We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful little getaway!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoys sweeping views out every window. Snuggle up to the cozy fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Enjoys sweeping views out every window.
Snuggle up to the cozy fire.
Open floor plan.
Fully equipped kitched to test your inner chef.
Relax in the Jacuzzi tub and rainfall shower.
Enjoy our locally handcrafted soap.
Rest on the plush queen pillow top bed.
Wake up to views of the sun kissed Olympic Mountains and fresh coastal air.
Historic Waterfront Coupeville
Admiralty Head Lighthouse
Deception Pass
Stroll along driftwood lined beaches.
Explore local historic attractions.
The cottage is on the top floor of the detached garage to maximize the surrounding views.
Close to most Whidbey Island attractions
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Coupeville, Whidbey Island, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leslie P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful little getaway!!”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time, plenty of space, beautiful location. The local amenities were a wonderful touch as well as the personal recommendations from Dave about where to go on the island.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melange81
Ferndale, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful upstairs (garage only below) apartment. Very light-filled and clean. Wonderful owners. ***

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the windows! The comfort of the furniture (including the bed).
Liked least: Wi-fi signal was very poor, not worth connecting to.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2015
Thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vn1247
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average stay.”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Decorated in a cottage style, this vacation rental still has a few tweaks to work out. The bedroom is tastefully accessorized, but between the thin pillow and the mattress that sinks in the middle, I woke up with such a sore back, that by the third morning my muscles hurt whenever I took a breath. Which means I also didn't sleep well. If I could've kept my body to the side of the bed, I would have been okay. Also, we found it best to keep the windows closed, as the noise from the road is incredible at night - more and louder, traffic than one would expect. That's not a knock on the inn, just a good to know. The bathroom was adorable, but the door stayed neither open nor closed. We did find something to use as a doorstopper. The kitchen was fine - only wish they would have provided one more frying pan, and a lid. They have many pots with lids, but only one frying pan. We made it work - had to. We tried to use the internet when we arrived. We ended up calling the owners because we couldn't get it to work. When we finally got it going, we decided to use Netflix. Not worth it. The bandwidth isn't strong enough for either the internet or Netflix. Also, not really a knock on the inn, though kind of - I don't think they should advertise something they have, but doesn't work right. They do have Directv, however, so that's good. Also, the DVD library isn't readily available. It's located in the owner's house and we needed to call to get a movie. That's not convenient, especially if it's later at night. I think what bothered us the most is that the night before we were to arrive, the owner called (the male, who seemed friendly), and said he and his wife would be on vacation. We found that frustrating. We tried to call them a few times when we were there, but initially couldn't get a hold of them. They must've been out-of-range. They left a number of a local person, but that person didn't answer - in their defense, we never left a message. We just found it odd that when renting out an apartment, the owners would leave at the exact same time someone was arriving, and then get back home the same day the people left. Doesn't seem very business-like. There is one other matter, and that was the water. We were told by the owner the water was a little brown and there was a filtered water system in the apartment. Yes, it had a brownish appearance, but it also smelled, a bit like a sewer. We didn't use the Jacuzzi because of the aroma. It was horrible just taking a shower or washing your face. Again, not sure if this is an owner issue, or the way the island is. Though I have to say we used water in other areas and didn't smell anything. So I'm not sure what to say about this. One other thing about the bathroom, it has a bit of functional obsolescence, in the way that the mirror is to the side of the sink, not in front of it. Apparently that doesn't work well when trying to shave, which means my husband shaved only one day, then quit - it was too hard on his neck. The last evening we were there the water filter light popped on, indicating the bottle needed to be replaced, but it was quite late, and we didn't feel we should call. Apparently there isn't much of a warning system on the filter, for in the morning when I went to get water, it was out (it was early, so, again, we didn't call, and we were trying to get ready to leave). Thankfully, we had a small bottle of water in our car. All in all, the place was cute, but we wouldn't stay here again. We felt the amenities were a tad embellished, and felt a bit inconvenienced by things like gross water, running out of water, having the owners gone, and buying DVDs so we could sit and relax when we got back. Maybe we are picky, but we're really not that picky. We just want nice accommodations for our money, someone who is available when we need them, and water that we can drink and shower in without smelling it in our hair all day. I guess this just solidifies why we should stay in a hotel versus a b-and-b type of place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the decorating
Liked least: the smell of the water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2015
It is unfortunate that the guests felt that they were not supported during their stay with us. Although we were off the property, we made ourselves available 24/7 with several ways to contact us. We had hired onsite support to take care of any day to day needs as directed by us, and a local innkeeper to take care of emergencies beyond our control. We were contacted only once to help the guests choose the proper Wi-Fi network and we got them up and running in less than a minute. As needs came up they attempted to call us a couple times, but left no messages. They indicated that they didn?t want to bother us as the requests were ?small?. We wish we had been given the opportunity to serve them even with the small things. Had we received a message we are confident that we could have met every one of their needs and their experience would have been much different.

This was the guest?s first vacation rental experience and we hope that they will try a B&B or vacation rental again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleta S
Poulsbo, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I was taking a class at the Pacific Northwest Art School and stayed at Cozy Harbor Cottage. My mother joined me for a few nights. The unit was very clean and comfortable, with everything we needed. My mother slept on the pull-out couch, which she said was "surprisingly comfortable!" Dave and Kathy live in the house on the property, and they are lovely people. I had trouble with the internet one night, and Dave helped me solve that issue promptly and cheerfully. I would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Thank you for the review! We are glad to know that you were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us. We are also pleased to know that the provided memory foam topper makes the sofa bed a comfortable choice for extra guests. We'd love to host you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chebot
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Perfect base for exploring the Island”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage was clean, comfortable and perfectly situated with easy access to several beaches, State parks, and the main town. Kathy & Dave were great hosts and had great tips for where to go and what o do around the Island. Overall, a wonderful place to call home away from home.

One tip- dinning options in Coupeville is pretty limited so next time I would pack more groceries and eat in. The kitchen is fully stocked (but you'll want to bring your own cooking oil, spices & condiments.)

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for the great review! We were glad to know that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the cottage's central location to many attractions. We enjoyed hosting you and your wonderful family. We apologize if we didn't point out where the and spices were located in the kitchen. For sanitary reasons we do not provide condiments and cooking oil. We do provide these items on request for guests who would like to cook in the fully equipped kitchen. Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing