought tickets in advance to take the Duck Tour at 1:00PM on the Saturday that Hurricane Irene was due to hit Phila. We went to the ticketing area early in the morning and asked if we could switch to an earlier tour because the weather was worsening. The Duck Tour staff was helpful and let us switch to the 11:00 am tour. We enjoyed both the land and water portion of the tour. The tour guide named Betsy Ross (her real name) held the attention of my 8 year old and 11 year old for the whole time. There were music, jokes and much info about Phila.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JSCNewton_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    126
    68
    21
    30
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun and informative - but could have gone smoother”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We just got back from a trip to Philly where we went on the duck boat tour. Overall it was fun. We had a gorgeous day, the tour guide was friendly and very knowledgeable. We saw more sights than we ever would have seen otherwise. Totally worth it in that regard. The drawbacks? We were told to be there 20 minutes early so we could board and get off ontime. The boat on the other hand, arrived at 10:15, when we were supposed to leave at 10am. This was a little annoying since we were standing there in line (with our 14 month old) for 35 minutes. They said it was because the boat we were supposed to go on had some music or mechanical difficulties and they had to send another one. OK, fine. So we got on the boat and off we went. The tour was great. We enjoyed the history and the places we were able to see in the hour long on land portion. Our daughter enjoyed it too. Then we got to the part where we were going to enter the water for the 10-15 minute ride on the river. About 1/2 way down the ramp into the water, the boat broke down. They couldn't restart it. We had to wait about 30-40 minutes for the another boat to come...not great when you have a toddler needing a nap and you only thought the ride was going to be an hour long (not including where they were late to begin with.) We finished the ride on another boat which was fine. Overall, we liked the tour and would probably do it again in another city - but I did want to point out the issues they were having with their boats. Perhaps it was an off day, but if there becomes a trend of reviews mentioning similar experiences, then maybe not.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ND2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun & Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I was visiting from Florida. My friend told me we are going on a "duck boat ride" . Really not believing her. When I got there is when I actually said WOW this is amazing!! Going from viewing Phili. in a bus then splashing in the water and now your on a boat. Amazing fun!! I highly recommend it. And thanks captain "Norm" for your knowledge, humor, and entertainment. Enjoy everyone.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique and fun general tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

I am never too old for corny funny jokes and music. Captain Ken was informative and funny. Good value and a unique way to see some of the city.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JudgeSmails11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better for Kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We had a fun time on the Philly Duck Tour. It was a bit cheesy with the corny jokes and the music, but this would be great for families. The six of us were new to Philly, so it was helpful to have an overview of the town's layout. This helped us in deciding which areas we wanted to come back to for on-foot sightseeing, but we could have done that on any tour. The "duck" portion was disappointing. We went into the water, went about a block, turned around, and came back onto land. I don't know if this had something to do with the accident last year, but it really didn't add anything to the tour. Maybe we should have stuck to one of the double-decker buses, at least you can get off and on as you choose.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ride The Ducks of Philadelphia also viewed

 

Been to Ride The Ducks of Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing