We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average. Stay here for your business need and no other reason.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Ranked #45 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Average. Stay here for your business need and no other reason.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stay at this hotel nearly every week due to business needs. As usual the pros and the cons:
Pros:
>Very friendly staff.
>Located right on City Avenue in Bala Cynwyd
>The often throw in a free breakfast coupon for Honors guests and a discount on their restaurant for dinner.
>Gym - they have one
Cons:
>The carpet in the guest rooms is aging and needs to be replaced. (It feels sticky underfoot- blech).
>Do not even think about ordering room service! They have the slowest kitchen in creation. Similarly, dinner in the dining room is equally slow. EVERY TIME!
>Gym is also a con for a few reasons: (1) it is shared with the homewood suites next door and is often very crowded in the mornin: (2) not enough equipment for the volume of people; and (3) someone needs to explain to me why the attached TVs only get about 5 terrible channels.

In short, stay here if it is convenient for your business need and nothing else.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on Floor 3 - you can hear noise from the downstairs lobby and ball rooms echoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FinickyTiredTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will be certain to share your positive comments with our team, and we will work hard to improve upon the opportunities you have mentioned. As a frequent guest, I will be sending you a private message to see how we can further assist you. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    209
    159
    109
    92
See reviews for
252
103
35
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
398 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here for just one night. I would say it is a standard hotel of the quality expected from Hilton. The front desk was a bit slow. The room was nice, clean and fairly spacious with all the amenities including a room safe. Bathroom was clean and features antique fixtures. Room is expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent experience. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed there last night, arriving around 11pm after my best friends wedding. As I walk in I see our group, there were about 15 of us, eating OUTSIDE of the restaurant/bar where the lights were on, tables were clear, and people were drinking at the bar. I quickly asked what was going on as my date went to pay for a room. Found out that were not permitted to use their dining area to dine after hours if we didn't buy it from them. Oh ok- so let's just get some from here.... Oh the kitchen is closed. Hm. Ok. I need a drink then. Oh really? The bar is closed too? Are you kidding me?! After the managers only response of the robotic "it's our policy ma'am, it's our policy ma'am it's just our policy ma'am" you Hilton lost a lot of money that night. NOT worth it. Pretentious staff. You can get a comfy bed for much less.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chokemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience this challenge caused to you and the other guests that were involved. We sincerely hope to have the opportunityt o welcome you back to the Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I've stayed here two times over the past year. Service is excellent and the rooms are standard Hilton. The location is great if you have appointments outside the city. Valet parking, while not required, is probably what you'll need to use, so plan for that. The gym is standard, but in good working order and clean. Wifi worked great, and the restaurant and bar area is busy with good service. This Hilton works well for business travelers.
There are a few restaurants you can walk to, including a little shopping center with a Target, Starbucks, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCtraveler0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate the feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, PA, USA
Level Contributor
350 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel was fine in virtually all respects. The weekend pricing on the executive floor was more than reasonable, and the executive lounge was well staffed and furnished. Breadfast served there was excellent. Check-in and check-out were fast, friendly and accurate. A very welcoming experience. If there is a negative it's that a first time guest can find it confusing to enter by auto on the first visit. City Avenue is a very busy thoroughfare and if approaching from the city, there are multiple left turns available close to the hotel. You must pass the hotel and turn in to reach the front entrance.

Room Tip: Book executive floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWSPHILADELPHIA, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is sincerely appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#64 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#25 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Property: Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131-1611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,891 - ₹ 22,883
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing