We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cheers" Feeling Type of Place!”
Review of Mermaid Inn

Mermaid Inn
Ranked #1,212 of 5,113 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: American
Neighbourhood: Chestnut Hill
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chestnut Hill
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Mermaid Inn is an historic Germantown (Philadelphia) fixture filled with great music (blues and jazz) and a fabulous down home atmosphere. The place is small, but welcoming with reasonable drinks and delicious bar food. The owners are also generous and dedicated to helping musicians in need as they allow their establishment to be taken over annually for the Zannie-Do Fest, a fundraiser honoring the late blues singer Zan Gardner. Dress causal and stop in for an evening of authentic music and conversation.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank SuzanneCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2017

I have not been here in years and I was shopping when a gallery owner suggested I go for the music. We arrived around 7:30, as I mistakenly believed that music started between 7:30 and 8:00. Happy Hour had ended.The food quite simply is terrible, it was the worst BLT I have ever had. Drinks were good. There is a wide selection of beer if you are a beer drinker. The bar tenders were attentive. There was a coverage charge for music of $12.00 and the music started at 9:00. The band was Dukes of Destiny and they were a good blues group and people were dancing.There is a weekly music schedule.There is parking on the street. My advice eat before hand and have something to pick on. To the owners how about cheese plates, cold dips- really pretzels and chips is not an option for the crowd you had.The night I was there is was mostly older crowd 50-60 plus.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joanz359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Rustic, mahogany bar which often has good local jazz or rock bands. Generally, Sierra Nevada on tap and Allagash White bottles in reserve. Good place at very bottom of Hill across street from CVS.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank PhillyBird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Limited bar and even more limited food , but for this place,it's all about the music and dancing. Great small pub . Mostly locals but very welcoming. Beware of 8 dollar cover charge, at least on this Friday night.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sheilaj919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Cheap eats, quick and decent food, some of the worlds best music!
ALL kinds of music, folk, old timey, blues, ballads, zydeco, singer songwriter!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mermaid Inn also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing