We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
133
38
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
38
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome basket fully equipped with kitchen dog friendly place camping trip pet fee bed room last minute trip three nights would definitely stay here again fireplace mammoth accommodations lakes heating stove pans firewood
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here, loved that it was fully equipped with kitchen and utensils. The fireplace was a bonus. Ann, who checked us in, was really lovely and helpful. Bed was comfortable and good location to visit the nearby lakes.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Estokoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

We just stayed 1 night at Edelweiss. It’s quaint and comfortable accommodation and they have equipped the cabins with almost everything you might need. The bed linens were a little dirty though but we were too tired to care.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank rashijain12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

This is a 2 bedroom lodge with an equipped kitchen. The rooms are small but it is a quaint lodge.

The kitchen is clean. The bathroom could do with some updating and the carpet in the downstairs bedroom needs replacing.

Good for a night.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 442bijals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Edelweiss Lodge is still convenient, dog friendly, and reasonably comfortable, but it is NOT what it used to be. The major difference is no on-site resident manager or owner, which was always what "set the tone". The "little things" don't get done. No one greets you even if you arrive at "prime time". Not a big deal for us, we know which cabin is which, but we had several instances of people arriving and being quite lost. The main thing is that there is only staff there a few hours a day. Ann, who we talked to on the phone several times, was very nice, but "couldn't do anything", when we called her as we arrived early Saturday afternoon, and "there was no one on site until Sunday about noon". We were missing the dog basket and the cookies (and we were paying extra for having the dog there). No big deal. Several days later, we tried to use the spa. There were NO towels, no soap in the shower, and the shower was muddy. The instructions left in each cabin still say "towels are available in spa room". Called Ann, again she is very nice, but said "with only 3 hours a day paid staff, there just isn't time to do spa towels, I'll try to do 6 tomorrow". Given that about 16 people were signed up for the spa that night, 6 wouldn't do. The other big difference is that we always go for a week, there used to be many people there for 4-10 days, now it is mostly one-nighters, most just passing through, rather than hiker/biker/fishing crowd. Different vibe.
A number of basics just weren't there. In the past kitchen basics were available such as salt, pepper, plastic wrap and foil. Also, the gas barbecues were filthy, the barbecue area covered with pine needles and spider webs on the grills, and only one of the grills actually had gas. Fairly clearly, no one checks on this stuff regularly. Lastly, there used to be a price cut for full week stays. After all, they don't clean the cabins daily, so a one-nighter should pay more than a full week guest.
This is not to say we wouldn't go back, but it really is NOT the same 5 star place as it used to be.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Wendy-and-Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Full kitchen, stove for heating, clean, well kept, very friendly staff. We were passing through and this place was perfect for us - off the main drag, very nice, friendly staff. Adequate parking. While the physical facilities are dated, they are very well kept and clean. We had a cross draft at night which was great. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank FoodCritic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews