We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So many choices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reading Terminal Market

Reading Terminal Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #5 of 434 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Featuring over 80 concessions, this historic market has something for even the most eclectic of tastebuds.
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“So many choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Reading Terminal Market is one of my favorite places in Philadelphia. If you are near the location or at the Convention Center, you must stop by. Besides different counters and places to eat, there are many vendors selling baked goods, honey, spices, candy and fruit. I love to eat lunch there and get produce from Iovine Bros, a fresh fruit or veggie smoothie, Baked goods or fresh-squeezed juices from the Amish stand, or ice cream from Basset's. Parking is difficult if you are driving. There are limited street parking, but the garage across from the market does offer discounted parking for people who spend enough and get their ticket validated. You don't want to miss the Market while you are in town.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sc120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,971
    711
    109
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Neat place....come to snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Lots of goodies there. Had fun touring the place. Come ready to eat. Place has a convention center above it...The convention center seemed out of place. A food tour must!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYCerinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

It's work a visit. Just browse, get a small snack or full meal. There's probably a hundred vendors in there. Something for everyone. Try Miller's Pretzels and Bassett's Ice Cream!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rupen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

we went to the 2 Philly cheez joints (Pat's / Gino's)

" by George " in Reading Terminal is a Good as anybodys w/ out going on a taxi ride... althought the walk back from Pat's was interesting...

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank celticspike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, Ohio
Level Contributor
183 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Better than Pike's Place? Can I say that?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I thought it was better than Pike's Place Market (Seattle, WA). The reason I say this is probably because when I went to Seattle I expected to see what I saw here in Philly, but didn't. The Reading Market is enclosed. All the stands are in a huge building (ready to eat food, food to order, raw meats and fish and veggies, desserts, etc...) The places was packed and smelled great. The other thing to point out is that it is a peaceful shopping place. It is crowded, but what I mean is that the shop owners are not pestering you to buy things or taste things like is the experience in some places (Camden, London, UK). I was really pleased with this place and wish I had a few more meals to eat so I could go and try more foods. If I lived here I would make it a weekend stopping place. SOME STANDS ARE CASH ONLY!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bszweda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing