We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not Up to Par in an Increasingly Competitive Market” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not Up to Par in an Increasingly Competitive Market”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

After staying here about five years ago I returned to the Omni Independence Park for a two night stay with my wife. Compared to the many 4-5 star options in Center City Philadelphia the Omni just doesn't compete. Even compared to the chains other properties this hotel is a disappointment. More below:

Location: The Omni Independence Park is aptly named as it is just one block from Independence Hall and the related sites. That's the good news; especially for tourists. The bad news is that the hotel is a solid 10 blocks from the heart of Center City and nearly a half hour walk to Rittenhouse Square. One of the charms of being downtown is walkability; in this case be prepared to take cabs. Not a great choice for most business travelers. We paid about $10-12 to get to 30th Street Station.

Dining and Amenities: About what you would expect for a city hotel. There is a serviceable restaurant and a spa. The lobby is nice and welcoming. We ordered from room service one evening and found the menu limited. Service was polite and fairly efficient.

Rooms: Our room on the top floor facing the Independence Hall looked great upon entering. But recent renovations seem to have focused on the soft materials and neglected the hardware. Especially in an otherwise average four star bathroom we found a faucet that sprayed water errantly and had to stare at a dirty air vent while showering. The bed was OK but the pillows were not appropriate for this price point.

Other: Ask for a room facing southwest for a nice view at Independence Hall... Included wi-fi was serviceable throughout the property... Parking is available but look for nearby self-park garages... If you like this location but not this hotel a new Kimpton is set to open next door... For a more central location try Sofitel or the Hyatt at the Bellevue.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstClassFedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    471
    153
    73
    35
See reviews for
544
446
68
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Absolutley wonderful and nothing at all to complain about, from the moment arriving by Taxi and the Doorman collecting the luggage, to the moment of leaving. We stayed 5 nights over the 4th July celebrations. Breakfast was fantastic and despite a very busy full restaurant, the staff were excellent and attentive.
The bed turn down service happened every night without request, with lots of fresh towels; every member of staff showed a smile and a happy nature. (The management have it just right!) Lovely room overlooking the park, very good pool which our daughter headed for each evening.
Excellent hotel to stay and explore the surrounding history / shops / restaurants.
We only had the special breakfasts over the independence day period, as the restaurant did not open for dinner. Bar area and service very good.
Overall a lovely place to say, we will return.

Room Tip: Choose one on the higher floors to gain a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosworth87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We were blown away at the level of service given by the staff - they turned a potential weekend wrecker (the Spa at the hotel, which is run independently, is a COMPLETELY different story=BAD) into a positive, and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet, and we had a beautiful view of Independence Hall. This is a great hotel for a local staycation or for business.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sleepyplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The location was outstanding, the service was excellent, and the value was exceptional. The hotel is walking distance to all of the downtown Philadelphia sites...we could see Independence Hall outside our window. Mandatory valet parking was expensive but the value price of the room more than made up for that in terms of total cost to stay. Don't forget to have the kids call and ask for cookies and mild before bedtime!

Room Tip: Our corner room on the 12th floor had amazing views...were able to watch the fireworks at Penn's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcv1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here for one night during the heat wave in July. It was so comfortable we stayed in and had room service. Great location for the sights and the doorman quickly got us a taxi to the airport. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phtravellerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,162 - ₹ 24,001
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing