We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“¿american / mexican?”
Review of El Rey

El Rey
Ranked #550 of 5,171 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

I use to eat at this restaurant when it was a diner. Walking by I noticed the new sign. I decided to try. We had the Duck Burrito and Chicken
Quesadilla. Food was ok. Service was good.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank wddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Their margarita during happy hour is good. I only liked their steak tacos best. You’ll get charged to have a tiny plate of salsa verde, where you could buy a whole jar for the price they charge you.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank xopaninixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

My boyfriend and I came here for dinner and ordered a few simple dishes: chicken enchiladas, rice and refried beans. The chicken enchiladas were soggy and prepared in a green chili sauce which neither of us enjoyed. The rice arrived with peas and carrots in it, and tasted a lot like something that one would order in a Chinese restaurant. I didn't think it was possible to ruin refried beans, but the beans were pureed and mixed with anise, something I have never come across in any Mexican restaurant. If you are visiting Philadelphia and want to go out for Mexican food, I would not recommend this restaurant. However, they do serve decent alcoholic beverages.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank newyorknatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

food was good, with a different type of menu than the normal Mexican restaurant. I ordered the flank steak which was delicious. it came with spaghetti squash which was a nice accompaniment and fried avocado. I think I would have preferred raw avocado though, as it had sort of an old oil taste. flavor of the steak was good, but not the best I've had. Menu didn't have a lot of appealing options for my palate. Service was good, and restaurant was clean and bustling. May try again soon.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1spagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Ate here for lunch before Mutter visit. Very crowded at lunch. Service excellent and friendly. Not "authentic" Mexican but I don't think that's what they are aiming for. Everything is fresh. Good portion size - but if you are super hungry order appetizers. Chips and salsa cost$4.50. They charged me $2 for a thimble-full of salsa even when I asked to have it substituted for all the taco sides (cheaper for them). Beans and rice were extra ($4 each) Drinks were expensive. Total bill when we weren't really all was about $51 for 2 people. I would go again on rare occasions - knowing exactly what it is.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank santonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rey also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to El Rey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing