We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff makes this special, otherwise a very ordinary place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I was looking for the least expensive big-brand hotel (Marriott, Hilton, etc) to stay in for a night in Philly. This fit the bill. The staff is INCREDIBLE...so polite, helpful, ...really stand-outs.

But the facility is a bit lacking:
- pressure in jacuzzi is non-existent;
- our coffee maker didn't work;
- very tiny towels at the pool and jazuzzi;
- no in-room safes;
- poor soundproofing in rooms.

The soundproofing was a problem because there were a lot of partiers returning home when the bars closed, which woke us up...we were still trying to sleep off jet lag from our incredible trip to Sardenia and Rome! (See my hotel reviews!) Because I had just stayed in two hotels in multiple rooms, I was especially sensitive to the noise...this was really bad. Our rooms in noisy Rome were much quieter!

Other than that, if you're looking for a reasonably priced accommodation in Center City, this place will do the trick. Although beware there is no free breakfast.. try the Reading Terminal Market, a short walk away.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for something far away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnParris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,987)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,527 of 1,987 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. Staff and service was impeccable. We didn't use the pool, but we did take advantage of the location of this hotel. The Wawa across the street and the Chinese restaurant was so convenient, and priced low. Right around the corner was the farmer/goods market, lots of good stuff in there. I would highly recommend checking it out. The views from our room weren't the greatest but we didn't mind that. The only complaint about this hotel was the parking price($33/day), I think hotel guests should get a discount. The food from the the restaurant on the 10th floor was okay and priced well but I'd recommend going out. I hear the breakfast buffet was great at $15 per person, but we aren't breakfast people. If we ever visit Philly again, we are definitely staying at the Hilton Garden Inn again! I just can't praise the hotel staff enough, so friendly and eager to help! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Head out early & enjoy the sights and great food!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

It is so hard to review this hotel. There were so many positive things, the first being the staff, which is terrific. Hats off especially to Jacqueline at the front desk and Charlie B in the restaurant.

There is a pool, a fitness center, and a complimentary breakfast. Those were all pretty good. The pool is a bit dated, but it was heated and refreshing after a long day in hot hot hot Philly. The wifi was pretty good, too.

But the bed... oh man, the bed was horrible. Perhaps we had a broken mattress. HGI has those mattresses that you dial to firm or soft. It was all horrible. The first night, we were sunk down in the middle. The second night we "firmed" it up, but the bed was still uncomfortable. The sofa bed that my son was on was also really bad--it was somehow higher at the head than the foot.

The location was pretty good. We were able to walk to the Independence Hall area pretty easily. We also took the SEPTA to the Mutter museum and Franklin Institute. There's a Wawa across the street and a CVS down the block. And Reading Terminal Market was right next door.

Parking is not free; we paid $99 for 3 nights.

One of the televisions in the room got all cable channels, but the other didn't. This caused some conflict between my kids. :(

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ww1614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

It was so nice to see that Jacqueline from our Front Desk and Charlie from our Restaurant had a positive impact on your visit to the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City. If you have the opportunity to let me know which room you stayed in I will certainly have our maintenance team take a look and make any repairs necessary to the bed and the television. Thank you for sharing those concerns as they are important to address. We were also glad that you enjoyed our location and do look forward to you and your family returning to the area soon. Please let me know when your plans bring you back so that I can personally make sure the television and beds and are working properly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The location in Philly is very good - right next to the Reading Market. The service is really incredible - everyone at the hotel has a phenomenal attitude. Hat's off to them! The room is just OK. They could update the decor and furnishings. But I like that their windows open - got some fresh air. I'd come back.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the main street.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

We were very glad to hear that our staff was incredible and had a phenomenal attitude. We really try hard to have such a positive experience with every guest we encounter. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We hope you return soon as we are planning on refurbishing our lobby and restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

What is the difference between al those nearly similar looking hotels? The staff and their service. I got a friendly and personal welcome, my room was somewhat clean (which improved after the first night, so that I left a tip for the housekeeping at the end). The bathroom was also clean, you really missed nothing, and everything was working perfect (dryer, fridge, microwave etc.). You may have a breakfast on 10th floor with an average buffet but a good cooking station with fresh made omelettes. One of the servers was very friendly, the other ones average, but really better than in other hotels. At checkout it was quick and woithout any complaints. The hotel itself is situated central to a SEPTA station, the convention center, and you may reach Chestnut and Walnut Streets as well as the historic ares within 15-20 minutes by footwalk, the must-see foodmarket is in the same block. The only complaint I had to the location was that the entrance area is dark, dirty and not inviting

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mchenchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent trip to the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City. We were very glad to hear that our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our omelette station. We also appreciate your concerns and thank you for sharing them. We hope to see you again soon and were happy our location was convenient for your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 87 in Philadelphia
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Address: 1100 Arch Street, On the corner of 11th Street and Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: ₹ 9,995 - ₹ 27,909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing