We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly gayborhood atmosphere”

More Than Just Ice Cream
Reserve with OpenTable
More Than Just Ice Cream is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 87 Dessert in Philadelphia
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: City Center East
Description: More Than Just Ice Cream is Philadelphia's favorite spot for delicious dishes of your comfort! After our famous Ice Cream shop took off in the community, we expanded our menu to much more than just dessert! Today, we proudly serve everything from sandwiches and salads, to things on the sweeter side. Try something delectable like out Cowboy Burger smothered in BBQ sauce on a brioche bun, or our Chicken Quesadilla packed with flavor. You can't forget to save room for dessert at More Than Just Ice Cream- be sure to save room for our famous Mile High Apple pie, and of course, the ice cream! With our friendly service and even better food, come see why we're still one of the longest running restaurants in Philly at More Than Just Ice Cream!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly gayborhood atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This place is a favorite of a friend of mine in Philadelphia and it was a great place for a bite on a sunny afternoon. I had onion rings and they were very good indeed. The ice cream section is almost like a separate restaurant and is charmingly decorated. There are also tables and chairs outside, which are great for al fresco dining in warm weather. The thing I liked best was the neighborhood feel; MTJIC is in the heart of the 'gayborhood' and we had a very gay waiter. We were practically the only people in the restaurant section -- we were there around 4 p.m. on a weekday -- so it's not surprising that the service was attentive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank savvyworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    38
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“poor service, ok food”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Was in the city looking for a place to do brunch after picking up our wedding rings. Prices were reasonable for center city and the food was ok. A step up from diner food but generally unforgettable. It wasn't that crowded but I was not happy at all with the service. The waiter (very tall white skinny young guy)was cold the whole time, and aside from coming over to take our order and drop off our food we had to constantly ask him or another waitress for items -- silverware, for the check, condiments... My glass of water was empty right after ordering and it stayed that way throughout the meal never being filled. When at brunch I expect the coffee and water to be constantly refilled when you are paying $2-$3 for cheap drip coffee. Maybe lunch/dinner or another waiter would have had a better experience but with like 3 other diners/restaurants within 50 feet from here why settle or take the chance?

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edg126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phila PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best places to go in center city”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Went here couple times and every time the food was fabulous and servers were wonderful. Nice size portions, we ordered different items and they never disappointed. The best thing to me is their waffle with ice-cream. But I encourage you to pick what you like. Tthis place is extremely nice!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel-77-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
192 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Pies are hugh!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Had after dinner treat after dinner. Very good! The apple pie is very good. Be warned you can share with three people.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Reliably good food, and amazing ice cream sundaes”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We have been coming to them for years (even when they were on Pine Street), and have always enjoyed the ambiance, great burgers and chicken salad, and especially the ice cream!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Andy_from_Broomall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed More Than Just Ice Cream also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to More Than Just Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing