We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Star Accommodations at a 2-Star Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Juniper Springs Resort
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We chose Mammoth for our summer vacation on a wing and a prayer, based on a commercial that my son saw on TV (go figure). After some research Juniper Springs jumped out at us and we could not have been happier...read on for in-depth analysis!

1. Getting there...you can fly-Mammoth Airport is served by several major airlines that all seem to want to take you to LA first and then to Mammoth Lakes...what a pain! And it is expensive. Remember this is a summer review so...

Try driving! From North or South you have to approach on US 395 through the beautiful Owens Valley. If you have never been on the Eastern side of the Sierra Nevada Mountains then you are in for a treat. It is a side of California that most will never see. Though there are multiple routes to cross the mountains from the West, we chose to cross through Yosemite via the Tioga Pass Rd. We spent a nite in Yosemite Valley (see my review of the Lodge at Yosemite Falls), then took a spectacular drive through the high country as we crossed the mountains. Even if you don't stop in Yosemite Valley, treat yourself to this gem of a scenic drive. Once down the Tioga Rd, it was a 30 minute drive to Mammoth Lakes.

2. The town...Mammoth Lakes is small and very easy to navigate. You can drive anywhere in about 5 minutes and if you don't want to drive, there is a fantastic FREE (yes FREE) shuttle system that will take you just about anyplace you want to go in and around town. Getting to Juniper Springs was a snap as it is at the end of one of the 4 main streets in town...Meridian Blvd.

3. The property...Juniper Springs Lodge is what the sign says on the front and it is located in a quiet neighborhood adjacent to one of the peripheral ski lifts. Since it was summer, obviously the lift was NOT in operation , making this area of town even more quiet! It is made up of 2 main buildings...the main lodge is where you will do your checking in and communicating with the staff. The secondary building is about 50 yards away up a path. Both are condo properties with a variety of condo options from studio to 3-bedroom. Both buildings have splash (not lap) pools, though the main building pool is larger and both have 3 (yes-count 'me 3) hot tubs. Pool hours are 10a-10p.

There is also a gas grill in the pool patio area for all of your summer grilling needs. There were a couple of families sharing it on the 4th of July when we were there. My son was beside himself when he discovered the game room. Kids seem to congregate here like moths to the flame. There is 1 Xbox, 1 Wii and 1 Playstation, each with games that can be checked out from the front desk and each with its own dedicated big screen HDTV. There is also a ping pong table, but most kids were on the video game systems.

The workout facility...always a pet peeve of mine, was sub-standard for what I would consider a 4 star resort. 1 stationary bike, a couple of treadmills and an elliptical. Also some free weights and a Nautilus-style machine, but really nothing to get excited about. Disappointing!

4. The room...we had a 1 bedroom condo. The kitchen was clean and well-stocked, full fridge and cooktop and dishwasher. If you leave the dirty dishes in the sink, housekeeping will come in and do them for you. Nice, especially if you are the designated dish-doer at your house. The furniture did seem a bit dated, but it was clean and comfortable. The huge sectional couch pulled out to a full size bed for the kids, but once pulled out, it was a bit cramped in the living space. Even with the coffee table pushed aside, it was a tight fit to get to the deck.

Did I mention the deck...it was HUGE!!! Though all units have decks, ours was particularly roomy with a spectacular view of the mountains. Get a south facing room (one that faces the pool) and you will never be disappointed with the view!

The Master bedroom had a King bed which was a bit of a tight squeeze when walking between it and the dresser, but we survived. Both the Master and the living room had HDTV's with Directv service. >Slight pet peeve was that the rooms do not get the same channels as the TV's in the common areas. To watch the Tour de France I had to go to the conference room (usually empty) or the workout room(almost equally as empty)< Plenty of closet space in the Master, but did not have a separate bathroom. Just one bathroom for the condo, but plenty of space for a family of 4.

One thing you will notice is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. This is not an issue in winter, but what about in summer? At 7800 ft, it does not get that hot and even if it does warm up, the mountain breeze offers relief. Evenings cool off very quickly as the evening winds kick up and with the rooms not having a ton of direct sun exposure, it is never really an issue.

5. Parking is underground and accessible only with your room card key. I liked this security feature, but the resort does hit you with the ever sneaky "daily resort fee". Whose idea was this? Just another way to jack up the fees...the resort fee was $20/day.

However...for the price we were paying (about $125/nt) I was not crying too much over the resort fee. Based on my son's video game playing alone, we got that moneys worth.

Special note: Mammoth Lakes is at about 7800 ft above sea level. That is no joke for those not raised in the mountains. Be sure to take it easy for a few days as you acclimatize and drink lots of water. The air is also very dry and the sun can be very intense even on cool afternoons. Sunscreen and a hat are key to enjoying your stay. Be on the lookout for signs that the altitude is bothering you, like light-headedness, nausea and feeling overly fatigued.

Overall, Mammoth Lakes in the summer (low season) is a bargain compared to their ski season prices. Juniper Springs was a very good resort and home base for all of our activities over the course of the week. If you like 4-star comfort and a 2-star price, choose Juniper Springs Lodge for your summer mountain getaway.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms that faces the pool (south). The view is unparalleled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingFam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write such a detailed and glowing response. I know that future readers will appreciate the information that you shared here. Have a great summer and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 613 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

The good: Comfy bed, fully equipped kitchen in a spacious room. Friendly and helpful staff. Romantic venue.

The bad: well, the only thing we could think of would be the outdated TV...

The ugly: Nothing, well, no mammoths to hunt ;-)

Summary: Will happily recommend.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank moritzchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. Concise and to the point. We are pleased to hear that you will recommend our resort in the future. We will continue to be working on all upgrades throughout the summer, including televisions. Thank you again and we hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Agreed with the other reviewers about the $20 resort fee (they were upfront about it at check-in but did not know about it when I reserved it online). Rooms were very spacious and clean - we stayed in a 1 bedroom studio with 3 people. 2 of us stayed in the bedroom and 1 person on the sofa bed. Full kitchen with full size refrigerator and stove was a nice addition for us. Front staff were very friendly and the place was quiet even though there were lots of people (including families) around. We had our own car but they also had a shuttle service available for going into town if needed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djohnson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities our resort has to offer. Please come and see us again. Have a wonderful summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a recent Summertime trip up to Mammoth Lakes. Staying at this resort we found the staff very accommodating. The location to town and the Summer activities was perfect. Are only two complaints were that the mattress in our condo was hard as concrete and the rooms didn't offer A/C. Without direct access to prevailing cool breezes our room was too warm even at midnight.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review I am pleased that you enjoyed Juniper Springs ideal location. I apologize for any discomforts you may have experienced during you trip. Please feel free to contact us directly and we will do our best to prepare your room to your specific requests. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had a great stay at the Juniper Springs, although it could have used air conditioning. The $25 resort fee was also a little bit much. You can rent movies at the front desk, which was very convenient, since the restaurants in town weren't that great. Overall I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. Unfortunately this summer has been very warm and I do regret to hear about this disrupting your stay. We greatly appreciate future recommendations and we hope to see you again soon. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.8 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
879 reviews
4.6 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,546 reviews
1.6 km away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
881 reviews
2.4 km away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
2.1 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: ₹ 10,574 - ₹ 41,844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing