We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“demonstrates poor funding for the Park Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Independence National Historical Park

Independence National Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 33.00*
and up
Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #6 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most famous square miles in the United States, the park is home to the Liberty Bell, the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and Independence Hall.
Owl's Head, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“demonstrates poor funding for the Park Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

The park is imaginative and nicely arranged and the rangers delightful. We had a superb guide at the Hall who made things come alive. It was moving to be in the hall where our country was truly born. However, we were sad to see that the poor funding for the Park Service hs led to poor maintenance of the hall itself on the outside(a cupola peeling badly and needing paint) and less so in the hall (but things did need dusting). This building deserves premiere care and love.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank efghij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,267
    521
    127
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wholesome Cheap Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

For very little money, you can have a great day learning about our country.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noah_Webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Short line, well organized. We could stand pretty close to the bell.

Helpful?
Thank plinababez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruceton Mills, West Virginia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Cradle of American Independence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The buildings are spread out on a large well designed green area which is reminiscent of the mall in Washington DC. Even with the huge number of visitors during the Easter break we did not feel immersed in a crowd. Independence Hall is on one end and dominates the view. The Liberty Bell is housed in a separate pavilion from the visitor center and is well worth a look.

We visited the Liberty Bell pavilion and waited for about 5 minutes to pass through security. Our nine year old niece was overheard talking to our nine year old daughter. "Can you believe all this boring stuff was built for a bell that's BROKEN?" For adults and teens however, the displays in the pavilion were thoughtful and enhanced the experience.

I wrote a separate review on Independence Hall. We enjoyed the visit, but there are just too many people in each tour and we felt rushed. We had trouble hearing the ranger and the small ones in our group were bored. If you go, try to keep near the front of your tour group so you can hear the ranger and actually see the rooms instead of the backs of the heads of the persons in front of you.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank copperdragon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Need to Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Very Patriotic and worth the stop with the family. Very Patriotic and worth the stop with the family

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Independence National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Independence National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing