We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMBERJACK!!!!!!”
Review of Osaka

Osaka
Ranked #329 of 5,113 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: US$ 21 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Chestnut Hill
Cross street: Evergreen Ave
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Delicious options abound at this local gem. The amberjack with truffle oil is not to be missed. Well, pretty much anything is a win with truffle oil, oil you're like me. Parking is tough unless you park in the back and have single dollar bills at the ready. Parking after 7p is free, I believe. Good place for couples, families, groups with nice drink options and quick, pleasant service.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BoyXGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

It’s fairly charming inside with paid parking in the rear (though there are rarely meter police out at night it poor weather). They also do takeout but not delivery. The menu has a nice selection of items but the specials don’t change very often. I like the spicy king crab salad. My husband gets the firecracker roll followed by the chocolate lava cake. Our kids love the teriyaki dishes. There are a fair number of sushi restaurants in our local area and though we go to Osaka the most I can’t say it’s our favorite. Others that are on par are Hokka Hokka and The General in Lafayette Hill. Morimoto downtown is our favorite for sure when we’re willing to make the trip to center city.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Kim5164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We have yet to be disappointed after a number of wonderful visits to Osaka in Chestnut Hill. The environment is calm and quiet with a lovely decor. The drinks are very tasty. Everything we have ordered has been delicious and the service is excellent. We will return again and again.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QuakerTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I like this place, it is old fashioned, people working there are nice, the food is good.
I wish they'd have more roll options and specials, as it's a little pricey, but these rolls are very tasty so the price is not the point.
All in all, a great place to get sushi in Germantown area.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travel-77-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Four of us went to Osaka for dinner not expecting that some of the best sushi around. I asked for a Miso soup with mushroom and crab and our server, Rob, got the job done. He made a few recommendations and each one like their Kani Kamakazi was superb so much so we ordered another one. We wanted lots of ginger and now we hold the record at Osaka for consuming ginger by four people. the spicy edamame was a little too hot for several of us however not for our Mexican buddy. We were pleasantly surprised by the delicious sushi dishes and the great service by rob and a few others. We enjoyed sake, beer and more sake. Way to go!!!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osaka also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Osaka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing