We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice smaller hotel in great area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice smaller hotel in great area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed for a night at the Chestnut Hill Hotel while we were in town for a wedding. We prefer smaller hotel properties like this so it was right up our alley. It was a nice hotel, we were on the top floor and had a huge room - which was nice since we had our 8 month old in tow. The bathroom was nice, but by far the BEST - was the bed. So comfortable! We have traveled a fair amount and I think this was easily top 5 most comfortable beds. Maybe because we are sleep deprived new parents, but we even asked for the brand/type of bed so that we might be able to purchase the same bed for our home. We tried the pub downstairs for a quick bite before getting ready to go to the wedding and was good. Not 5 star or anything, but decent pub type food. The staff was really nice. We also had grandparents with us and their room was a bit smaller, but they also loved the hotel. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: I think higher floors are probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bps75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    89
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
111
126
37
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I spent 3 nights at this hotel and LOVED every second. The staff are extremely nice, helpful, and genuine; the decor and rooms are very comfortable and refreshing; and the location is perfect. I will definitely stay here every time I visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

The Chestnut Hill Hotel is located in the city of Philadelphia about 20 minutes from Central City in a small area called Chestnut Hills. The area itself is very nice with cobbled streets lines with small shops, restaurants and bakeries. The hotel is very clean and appears to have been just remodeled. The staff is nice, attentive and helpful and the restaurant has great food and beverage options. If you are looking for a quiet location close to beautiful stone homes and shops, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SomersetWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

My wife, mother in law and I stayed here over Christmas and would like to add to all the positive comments about the hotel. It is clear that there has been significant investment in updating and refurbishment recently. Our room was excellent with great beds and top quality finishes. The hotel is situated in the heart of the beautiful Chestnut Hill with good links via commuter train into downtown Philadelphia. The staff, led by Troy and Pa were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phihladelphia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I recently rented the Bombay Room for a year-end managers' meeting. There were 9 of us and the space was perfect. The tables were arranged for us in a rectangular block which was conducive to the discussions I was hoping to have. We wanted to have a quick lunch next door at the Chestnut Hill Grill, so the hotel manager, Troy, brought us menus and arranged for a server to come over to take our order ahead of time. Fresh fruit, coffee, tea and hot chocolate were also set up for us. We used the overhead projector, which is revealed by a decorative light fixture that drops down from the ceiling (very cool!), and had a great meeting. My team loved the room, the charming area, and the food at both the Chestnut Hill Grill and at Cin-Cin, where we had a celebratory dinner just a few blocks' walk away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyJamieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Hotel

Property: Chestnut Hill Hotel
Address: 8229 Germantown Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19118
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chestnut Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,298 - ₹ 19,124
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale boutique hotel located in the Northwestern section of Philadelphia featuring 36 deluxe accommodations and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Chestnut Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Hill Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Chestnut Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing