We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Included Breakfast is not Full Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Included Breakfast is not Full Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Misled through Expedia website that this hotel has free breakfast which in fact only turns out to be continental which by international standards is not acceptable. I was disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkiewiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    293
    85
    44
    25
See reviews for
446
384
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We took advantage of our Starwood points to spend 5 nights at the hotel during the first week of April. The hotel is lovely and modern with its western ski resort facade and "hotel contemporary" rooms.

Room: As I am very allergic to cats and dogs, I asked for a non-pet room and was given one that had no trace of allergens at all. We saw quite a few dogs in and around the hotel, but I never once had to use allergy medication. The view from our room was of the front of the hotel, which wasn't bad at all even if I couldn't see the mountains as I had hoped. At times, I felt like a cat mesmerized by the gondolas going back and forth directly in front of us (although not so close they could see into our room).

Our room had full-sized kitchen, a gas fireplace, and a king-sized bed along with a queen-sized pull-out couch, which worked very well for us as we had our 14-year-old son with us. The kitchen was nice to have. We mostly used it to store our breakfast pastries, fruit, and yogurt. It would be very easy to save a ton of money on restaurants by preparing meals in the room (if you wanted to spend your vacation cooking). One funny quirk about our room - the bathroom mirror had a slight concave curve to it that made our reflections look fat. Not exactly what I wanted to see ;)

Staff: Everyone we encountered was pleasant and efficient. No complaints at all. What more can you ask?

Food: We only ate one meal at the hotel which was breakfast in the Whitebark restaurant. It was a fairly typical hotel buffet - decent food, pricey. I didn't see any other places to eat in the hotel.

Transportation: We had a car that we only used twice - once to take an afternoon trip to Mono Lake and once to the Tamarack ski center. Other than that we used Mammoth Lakes' excellent (and free) bus/trolley/gondola system to get everywhere. It has to be the easiest town to get around in that I have ever visited. The Westin also provides free shuttle service but we never needed to use it. Note: The gondola located behind the hotel goes directly to the Canyon Lodge.

Ski Rentals: It would have been very convenient to rent our ski and snowboard equipment at the hotel. In the end though, we decided to rent at the Canyon Lodge so we could leave the equipment there and not have to lug it back to the hotel every day.

Overall, the Westin is a very nice hotel in a great location. The only thing I think would improve it would be a comfortable lobby with a fireplace where guests could lounge, have a drink, and meet others. It is a ski town after all and an apres-ski lodge feeling would be appealing. They did offer free hot chocolate in the afternoon which we appreciated. We would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hercules, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We came here for the weekend and right from the beginning the service was impeccable and attentive. I noticed the clientele was a bit upscale for my taste (being a down home, fairly casual gal) but they treated everyone nicely and I didn't feel the pretentiousness I usually feel
at other upscale hotels. I LOVED our room which had a view of the snow capped mountains and only wished we could've stayed longer. First rate and classy. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is my third stay at the Westin Monache Resort in Mammoth. Just thinking about this hotel puts me at ease. Everything about the property makes me happy. The location is perfect. The decor is warm, welcoming and gives the feeling of being in a log home. The service is excellent. Staff is warm, friendly and goes out of their way to help. The property is super clean. The walk to the gondola at the village is a short walk away (the stairs to the villatge are daunting at first, but it's part of the apeal for me now -- a sign of coming home). I don't need to say much about Westin's Heavenly Bed as it sells itself. Food at the hotel is average, but hits the spot if you want to relax and just order room service. I look forward to my next trip to Mammoth and my stay at the Westin. Really. An awesome hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JavC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithaca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We moved here from the Mammoth Mountain Inn. What a wonderful change. I would give up the convenience of being on the mountain for the comfort and cleanliness of the Westin. The staff was extremely attentive. The rooms are spacious, clean, well appointed and equipped. The small kitchenette is great. The restaurant is also quite good. The hotel also makes a great effort to provide transportation, especially up to the mountain. We have a car so we did not avail ourselves of the service, but the parking attendants always had our car waiting with 5 minutes warning. The hotel is expensive, but a reasonable value. If I was to return to Mammoth, I look forward to visiting the Westin again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank des16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.3 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.8 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
4.6 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
2.2 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 km away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,217 - ₹ 66,694
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing